We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Troon hotels

The Marine Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Marine Hotel to your Saves list
The Marine Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
80%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
jimjpaterson maybole, ayrshire
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    386
    141
    69
    49
See reviews for
175
663
19
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1253)
  • Mar-May only
    (329)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (351)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (316)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (257)
All months
maybole, ayrshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited on 20/09/2014 for a Spa day, the best part of the day was when we received our treatments, the girls were amazing and made us feel special, disappointing that our spa day included kids in the pool and the Jacuzzi area, not quite what I thought a spa day would include. Only one changing room in the main area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jimjpaterson, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your treatments, the Beauty team will be delighted with your kind comments about their service. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the changing area and I acknowledge these points for improvement. I hope you visit us again in the near future Andrew Deighan General Manager More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 1 night and I totally recommend it. Rooms were spotless a bit on the small side especially the bathroom but it did us. Breakfast was amazing one of the best i had would def go back again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie K, I am delighted that you had a “fantastic stay” thank you for your lovely comments regarding the cleanliness and how much you enjoyed your breakfast. I will pass your comments on to the team and I am sure they will be extremely happy to receive such feedback Andrew Deighan General Manager More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a lovely setting overlooking the sea and the golf course. It is an impressive building with some beautiful rooms. We were allocated a room on the third floor, very clean but it was quite small. The windows in the bedroom and bathroom overlooked the sea but were very small and blocked by the roof from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The water issue was regrettable and I will add my apologies that those of my team, it was fixed rapidly but was very frustrating for all concerned. I am sorry that you did not like breakfast but appreciate the feedback. I am puzzled by your... More

Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here a few times many years ago and decided on a return visit because we love the setting of the hotel. We booked b/b for 2 nights and we were disappointed to see the hotel has been allowed to deteriorate and needs a major refurb. Our room had a lovely view of the golf course and the sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I trust that the team made efforts to make amends when you raised your concerns. I very much hope that we will see you again soon. More

Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter treated me to a night in the Marine Hotel which included a three course meal, bottle of wine and full English breakfast and I cannot compliment the hotel highly enough. The room was extremely comfortable, the dinner was delicious, the staff extremely friendly and helpful and the location first class. I would have no hesitation in recommending this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful review. I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us! It is always very encouraging to read such great feedback. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bought a deal on secret escapes for me and my mum for a birthday treat. The hotel itself is in a great location. Our room had a beautiful view over the golf course. We could also not fault the level of service and the dinner was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will no doubt be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane K, Thank you for your taking the time to leave us a review. We value your comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Marine Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your kind words regarding our fantastic staff. I am extremely pleased you had a great dining experience... More

Comrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Marine Hotel, Troon on a 2 night stay, dinner with wine on the first night and afternoon tea on the second day. This deal was very good value for money. The hotel is in a great location, close to Royal Troon Golf Course and another course also slose by. Perfect for golfers. The hotel is also close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we will see you again soon. More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Left here yesterday.. after booking for 2 nights & upgrading to a suite we left after only 1 night 😡 our room was dirty & old, windows were a disgrace & filthy, room coverd in spiders webs, broken furniture and bed.. complained to Poppy on reception & told someone would contact me & I had already been given a discount... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing that despite us making every effort to satisfy you, you have still chosen to post a very scathing review. The hotel is far from "filthy" and whilst I accept your points constructively, to conflate them together in the manner in which you have done paints a frankly exaggerated and false picture. The... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location is beautiful and there is an undeniable peacefulness! The staff were all extremely helpful and very friendly! Maybe slightly dated and in need of a revamp but great service delivered, food delicious and lovely atmosphere ..... Will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the restaurant. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay and visit. The hotel food at the Two Fat Ladies was amazing as was breakfast. The rooms are clean and comfortable and lovely. We really enjoyed our stay and will be coming back soon. Lovely location and hotel is stunning, we loved it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and I very much hope that we will see you again soon. More

Do you own or manage The Marine Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

188 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Near The Marine Hotel