We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Strathpeffer hotels

Bay Highland Hotel

., Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT DEALS!
Save Saved
You added Bay Highland Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Highland Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
77%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Dancer111141 Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    162
    48
    27
    14
See reviews for
41
195
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This 3 night stay at the Highland Hotel was exceptional value for money. The staff were very efficient and the entertainment suited the guests. Some people only wanted to listen to the music and some of us were interested in the fact that we could also dance to the excellent music. Our waiter, Uvis, was first class. The Assistant Manager... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We loved this Hotel and it fitted in with what we saw in The Highlands, quaint covered it really well. Staff were friendly and room was cleaned to high standard. Good choice of menu and food nice, all in all we loved our stay with you, thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here as part of a Shearings coach holiday. Strathpeffer is a wonderful spa village with a lot of history to explore and some lovely walks in the area. It's also a great base for touring this part of the highlands. The Highland Hotel was very clean and comfortable. I stayed in a single room on the second floor overlooking... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My Mum and I have just returned from a 5 day Shearings coach holiday to this hotel. It was our first time in Scotland and an 80th birthday present to Mum who had always wanted to visit this beautiful part of the world. This is a pleasant enough hotel which has an olde worlde charm to it with a grand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, Glad your enjoyed your holiday and your Mum fulfilled her dream of visiting Scotland for her birthday. I’ll pass on your kind comments to the staff. Great to hear you’ll hopefully be returning with your husband. Kind Regards Alastair. More

Banff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here this weekend as part of a group of 10. The hotel was our base for touring some of the Highlands. This hotel is large and quite stunning to look at from a distance .......it would certainly have been a great place when it was built in the Victorian era.....unfortunately some parts look like they haven't been touched since... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, We aim to provide value for money and I’m glad that’s what you found. We are constantly refurbishing rooms but been such a large and popular hotel this does take time. We have wifi in our downstairs lounges. Sorry about the television, we do sometimes have guests that accidently change the tuning, if you had reported... More

Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Apart from a very nice lobby area (reminiscent of a grand resort hotel of the past), this place is a dump. The room was filthy, carpets so dirty we laid down extra towels so we wouldn't walk on the stains and dirt), old fixtures, wooden frame of bath falling apart (rotting, actually). Service was haphazard, difficult to locate reception desk,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

I am slightly confused regarding your review and not entirely sure you have reviewed the Highland Hotel. Our restaurant doesn’t close at 8pm. We have several quiet lounges away from the entertainment. Our reception desk is in the middle of the lounge and is clearly signed from the doors. We have hundreds of guests check in each week during summer... More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is by far the best I have stayed in Sctland,the room was of a good size,the food was very good,the staff were polite and helpful,the location is very nice,the only downside was the cost of drinks,we used the local pub over the road.Strathpeffer it self is a nice village,Try the local museum you will be supprised.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for such a lovely review. Great to hear everything was to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon, Kind Regards Alastair. More

Lymm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an enjoyable holiday as part of a tour group. Having paid for a room upgrade we were very pleased with our room. The lounge got very crowded during the evening and not always a free space to sit. The entertainment was varied and quite pleasant on the whole. Our main concern was the food. It was truly awful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for taking time to leave your review. Firstly it’s great to hear you had an enjoyable holiday and you were pleased with your upgraded room. Sorry to hear your comments about the food. One average we serve over 200 evening meals a day and complaints are very rare. It’s a shame you did not approach the reception to allow... More

Tayport, Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good bits - nice location, food served at dinner was fine, staff all friendly and helpful, it is pretty reasonably priced, clean enough,but... It is so tired and dated looking and rooms are well below standard expected theses days - no shower in a lot of the rooms, we had to ask to be moved to get one! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We try to refurbish sections of rooms on an annual basis. We have completed several bedrooms/bathrooms over the last two years but we a large hotel and this is an ongoing process. As you will see from other comments the rooms we have completed receive very positive feedback from guests. Thanks for letting us know you... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was part of a block booking with my local walking group for a 3 night weekend break. I was so disappointed when I saw my single room. The first thing was the strong smell of air freshener, recently sprayed(what was it masking?) Then I found there was only a bath, no shower and no facilities to wash hair. Old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were so disappointed with your room, especially after receiving such positive feedback from the rest of your party this morning. The bedrooms are thoroughly cleaned on departure days and given a quick spray with a virucidal air fresher. This is not designed to mask anything, it’s just a extra level of cleaning. It’s a shame you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Highland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: ., Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Strathpeffer with
any amenities