We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Port Askaig hotels

Port Askaig Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Askaig PA46 7RB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Port Askaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Askaig
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Askaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    16
    16
    29
See reviews for
20
40
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and despite looking a bit tired from the outside inside is full of old world pub charm. The food was delicious we had fish and chips which was extremely fresh and good size portion not enormous and the Cullen skink was also delicious. Worth a stop if you are hungry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My work booked us this hotel "THANKFULLY" as i wouldnt have stayed. Why is there NO Tv in room STAFFA ??? Very poor wi-fi to add and my wash hand basin was too small. Went down to see the bar meals menu. Shock horror!! The cheapest meal was £12.95!!! WHAT IS ALL THAT ABOUT!! Had to drive 10 miles to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It's a shame that the quality of the accommodation is so poor here. We had a room that looked like it was last refurbished in the 70's, and it was totally lacking in the facilities you would expect like a TV, tea/coffee etc. The room was not serviced during our short stay. Very poor value for money it has to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

I take it firstly that this review is wrongly dated or has someone actually sent in a review a year late? More than half of our rooms have been refurbished recently and those that have not have had the benefit of new carpeting linen etc. and while slightly dated are warm clean and comfortable We are refurbishing on a rolling... More

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Tempted by the board at the bar offering scones, butter and jam, generally a favourite of mine, I ordered one along with my coffee. The microwave treatment was not enough to disguise a very stale scone, probably one of those that I'd seen on the bar counter the evening before. It was biscuity dry. I was going to leave it,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

Re - hard scone - obviously staff member had used the microwave to heat the scone and left it too long - this can happen in a few seconds - but why oh! why did you not simply hand it back and ask for a fresh one. I think perhaps you just like to have a rant - so unnecessary... More

Minard
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visited the public bar after a hiking / biking trip on Jura whilst waiting for the ferry. Lovely spot , service not fast but only one staff on late afternoon. Loved the darts - machine counter the best! Discovered on returning home had dropped rucksack rain cover - contacted hotel and gentleman arranged for it to be collected by visiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Andrews
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We would have booked anywhere that would have us, as we were determined to climb Beinn a' Chaolais on Jura, but completely incapable of doing all the Paps ( which we would have done from Craighouse). We had a wonderful view of our destination from the bedroom we were eventually allocated after a party of geologists moved out. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Biggar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We called in here for a drink and a bite to eat while we waited for the ferry to Jura. The hotel has a nice little bar and we sheltered from the rain. It's a habit of mine to order Cullen Skink if it's on the menu and I'd had a few during our trip, so seeing it listed as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

Probably a misunderstanding between waitress and kitchen for which I apologise. - we serve two portion sizes and you obviously got a starter portion. I would be happy to send you a refund if you e mail your full name and address to hotel@portaskaig.co.uk. Our apologies. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We called here for lunch while awaiting our ferry back to the main land with a party of eight . The hotel is in the most beautiful setting imaginable near the sea and facing the island of Jura . We found a table and ordered and paid for our meals this was two hours before our ferry was due to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sammy253, Owner at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly sorry your table did not get served - we always regret any customer being disappointed at Port Askaig. However by way of explanation, on an average day we serve something between 25 - 40 lunches and are staffed accordingly. On the day in question our 2nd chef on his own cooked over 70 lunches - and not one of... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have to admit we weren't expecting much after reading some of the previous reviews. Though we've been fascinated by this place and left with great holiday experience. It's a cozy hotel by the water with probably the best view in Scotland. It offers excellent food and great selection (and collection) of whiskey. It's situated near the ferry terminal to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Clare, sUffolk,England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week,and thoroughly enjoyed the excellent breakfasts and evening meals,very well cooked using local produce. The fish was particularly good(not surprising as the fishing boats came in 20 yards away).The service was really good, and above all, everybody would go out of their way to help.Our ensuite room was quite adequate and spotlessly clean. Friday night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Port Askaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Askaig Hotel

Also Known As:
Port Askaig Hotel Islay
Address: Port Askaig PA46 7RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Askaig
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Askaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Askaig Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Askaig Hotel is a picturesque, family run Highland Inn on the shores of the Sound of Islay, overlooking the pier at which daily car ferries berth on arrival from the Scottish mainland. Due to its proximity to the ferry, it offers easy access to Jura, Colonsay and the mainland. Our Starboard Restaurant offers Bistro style dining, with a full meal service in both bars and hot snacks available out with main meal times. Our Port Bar is the oldest licensed premises on Islay and features an excellent selection of Islay Malts and a display of old and rare bottles. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Askaig Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Port Askaig Hotel to your Saves list