We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butterfly Gap Retreat

4366 Butterfly Gap Rd, Maryville, TN 37803
Hotel amenities
Butterfly Gap Retreat
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Eric B
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    1
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend for our anniversary. This place is BEAUTIFUL. The lake is always calm and there's little to no activity during the day, the scenic overlook is spectacular, you can see for miles and can watch the sun set over the valley, and all of this is sheltered in a hidden little valley... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Spent a week at this wonderful place! The cabin was everything we hoped for with a babbling brook, songbirds, porch swing and rocking chairs. The cabin had all the amenities of a modern home and super clean. Our cabin #225 had a wood burning stove and big comfy couches. The property is beautiful and well maintained, each cabin is secluded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

I attended a wedding here and it was STUNNING. I don't know about the cost or the structure of the event but it looks like there was option for indoor or outdoor ceremony and it was just beautiful. The reception area was a little small I think it was probably perfect for the 150 guests that were at this wedding.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

For couples who want to reconnect and enjoy peace and quiet....this is a must. Beautiful family owned business. The breakfasts are awesome. You will not be disappointed! Each cabin has its own unique theme. The complimentary ice cream is such a nice treat. We hope to be back soon. (Travel dates Feb 2014)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

This cabin made memories for us. We stayed in the glass house 142. The first impression we had was "Wow! Cool!". The cabin is completely secluded and quiet (there are only 7 cabins on 1000 acres!) It's a round glass house, with glass windows almost all the way around the cabin.. The architecture of the cabin was fascinating, with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My fiance and I stayed for two night in the Tree House (unit 134). We didnt want to leave. The set up was very professional!! We were arriving around 11pm so we were concerned about checking in. No problem at all for the staff. There is a gate code to enter the retreat and the door to the tree house... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Hateful owner kicked us out of our cabin at 7a.m. Completely rude and uncalled for. Don't give them your money. Stressed the bride out for NO reason. They were absolutely out of line...The bride and groom's family spent too much to be treated in such an atrocious manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
ButterflyGap, Manager at Butterfly Gap Retreat, responded to this review

Our policies were agreed upon contractually and re-addressed before, during, and after the event. Unfortunately, these policies were not followed. The guests were asked to leave due to the fact that they exceeded our maximum limit of overnight guests. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I almost don't want to write this review - so I could keep this place secret from as many people possible! This place is amazing. Everything is mind-blowing, from the care and attention you see evident in the accommodation, to the beautiful nature you are staying within, to the personalized service you receive from the team at Butterfly Gap. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just ended our relaxing stay at this superb hideaway outside the Smokies. Chose from 7 unique homes, all with their own distinctive charms and amenities, stashed in a 900 acres enclave lovingly run by Becky and Mike and their family. Don't miss this treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Dirt road to cabins can be a little tricky, esp after dark. Really only enough room for one way traffic. Wedding went well, reception a bit far up to walk, but lovely when you arrive. Setting beautiful, lake lovely, far out in the woods, if you want seclusion, peace and quiet and to enjoy nature...this is the spot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay