We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Port Askaig Hotel

Port Askaig Isle of Islay | Argyllshire, Port Askaig PA46 7RB, Scotland
Port Askaig Hotel
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    19
    18
    31
See reviews for
21
43
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
North Berwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had planned a motorbike trip with some mates, and we had booked in at the Port Askaig Hotel, dealt with a very pleasant woman named Elaine, who was extremely accommodating with our needs, would recommend people stay at this hotel if vistiting Islay. Thanks to all staff. Ross M

Was this review helpful? Yes
Islay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't stay in the hotel as we live on the island but celebrated our sons 18th birthday with a family dinner,we had asked for sea food to ne on the menu and it was, in abundance. And perfectly cooked, two of our party had dietary requirements and with a little for warning these were well catered for and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It was very convenient, literally you drive off the ferry into the parking lot. The hotel is old and quaint, quite dated which is okay with me. The staff were helpful and friendly. My biggest complaint is the beds and pillows were not comfortable. it seems to me if your main service is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stonehaven
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a nice lunch while waiting for the ferry served by helpful and friendly staff. However, it was a bit pricey for the standard of hotel. It's in a lovely location looking across to Jura but the décor and furnishings are in dire need of upgrading. Sitting outside if the weather permits would be the best option.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was at Port Askaig last weekend having a drink at the hotel which is an excellent place to do so with great views across the water to Jura and right beside the cute harbour. It really is a lovely place to enjoy a drink on a sunny afternoon and the interior of the bar is cosy and friendly when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had lunch at this dated hotel before getting the ferry (not much choice at ferry terminal!). Food was good (excellent fish and chips and steak pie) and waiters were very nice and helpful. However, it was very off putting hearing the manager complaining loudly to her friends and berating her staff for cleaning the tables 'the incorrect way'. I felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Marion S, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review

I will only say to this reviewer that I REGRET IF SHE WAS IN ANY WAY AFFECTED BY MY ACTIONS - however sometimes you have to act quickly and explain your reasons for doing so and short of grabbing the stong chemical spray from the girl's hand I could only prevent the wooden table from being irriversably damaged by stopping... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Wanted a meal on Islay before catching last ferry to Kintyre at 6:00pm. Tourist office in Bowmore kindly arranged with the hotel for us to have a meal prepared by the chef starting earlier than normal at 4:30pm just for us. The meal was perfect and made a very pleasant end to our two days on Islay. Many thanks to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Port Askaig hotel was our last stop on the island. We arrived soaking wet after a bike ride from a brilliant day at bruichladdich distillery open day. Had a great meal ... Shame about the open bar door letting in the midges ! We had a comfy clean room. The staff were friendly and welcoming. More important was the after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cumbria
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed for a few nights in the single room Staffa, the room and en-suite are perfectly comfortable but the view is of the adjacent car park, it you want a sea view take someone with you and get a double room! As a digression this hotel isn't alone in providing only adequate accommodation for single travellers but at least the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Only stayed for one night as I was on business, this is just a statment not a complaint there was no tv in the room iI was in and no mobile reception in the area perfect for me.The food is excellent and very fresh. I know as I watched the chef walk across the beer garden to the harbourside and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question