We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Torridon Inn

Certificate of Excellence
By Achnasheen | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
The Torridon Inn
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    93
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
38
127
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Torridon Inn rooms can be best described as the beige version of those at a Premier Inn. Similar facilities, similar quality. Yes, the view outside is chalk and cheese, but when the room door was closed the differences diminished. (Our view, through two Velux windows, was of car roofs). The check-in process was much the same, too... beige. "Here's your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
172 hotel reviews
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed one night and spent most of the time out enjoying Torridon's beautiful scenery. We chose this as a lower cost alternative to the expensive Torridon Hotel on the same site. We got a friendly welcome at reception, despite our rather early arrival, and were directed to drive round the back of the block where we'd find our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had picked this place because it gave us the option of eating in a 3AA rosette restaurant at the Torridon Hotel or eat pub food at the Inn. We thought the attic room was very good and well cleaned. The service at the Inn was very good and the menu appeared good. But the food was poorly cooked and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here the night after one of our riders broke his elbow in 3 places so our mood was low. The staff helped settled us in checking in was quick, no problem with storing our bikes and the bar was very welcoming. We settled down for food which we all (8) enjoyed and there's plenty of choice of fine ales... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broughty Ferry
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here as part of a 4 day trip, arrival was very good, the place looks great, nice bar and lovely room, unfortunately the food is terrible and service is poor, the food is expensive considering it's no better than very very cheap microwave pub grub, the service is poor as staff appear to be transient with no proper Management... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were pleased in you enjoyed the accommodation. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the service or the meal and apologise. The staff are seasonal; as you can imagine we don't see a lot of trade in this area from Nov - Feb and have a very small local population to find employees.... More 

Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have visited the inn on a number of occasions and generally it has been fine. Reasonable food and accomodating restaurant staff. However, our last two visits have not been so good. On the first occasion there were only two members of staff; a male who was determined to do his best and a female who was obviously upset about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your last 2 visits. I am not sure when you visited but on both occasions I accept the service was below par. There are always plenty of staff available to serve our guests but on occasion it can be very busy. However it is not acceptable... More 

UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having read some of the glowing reviews on trip advisor I was expecting great things. The location is stunning and a great relief to get there in good time after a long day on the motorbike. The room was very well appointed with lovely comfy bed and good quality bedding which to be fair you would expect for £110. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Torridon Inn is a pub with rooms and as such the tables for dining and seating arrangements suit the customers we have, The chairs at the dining tables are cushioned and there are 3 sofas and 6 comfortable chairs in the bar area. I was pleased that the staff were friendly. Some of your... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited last year and had a great night, staff friendly, food good and great entertainment with a band playing and a pool table. This year completely different although the food was ok, staff miserable especially the lady from New Zealand, pool table gone and no entertainment. But the thing that enoyed me most was after spending over £100 on food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We signify closing of the bar with a calling of last orders and the ringing of a bell. This is exactly what the team did and it is very hard not to hear the bell. You appeared at the bar at 11.20pm wanting more beer and was rude and shouting at the team because you... More 

Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dropped in for a bar meal with my partner. The place is set up for tourists and has little in the way of craic. The staff are mostly seasonal foreigners and the ones who can speak English seem to refer to everyone as 'you guys' - that's a pet hate of mine, but I have to say the service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is probably 20 years since all the staff at Torridon were Scottish. Times have changed and the local population is now less than 500 people within a 25 mile radius of the Inn and many are retired. That means we rely on seasonal staff to look after our visitors and I make no apology... More 

England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We visited the Torridon Inn during early April as part of a short tour of the Scotish Highlands, the weather was exceptionally good which made for a great trip. First impressions of the accommodation was, that of a barn conversion in a pleasant courtyard. The room was on the ground floor and was larger than most bed and breakfast places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities