We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Little Loch Broom hotels

Dundonnell Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dundonnell, Little Loch Broom IV23 2QR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Dundonnell Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Dundonnell Hotel to your Saves list
76%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
333martin333 Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotel with friendly staff, great accomodation, splendid food and Guiness - Music at wednesdays and Best scenery at West coast of Scotland !!! Hotel dundonnell is a must -- any hike in West Scotland should start here ... Been here five years in a row - love it !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The hotel is situated right by Little Loch Broom on the main road and has absolutely stunning views. It's a pity therefore that quite a few thoughtless motorists thunder by the hotel as though they are competing in a race. This is a bit disconcerting as the hotel car park is on the other side of the aforementioned road. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
96 hotel reviews
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed in room 16 overlooking the loch on the first floor . It was very spacious and seemed recently redecorated . Very nice . The staff were very friendly , food was very good at breakfast and in the evening . Lively music in the bar on Friday night and a good crowd in . Only a couple of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

As a mature couple on a cycling honeymoon to Scotland, we stayed in 15 different places in August 2104. This was our seventh stop and we received a very warm welcome from Trish and given the best room in the hotel which had fresh flowers in for us. There was secure parking for our bikes. There is a wonderful view... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

As others have said the rooms are all very dated. We had a large room, room 1, with a view of the lake but the bed was hard, the bathroom avocado green and it was just 'down at heel'. After we checked in, we were told that there water filter had been damaged by a storm and we were given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
broombeg, Owner at Dundonnell Hotel, responded to this review

First of all thank you for your review - without your comments and constructive critique we are unable to respond to the needs of our customers and improve our coustomer service. I do feel however, that on the day in question some of your comments were a little unfair. We had just suffered from flash floods cutting off the mains... More

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A good value hotel with a warm welcoming atmosphere. The decor is a tad dated as one would expect with the age of the building. Showers good and bed is comfy and clean. There is wifi in the main lounge password 1a2b3c4dee No wifi in the rooms Food was good and helping were fair. Will be back later in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Cheap as chips and a service second to none. Tidy rooms and very clean with standards better than some of the budget chains. Decor is dated in keeping with the age of the building with the atmosphere warm and inviting. Hot showers and a good location with a decent road to get to it makes for a brilliant experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northants UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is stuck in the eighties can you believe they have green baths. Rooms very dated but there we're clean. When we stayed we only came across 2 other guest. It is a shame it was once a very grand hotel but not any more needs a lot of investment. Food is average. Would I stay again no I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have stayed there before over a number of years for their music weekends.This was a "wee" break from the normal hectic bustle of life and living. Stayed three nights, Friday to Sunday and had a glorious time and as usual there was the music sessions every night. Not as hectic as the music weekends they have in April and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
44 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Four of us popped in here for a lite bite and a cuppa after spending a bit of time walking around the local Gorge. Three had scone and one had a rather tasty homemade lemon meringue pie all served with fresh tea by a really helpful and friendly lady. A really pleasant break.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dundonnell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundonnell Hotel

Address: Dundonnell, Little Loch Broom IV23 2QR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Little Loch Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundonnell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dundonnell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay