We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butterfly Gap Retreat

4366 Butterfly Gap Rd, Maryville, TN 37803
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Butterfly Gap Retreat
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Benton AR
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

I saw an article on BGR in Southern Living Magazine a couple years ago. I thought it seemed like a special place for my wife and I to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. Our time at BGR was beyond special. Tucked away in the mountains this 7 house bed and breakfast was the perfect little get away. We were one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elliesoo
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I've been so busy recommending Butterfly Gap to all of my friends that I forgot to actually post a review on here (whoops). We stayed for a weekend at the end of May for my birthday, and I genuinely did not want to leave when the trip was over. Butterfly Gap is a cut above everyone else, and I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank HwaetWeGardena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend for our anniversary. This place is BEAUTIFUL. The lake is always calm and there's little to no activity during the day, the scenic overlook is spectacular, you can see for miles and can watch the sun set over the valley, and all of this is sheltered in a hidden little valley... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Eric B
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

Spent a week at this wonderful place! The cabin was everything we hoped for with a babbling brook, songbirds, porch swing and rocking chairs. The cabin had all the amenities of a modern home and super clean. Our cabin #225 had a wood burning stove and big comfy couches. The property is beautiful and well maintained, each cabin is secluded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurie V
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

I attended a wedding here and it was STUNNING. I don't know about the cost or the structure of the event but it looks like there was option for indoor or outdoor ceremony and it was just beautiful. The reception area was a little small I think it was probably perfect for the 150 guests that were at this wedding.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea R
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

For couples who want to reconnect and enjoy peace and quiet....this is a must. Beautiful family owned business. The breakfasts are awesome. You will not be disappointed! Each cabin has its own unique theme. The complimentary ice cream is such a nice treat. We hope to be back soon. (Travel dates Feb 2014)

Helpful?
1 Thank masondm
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My fiance and I stayed for two night in the Tree House (unit 134). We didnt want to leave. The set up was very professional!! We were arriving around 11pm so we were concerned about checking in. No problem at all for the staff. There is a gate code to enter the retreat and the door to the tree house... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Hateful owner kicked us out of our cabin at 7a.m. Completely rude and uncalled for. Don't give them your money. Stressed the bride out for NO reason. They were absolutely out of line...The bride and groom's family spent too much to be treated in such an atrocious manner.

Helpful?
17 Thank Elisharose3071
ButterflyGap, Manager at Butterfly Gap Retreat, responded to this review

Our policies were agreed upon contractually and re-addressed before, during, and after the event. Unfortunately, these policies were not followed. The guests were asked to leave due to the fact that they exceeded our maximum limit of overnight guests. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I almost don't want to write this review - so I could keep this place secret from as many people possible! This place is amazing. Everything is mind-blowing, from the care and attention you see evident in the accommodation, to the beautiful nature you are staying within, to the personalized service you receive from the team at Butterfly Gap. I... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Robert C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Just ended our relaxing stay at this superb hideaway outside the Smokies. Chose from 7 unique homes, all with their own distinctive charms and amenities, stashed in a 900 acres enclave lovingly run by Becky and Mike and their family. Don't miss this treat!

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
7.4 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
#1 of 85 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
8.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
20.0 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,506 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Oliver Hotel
The Oliver Hotel
#6 of 88 in Knoxville
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay