We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Strathpeffer hotels

Bay Highland Hotel

., Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT DEALS!
Save Saved
You added Bay Highland Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Highland Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
77%
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Strathpeffer
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
gcarr2803 Tayport, Scotland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (367)
  • Photos (140)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (126)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    160
    46
    27
    14
See reviews for
40
193
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tayport, Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The good bits - nice location, food served at dinner was fine, staff all friendly and helpful, it is pretty reasonably priced, clean enough,but... It is so tired and dated looking and rooms are well below standard expected theses days - no shower in a lot of the rooms, we had to ask to be moved to get one! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was part of a block booking with my local walking group for a 3 night weekend break. I was so disappointed when I saw my single room. The first thing was the strong smell of air freshener, recently sprayed(what was it masking?) Then I found there was only a bath, no shower and no facilities to wash hair. Old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were so disappointed with your room, especially after receiving such positive feedback from the rest of your party this morning. The bedrooms are thoroughly cleaned on departure days and given a quick spray with a virucidal air fresher. This is not designed to mask anything, it’s just a extra level of cleaning. It’s a shame you... More

Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have recently had a short break at the Highland Hotel, we found all the staff extremely helpful, especially Allison and Kristine from the dining area. I am coeliac and vegetarian so in the past have encountered problems with other hotels regarding dining arrangements. For the first time at a hotel I was given a gluten-free menu which was excellent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Bay Highland Hotel, Strathpeffer as part of a four day National Holiday coach tour. My scenic single room was spacious and recently refurbished and, with the additional of a supplementary heater provided by housekeeping, nice and warm. Having seen a standard single on the rear elevation of the hotel, I would strongly recommend an upgrade for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for lovely review. Nice to hear you found your spacious and had a relaxing stay. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your main course one evening. I will certainly investigate this for you but I’m glad it didn’t spoil your overall holiday enjoyment. Hope you’ll return to see us soon. Kind Regards Alastair. More

st helens
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a five day break here with Shearings holidays.We had a great time,the staff certainly do make this hotel.We found every team member to be outstanding.The customer service was second to none.Nothing was too much trouble from extra pillows to special diets catered for, excellent is the only description.Yes the standard rooms are a bit tired, but spotlessly clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for such a lovely review. Great to hear enjoyed your stay. It very kind of you to take the time to mention all the staff. They all work very to try to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay us, I’m glad this was the case for your holiday. I’ll certainly pass on your comments. Hope to welcome you back... More

Goole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 5 day break at this hotel. Beautiful setting, full of character, good decorative order, spotlessly clean throughout, helpful, pleasant and cheerful staff and good food....what's not to like? Special mention must go to our lovely waitress Betty and to the chef and his staff for the high standard of food. The weather was cool for mid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, Great to hear you had lovely break. I’ll pass on your kind comments to Betty and Kitchen team and housekeeping staff. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Alastair. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely 5 days this week at the Highland hotel, well worth the upgrade to a standard plus room, faultless. Yes it was a long journey but when your among such lovely people and you arnt off to work then why complain, Our Driver Neal was spot on and we had some laughs, met a lovely couple and loved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your holiday and found the standard plus rooms faultless. Glad to hear you’ll be travelling with Shearings again. Hope to see you soon, Kind Regards Alastair. More

Ireland/Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a last minute break with Shearings for 7 nights at the highland Hotel, Strathpeffer, the hotel public rooms were very pleasant, rooms a little tired I had a single which was a wee but small but can't complain as I got a good deal. The staff really make this place and special mention must go to Michael and Victoria... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. It’s really kind of you mention the staff, they work really hard and it’s kind of you to take the time to mention them. I will pass on your comments. Glad you had such a nice holiday. Hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Alastair. More

Lancashire UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We also arrived unexpectedly at this hotel on Monday 11th August after a long day travelling and failing to get to Ullapool by different routes but because of landslides on the roads we were unable to reach our destination. Our only option was to find alternative accomodation and try to get to Ullapool on the Tuesday. We were advised to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel as part of a trip through Shearings, was a late deal as as I am a single traveller. Arrived rather late as had problems with traffic and the weather, even though it was getting on for 9pm the hotel manager greeted us on the bus bus and explained what was what and we all still got an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for lovely review. Great to hear you had such an enjoyable holiday. Thanks for taking the time to mention the staff, it’s really nice to know their hard work has paid off and you’ve enjoyed good service. P.s Don’t worry about the key. It happens every day. See you soon, Kind Regards Alastair. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Highland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: ., Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Strathpeffer with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
230

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bay Highland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer