We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Port Charlotte hotels

Port Charlotte Hotel

Main St, Port Charlotte PA48 7TU, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special winter offer
Save Saved
You added Port Charlotte Hotel to your Saves list
Port Charlotte Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
79%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Marcus E
  • Overview
  • Reviews (149)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    31
    12
    14
    5
See reviews for
30
60
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The most important thing at first: all of us felt really sorry when we had to leave Islay and everybody from the Port Charlotte Hotel who helped and made our visit such a wonderful experience! We travelled with quite a large group of 8 and once we arrived on Islay absolutely everything was taken care of by our wonderful guide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here recently after hearing a lot about how good the hotel was and was not disappointed. The room, a single was large enough for two people and very comfortable with delightful decor. The atmosphere in the bar was terrific and very friendly. There were local musicians playing at night and the place was absolutely "buzzing". Food in the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watchfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for dinner and had fantastic local food. Tasty lamb, excellent scallops, melting beef and yummy puddings. The wine list and malt menu are both extensive and offer lots of choice. We were well looked after and I cannot fault their hospitality. The music on a Wednesday night is great beside the fire and I wish we had more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel, we were greeted by a very nice lady and shown to our room, as we were paying top dollar for this room we really expected something wonderful. The room was small and to our mind not nicely furnished, some folks may think it was cute but in fact it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review

We are disappointed by your comments and would like to respond as follows. The room is furnished with antiques and soft furnishings in quality Laura Ashley fabrics. The chairs are antique and not dining but casual Edwardian chairs. The television is on a swivel and can be arranged to suit by guests. Our pricing is comparable to all island four... More

Dallington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying here with friends for a long weekend. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere with super friendly staff. Gorgous food with a huge Scottish breakfast to kick the day off. Room 1 is the best. We had 10 which had great view and quiet and good size for a twin room. Room lacks glasses for water and no half. blind on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The usual warm Scottish welcome has not rubbed off on the surly Yorkshire/Lancastrian barman. I was given a large wine automatically and a black tea total £8 take it or leave it with no explanation. The staff do their best despite this man's arrogant attitude.

Was this review helpful? Yes
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review

All prices and measures are displayed in the bar. Our standard measure for wine is 175ml, we do not have any other measure. We believe that 250ml is too large with the same respect 125ml too small and only encourages another glass which in turn leads to 250mls. We have never had a complaint on pricing regarding tea and wine... More

Solihull
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is great. It is furnished beautifully throughout with charming paintings and comfortable furniture that is also stylish. The location is wonderful. The views from every bedroom window were amazing. It is right next to a lovely sandy cove too. Breakfasts were good but evening meals were excellent. They can be taken in the warm , welcoming, busy bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review. It is always heartening for all of us to know that our hotel, location and food have been enjoyed and appreciated. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights and overall it was pleasant enough. We did have a dog with us (a well behaved collie) which we were allowed to take into the room, but there was a lack of atmosphere and character. Yes if was clean and relatively comfortable with incredible views. However there was certain bits and pieces that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the window and will have this rectified. Our building is over 100 years old and full of character. We do have a programme of maintenance in place for our windows and in keeping with being in a conservation village we have to adhere to regulations regarding replacement. We are often complimented... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family booked a function room for dinner. The meal was great and the service from MOST of the staff was also great... with the exception of the red haired waitress (you can't miss her). When asked if we could have a basket of bread, her response was "I only have 2 hands". We didn't expect her to produce the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing service. This remark was unacceptable and will be dealt with accordingly. This is most unusual from the waitress in question who is a well respected member of the service team whom she has let down. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal and hope that... More

Corbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

With hindsight the booking and cancellation terms for this hotel might have been a warning. These were spelt out again in our letter of confirmation from the hotel and had we not exposed ourselves to payment of our stay in full we would have left after the first night. There was nothing wrong with our room; it was pleasantly furnished... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review

I am disappointed and puzzled by your comments. Our bathrooms are modern and vary in size all with over bath power showers which we are often complimented on. The price reflects a room for 3 persons with breakfast minus VAT equates to £184 (£61.33 per person bed & breakfast) comparable to other hotels and some bed and breakfast houses. Our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Port Charlotte Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Port Charlotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Charlotte Hotel

Address: Main St, Port Charlotte PA48 7TU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Port Charlotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Charlotte Hotel Islay

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Port Charlotte Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Port Charlotte Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer