We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Achiltibuie hotels

Summer Isles Hotel

Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG , Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Summer Isles Hotel to your Saves list
Summer Isles Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
87%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Achiltibuie
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014
Veronica H Guisborough, United Kingdom
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    47
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
147
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at the Summer Isles Hotel in late October... in the fact we left on the final morning of the season. We chose the Boathouse Suite which was amazing for a special occasion. Huge bathroom, woodburning stove, and masses of space to relax. Neil, or host, was very attentive, and the staff, without exception are a credit to him.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Summer Isles Hotel. I arrived late and was greeted at teh door by name which is frankly not something I have ever experienced even at 5 star places. Good start. In the interests of keeping the bill down, I had declined a room with a sea view and was shown across the car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We greatly looked forward to our stay at The Summer Isles, especially the restaurant ....and we were not disappointed. However, our room - the Chaplin - was greatly in need of a complete overhaul....very, very tired and no shower and a chipped and stained bath. Our welcome was excellent and very friendly and the view is stunning - even though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are thrilled that many elements of your stay will linger in the memory for all of the right reasons, the team will be pleased to see your comments. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the Chaplin room, there are plans over the winter to upgrade this room. It is an historic... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The view is amazing (we stayed in Mathew's cottage) and we had the most wonderful meal at the restaurant, the chef is simply superb. The jacuzzi bath and sauna at the villa is a real luxury. Great location for walks in the countryside. Relatively close to Stac Pollaidh and Reiff which are brilliant places for hiking/walks Emma, Mikhail and Elena.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday here at the Summer Isles; the team will be encouraged when they see your feedback and I know the chef will be delighted with his comment. Hope its not too long before you return to our Oasis in the Highlands Neil (Host) More

Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was my second visit to this lovely hotel - the first in Autumn and the colours and scenery were "breath-taking". One of the best things about this establishment is the warm welcome and check in. After a long remote journey, it is lovely to arrive and be greeted by a friendly face. Bags are swiftly carried to an understated,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

The team will be encouraged by your praise and we thank you for your feedback such feedback really does make us try harder to get things just perfect. I am mindful of the comments made about the attention to detail in the housekeeping and assure you that this matter will be addressed and awareness will be heightened in this area... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A lovely little hotel in a magnificent spot. Our bedroom was super, the towels were sumptuous, the meals were good. The set price dinner seemed a bit expensive so we did not take it but the bar menu was good enough. After dinner drinks were priced on the high side but the location is so good, we forgave them!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our Oasis in the Highlands, alas we are not the cheapest venue in the area but we do strive to use only the very best produce and offer our guests a truly memorable experience unfortunately this comes at a price in a remote location such... More

Hertsfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I first went to the Summer Isles Hotel in 1995 and it immediately became one of my all time favourite places. I have visited several times over the years since and seen it evolve, and after a few years gap visited again this year. The previous owners (Mark and Gerry Irvine) have retired but apparently still take an interest and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

The team will be so pleased with this review, it is by receiving such feedback that they strive even harder to make our special place even more unique, as for your comments about negative feedback, we always try our best but sometimes people do not wish to enjoy the unique location, superb local produce an enthusiastic staff .... We will... More

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A beautiful room which unfortunately had not been hoovered either before our arrival or when the room was cleaned for our following day. The grout in the bathroom needed the mould removing and the bin in the bathroom was not emptied. The manager was away and this showed. The excellent cooking was let down on two counts: the description was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not meet all of your expectations, the team were aware of your intolerance to both Garlic and Onion, but were surprised that you had a dislike of truffle, neither Garlic nor Onion? This ingredient was used in our Chefs complimentary pre starter and should not really have detracted from the other six courses or... More

yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have just returned home after a lovely holiday touring Scotland which was spoilt only by the Summer Isles Hotel. We had visited the Hotel some years ago but found it somewhat pretentious and from a food and accommodation point of view not fully deserving of its reputation or cost. It has , however, changed ownership since then so I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

It is such a shame that Pernicious reviews such as this are allowed to have such credence on this site. I have tried unsuccessful on three occasions now to have the review taken down as I felt that the guest in question had no real desire to enjoy the night at the Hotel even before arriving. Why would anyone wish... More

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Location is fabulous in its beauty and remoteness - my favourite place in Scotland. Accommodation is very comfortable and staff/manager attentive. I first visited this hotel 38 years ago, since when there have been many changes, all for the better. After many visits over the years I finally took my 83 year old dad up so he could see why... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SummerIsles, Manager at Summer Isles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback, look forward to greeting you back soon I hope Neil (Host) More

Been to Summer Isles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Isles Hotel

Also Known As:
Summer Isles Achiltibuie
Hotel Summer Isles
Summer Isles Hotel Achiltibuie, Scotland
Address: Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Achiltibuie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originating in the 19th century as a fishing inn and crofters' bar, the hotel has been developed over the last 4 decades into an oasis of civilisation in one of the most remote and beautiful parts of Britain. Renowned for its fine food and wine, it is a destination for foodies as well as those who enjoy walking, climbing and exploring in exotic landscapes. There are 13 letting units ranging from simple log cabin rooms to a sophisticated cottage with 3 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Summer Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Isles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.