We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Torridon hotels

Kinlochewe Hotel

Kinlochewe, Garve | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2PA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Kinlochewe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Torridon
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torridon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
8
42
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here after a days walking in Torridon. Our room was spacious and warm with a huge comfy bed. Lovely bath and shower. Ate in the bar and both enjoyed the special of the day which was a delicious beef casserole. A good selection of real ales and whiskies finished the job off well. Breakfast was tasty and cheerfully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Feb 2014 with my wife and several climbing friends, 2 nights in the bunk room and 2 in the main hotel. By the end of the 2nd day we were already feeling like part of the furniture. The hotel owners were friendly hosts with a dry wit, very helpful and down to earth. The bunk room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you , thank you, for your delightful review and for taking the time to share your views with others. We thoroughly enjoyed your visit - it is always fun to get good craic and there was certainly plenty of that with your group! Anglo/Scottish/Irish relations were pretty good that weekend. As you say, the bunkhouse is a... More

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited the Hotel several times while on a walking holiday between Christmas and new year since it is an easy walk from the free campsite at Taagan. The bar is rather formal but the ale was extremely good and the staff friendly. They keep a printed copy of the mountain weather forecast on the bar and this was both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the ale, your "excellent" lamb chump and the friendly staff - although we would not agree that our bar is "formal" - wooden floors and a wood burning stove doesn't strike me as formal - but we obviously all think differently. I would like to answer some of your less favourable comments if... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Kinlochewe Hotel in August, made very welcome by the staff and hosts, given a large pleasant room with a good bathroom (and wonderful soft towels!) and even provided with a heater since the weather was a little inclemental! Breakfasts were great and provided a good start to the day. We had dinner on both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review - many thanks for taking the time to tell everyone about your experiences when you stayed with us. We really do try to make the hotel a comfortable and welcoming place for our guests to come and stay. We are so privileged to be set amid such wonderful scenery - quite stunning, isn't it? I must... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

En route to a wedding in Torridon, my wife and I broke our journey at the hotel. On ordering drinks I asked if it was OK to for us sit in the lounge. There were no other customers, either in the main bar or the lounge, but we were told that we couldn't sit in the lounge as it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

We have tried to make our bar area a warm and welcoming area for customers to sit and generally have extremely favourable comments on how nice it is. We have even won an award for the "Pub of the Year" for the area. We are sorry if you did not find it suitable for your needs. I really do not... More

derby
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Called in for a drink only but looked at menu and it looked fine,we were also allowed to take our dog into the bar and he was made most welcome.The bar area was decorated in a typical highland way and was very cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We certainly welcome well behaved dogs in the bar (most dogs who come in are usually exhausted from walking the hills and happily lie down to wait for their owners to enjoy a refreshment or two!) We hope you will come in for a meal next time you are passing - or even come to... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you are looking for great service, with a smile and no request too much bother then this is the place for you. We arrived as part of a big group who had been out climbing a munro, just as they were setting up to serve dinner. Most of the group just wanted a pint and somewhere to blether and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review - thank you! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit here and found the service and staff to your liking. We are very proud of our local staff, who are all very friendly and many of them have been with us for quite a few years. We get many group of walkers... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Previously I had stayed here on my own but this year my wife accompanied me & we stayed for 3 nights. It was a great relief to be in a hotel serving excellent real ale so far North. I can say without reservation that of all the numerous Scottish hotels have stayed at in the last 30 years none had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Hello "JR" Thank you for such a wonderful review - WOW! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated the local food (our ethos is to buy the best local ingredients and cook them simply - to let the flavours shine through !) As you say - we certainly don't want people to be on a diet... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good food and friendly staff, dined here 3 nights on the trot and had steaming hot plates of good quality food. Lots of staff on duty at this hotel and a friendly bunch too. CAMRA orientated for beer lovers and a decent top shelf of malts after a hard days graft on the mountains. Well worth a visit in this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed eating here and appreciated our local food, Real Ales and Malt Whiskies. We are very honoured to be listed in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide again. More and more people seem to be appreciating the variety of Real Ales that are being produced in the UK... More

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

So many hotels in Scotland take the easy way out and use catering companies from goodness knows where to provide ready cooked meals but not the Kinlochewe. The food was excellent with local treats like the lovely, lightly smoked haddock for breakast and wonderful and generous portions of venison for dinner. There were also five different real ales on tap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - we really do appreciate it. We are firm believers in serving top quality, locally produced food - nothing fancy, just good food , served simply to allow diners top appreciate the delicious flavours. As you say, so many places serve ready-prepared meals and cheaper ingredients from catering... More

Been to Kinlochewe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlochewe Hotel

Also Known As:
Kinlochewe Hotel Torridon
Kinlochewe Hotel Torridon, Scotland
Address: Kinlochewe, Garve | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinlochewe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kinlochewe Hotel to your Saves list