We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Troon hotels

The Marine Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Marine Hotel to your Saves list
The Marine Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
80%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
LePonke Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,229)
  • Photos (175)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (316)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    377
    136
    68
    48
See reviews for
168
653
19
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night - room was very nice, bed comfy and clean and bathroom as Nice aswell. We had dinner in the restaurant as I had heard Good things from family - lovely sea view and the food was excellent. Pool facilities were good, showers weren't great though. We booked a deal, Room and dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is nice and the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast offers a good choice and all was very fresh. It was a perfect place for a weekend break with friends and the leisure centre provided a relax.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I was staying here on a Monday, on the Sunday evening I received a call to ask if I would like to reserve dinner as the following evening was very busy, I thought that was a very good service and reserved dinner for 6:00 pm. On arrival the reception staff were very welcoming. But things started to go a wee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am sorry that you were not immediately seated when entering the restaurant. I would challenge the Italian theme comment as we have a grand total of two pasta dishes on our menu but we review our menus frequently so will look at this as soon as we can. I am also trying to establish who... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for my 30th. It was a surprise for me and it was gorgeous. A few bad things but nothing too major. No champagne on arrival which he asked for and lack of storage in our bedroom. Otherwise we could not fault the hotel. Staff were friendly and so helpful. Thanks for a fab weekend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I am very please that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope that we will see you again soon. More

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this through online spa travel agency as we wanted this experience alongside a good location for a special golf treat for one member of party. Hotel location is fabulous with gorgeous views over golf course and Arran. Bar, rooms and part of restaurant are charming. Spa treatments & treatment rooms were good, but waiting/ relaxation room was beside noisy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Whilst I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel I am sorry that you did not like the restaurant. We can only hope to maintain a high standard by listening to our guests so I appreciate your comments. I hope that we will see you again soon. More

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Six of us stayed at the Hotel as a base to get to Glasgow for the first Friday and Saturday of the Commonwealth Games. We were blown away by the location, welcome, obvious quality and general attitude of the staff. The one issue that was not ideal was the quality of the breakfast. Over cooked meat, eggs not great etc.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you did not like breakfast so much but appreciate the feedback. I hope we see you again soon. More

Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited hotel today for Afternoon tea with elderly parents, which we had pre booked. This was a gift from their grandchildren, which they were looking forward to. We were told to go into the bar, which did seem a strange place for afternoon tea. The floor area beside us was covered in crumbs. No member of staff came over to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you were so disappointed. We receive very good feedback for our afternoon tea and the wonderful homemade cakes and scones we recently introduced, I am sorry that you did not like these. I do hope that when you raised your issue on the day that the team made every effort... More

Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this hotel many times, since it was belonging to Paramount Barcello and Puma hotels. We stayed in room 120, which had a beautiful view of the golf course and down to Prestwick airport. The room was quite spacious with a comfy seating area and a very large bed. All the staff in the hotel were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will see you again soon! More

Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful old hotel with great views across the golf links to Arran. Room was a bit small but the views more than made up for that. Staff were always friendly and meals were excellent (we had breakfast most mornings and dinner a few times). The bar was great too. No complaints and would stay here again without hesitation. Did I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we will see you again soon. More

Palm Coast, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While this hotel has a fantastic location and looks compelling, the attraction ends there. The hotel is extremely dated and in dire need a a complete refresh. Rooms are very old and small and carpet is extremely disappointing. There are very few good view rooms in the hotel and some such as ours 123 and others on the first floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you did not have a good stay. I am also sorry that you were unable to get a front facing room, it was not due to us having "very few" front facing rooms or to disinterested staff, but rather that we had none available as the hotel was full, additionally and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Troon with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage.With the new Two Fat Ladies restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it’s the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
89

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Marine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer