We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Fort Augustus B&Bs / inns

Caledonian House

Save Saved
You added Caledonian House to your Saves list
Station Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4BQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Caledonian House
Ranked #14 of 28 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    20
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here in July just gone and can honestly say this was the worst holiday we have ever had. The sheets were not clean and on lifting up the toilet seat it was clear that this had not been cleaned in some time. The owner is nutty and definitely not approachable. Don't waste your money or time on this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
carolfortaugustus, Owner at Caledonian House, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Again... If your room was dirty and not cleaned as you say, why did you not complain on your arrival? I employ 2 cleaners over a 7 day week and I would have been able to do something about it..ie..refund you..Give you a big hug and say sorry.. You were here for more than one night and if... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

first time staying here and Carol made us very welcome .She took the time to explain everything in her own witty way .The rooms were clean and tidy and the breakfast was one of the biggest i have ever seen but i took it on and enjoyed it. .Also a close walk down onto the canal/lock gates and village

Was this review helpful? Yes
carolfortaugustus, Owner at Caledonian House, responded to this review

I have contacted Fisher Services who professionally launder my sheets. Obviously they are very worried and concerned by your comments..The Team will contact you shortly More

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warm welcome, super room and excellent breakfast with lovely selection. Nice decor, all the usual tea, coffee, biscuits etc, room had everything, even a few dvds if you wanted to stay in, wine glasses and a bathroom robe. Really nice extra touches. Excellently situated for everything and very quiet. Thank you :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Had a great weekend in Fort Augustus and were welcomed to this cosy B&B by the lovely wacky owner, Carol. She briefed us with all those local activities and sights plus tips to get a glimpse of ‘Nessie’. We stayed in room 1 (facing Station Road) & 2 (facing the canal), both are great rooms. Note to those who have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We arrived late in the day after a horrible drive. The owner was there to greet us and barking mad! However, the offered us a warm up drink and showed us a great little room, it was packed to the rafters with lovely items. It had a lovely coffee making area, fabulous TV and she had left a good set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife & I spent two nights in this quaint guest house, and have absolutely NO complaints, the standard of cleanliness left nothing to be desired, the bed was almost as comfy as our own at home, and what can I say about breakfast,?? I had the full Scottish breakfast on our 1st morning, I have a healthy appetite,but there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've been there few days ago with a friend on a trip all over the highlands... and I really loved this B&B as well as the owner, she gave us a really warm welcome, even if we were a couple of hours late. The place was tidy, clean and really comfortable, really a couple of steps out from the town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Quirky friendly host with lots of information about the town.Perfect location. Small but ok room.shower works and is hot ( a rarity in Scottish BnBs). Breakfast excellent Interesting quirky house,like the owner

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We can't believe the (few) negative reviews on this property! Do not listen to them. Read the check in rules and know that you are going to a different country were rooms are not as big as "American standards" and you will be incredibly happy! Check in was very easy and Carol was easy to communicate with both before our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Excellent place to stay Fantastic location and really friendly. Our room was very clean and very comfortable a bit of a home from home Breakfast was enormous Infact we couldn't finish it but it was delicious and freshly cooked Would definately stay again when visiting

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Caledonian House?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Caledonian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian House

Address: Station Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Caledonian House Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Near Caledonian House

Enlarge Map