We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Troon hotels

The Marine Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Marine Hotel to your Saves list
The Marine Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Diane433 Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (1,218)
  • Photos (175)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (314)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    372
    134
    67
    47
See reviews for
167
648
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is stunning, with magnificent views across the sea; it is also very quiet. However, the rooms are shabby & not very clean & the bar food is poor. I had requested adjacent rooms & had even telephoned 3 days beforehand to check that this would happen. Despite this, upon arrival our rooms were far apart.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived to welcoming smiles from the spa team..we spoke to Perri who organised our spa treatments which were fabulous, who continually looked after us until we went for lunch..stopped off at the bar and got served by Dominic who's chatty and professional manner was just the right tonic..we had a voucher for 2 courses but we went on to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Marine Hotel in Troon is not city boutique chic by any stretch of the imagination. It is very authentic in style and decor. the building is stunning and has a real sense of grandeur. Perhaps the rooms themselves have a bit more faded grandeur? Room 44 where we stayed had a carpet that was truly threadbare! However the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon. More

Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have visited this lounge/ restaurant inside the hotel on several occasions. Every single time I have had abysmal , very slow service. If you visit in the afternoon its very empty- no wonder as little attempt to serve you, and usually2-3 pathetic shop cakes. No scones, biscuits, or anything for children.You have to BOOK afternoon tea for goodness sake.No... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, I am sorry that you have been so disappointed in the service in the Arran Lounge. We offer a selection of cakes, scones and pastries all made in house by our Pastry Chef and we certainly encourage bookings for Afternoon Tea but have never to my knowledge, refused service if you have not booked. I'm... More

edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Having enjoyed breaks at the Marine in the past I've got to say I was very disappointed.Our room overlooked a brick wall.The evening meal was the worst part.We had to wait ages for anyone to attend to us and another long wait before anything arrived on the table.This was the case for most of us and as there was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, all of the feedback we receive is used to maintain our high standard and whilst I am sorry for any lapse in standard I appreciate you passing the comments on. I do hope that we will see you again. More

Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This magnificent hotel has the best location overlooking the golf course and sea. It was clean, well maintained, quiet and interesting. The hotel staff were exceptional, particularly Kimberley on reception who could not have been more bubbly and welcoming if she tried! The food was fantastic, top quality and delicious. The waiters were more than helpful, and quite honestly can't... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We work hard to maintain a high standard and it is massively encouraging to read such good comments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon. More

Alexandria, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our room was at the back of the hotel and had no view as such although it was comfortable and clean. As this was a Groupon deal, which included a £40 voucher, we couldn't really expect the best room. The spa facilities and pool were very good. The meal in The Two Fat Ladies resturant was good with a lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will see you again soon. More

Glasgow
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service excelled our expectations Our room was stunning overlooking the golf course and beach Evening meal in the "Two Fat Ladies" restaurant was first class and reasonably priced I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. It is very encouraging to read such great feedback, thanks for choosing to stay and I hope that we will see you again soon. More

Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a one night stay away for my wife's birthday to be told they had no trace of my booking.1.got given a room with a view of a brick wall after paying for a deluxe room.2 when back to reception to be told no deluxe room left we will give you a refund of 20 quid.3 asked if my wife... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the second review of your stay. As I said in my earlier reply I am sorry for the mix up with your reservation. Your situation was most regrettable and I am sorry that you left before we had the chance to make amends. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a one night stay and if you expect 4 star that is not what this hotel is . We had to ask for room change as first one had marked first carpet , one small window that would not stay open - very warm day and no air conditioning . The staff did kindly give us another room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It is disappointing that you were not happier with your stay but I thank you for your comments. I hope that we will have another chance to impress in the not too distant future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage.With the new Two Fat Ladies restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it’s the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
89

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer