We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caledonian House

Station Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4BQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caledonian House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Caledonian House
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    22
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fort Augustus is an amazing place to spend a night, once most of the day tourists have past thru it is a pleasure to to sit and watch the operation of the lock gates and see all the different nationalities passing thru. The Caledonian House is a great place to stay right on the canal and the welcome is friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We pulled up looking for accommodation and saw what we thought initially was an intoxicated guest, but indeed turned out to be the owner. When I asked if there were any rooms available the owner was very rude and condescending stating "That's why the sign says No vacancies". Clearly we had not seen the sign. The woman then rudely stated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
carolfortaugustus, Owner at Caledonian House, responded to this review

Excuse me madam..you had not booked into my property.? You arrived at 8 pm with my NO VACANCY sign clearly displayed to the public. It's a big sign..are you blind??? Not that I should have to explain myself to you as you were not actually my guests either dear..........I had a wonderful wedding party group booked who funnily enough were... More 

Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here a couple of times now (Last time May14) and we love it. Carol is brilliant and her breakfasts are amazing. If we were staying in the area this would be our first choice (just been thinking about another possible visit soon). If you prefer bland, soulless, standardised, boutique style accommodation then maybe this isn't the place for you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great BnB. Clean, comfortable and quiet. I had a super bed in a small room overlooking the top lock on the canal, with just the faintest murmer of water running over the top of the gate lulling me to sleep. The ensuite bathroom was small but clean and well-appointed. Everything worked well and the towels and toiletries supplied were great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Firstly the breakfast was good stuff. I stopped here in a twin room with my brother for a night while picking up an ebay item. The owner was friendly and welcoming. the rooms were clean and tidy however I would suggest less pillows on the beds having to chuck them all off was a real workout, after moving a heavy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Just left and can't wait to return next year.Room was spotless, breakfast second to none and the owner Carol is a lovely, helpful and very friendly person. She made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for her. Thoroughly reccomend this hotel and it's closeness to the shores of Loch Ness . Everything perfect !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We stayed here in July just gone and can honestly say this was the worst holiday we have ever had. The sheets were not clean and on lifting up the toilet seat it was clear that this had not been cleaned in some time. The owner is nutty and definitely not approachable. Don't waste your money or time on this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
carolfortaugustus, Owner at Caledonian House, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Again... If your room was dirty and not cleaned as you say, why did you not complain on your arrival? I employ 2 cleaners over a 7 day week and I would have been able to do something about it..ie..refund you..Give you a big hug and say sorry.. You were here for more than one night and if... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

first time staying here and Carol made us very welcome .She took the time to explain everything in her own witty way .The rooms were clean and tidy and the breakfast was one of the biggest i have ever seen but i took it on and enjoyed it. .Also a close walk down onto the canal/lock gates and village

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Warm welcome, super room and excellent breakfast with lovely selection. Nice decor, all the usual tea, coffee, biscuits etc, room had everything, even a few dvds if you wanted to stay in, wine glasses and a bathroom robe. Really nice extra touches. Excellently situated for everything and very quiet. Thank you :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Had a great weekend in Fort Augustus and were welcomed to this cosy B&B by the lovely wacky owner, Carol. She briefed us with all those local activities and sights plus tips to get a glimpse of ‘Nessie’. We stayed in room 1 (facing Station Road) & 2 (facing the canal), both are great rooms. Note to those who have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay