We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Morags Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Morags Lodge to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jess_Wylie Brisbane, Australia
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    53
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
35
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Massive dorm rooms, clean large bathrooms. The communal area has a lounge, dining hall room and a in house bar. Great selection of whiskys and ales. Dinners were massive and great value for money. Breakfast was expensive for what it was. Cute town, down the street. Restaurants and ATM's not a long walk. Great for touring around Loch Ness

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed our spacious dorms and bathrooms as well as our meals and bar. We take on board your feedback about breakfast and would like to reassure you we are constantly looking for ways to improve our offering. We hope to see you again some day! More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Morags Lodge as a stop over for a night on our way to our next destination. Morags is placed within a very scenic and idyllic area. The staff were very welcoming and we even had a little letter left for us incase we turned up after they had left! The room was of a good size, the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Jared - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and loved our awesome showers! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip and hope you had a happy onward journey. More 

Lille, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is located in a beautiful part of the world and the staff are lovely people. The major downside to this hostel is that the rooms are really awful - they are small and hard to navigate around, the shower has unreliable hot water (which is a problem, considering how cold it usually is) and the wifi isn't very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that there were aspects of your stay you did not enjoy. One of the good things about our hostel is that all of our rooms are different layouts and different sizes, this allows us to cater for a wider number of rooming requirements. We are sorry that you did not like the room you were... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Morags as part of the Haggis Adventures. We were welcomed by a lovely staff memeber Julia. She made everyone feel very welcome and later organized a quiz and bar games for all. The rooms were spacious and the all important shower pressure after a day travelling was brilliant. The bar, located on site, was good prices, excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Nicole! We are delighted you enjoyed our infamous "Highland Hospitality" and our awesome showers -especially good after a day in the snow! More 

Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I, like most of the people on here, stayed here as part of the Haggis Adventure tour and I have no real complaints. We had a 4 person room, which had two sets of bunk beds (they were comfortable enough, even if I DIDN'T get the top bunk) and there was plenty of space in the room. The pillows were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Aaron, Thank-you for your review. We are glad that your stay with us was comfortable - opefully if you visit again you will get the top bunk next time! We are sorry the live music wasn't to your taste, we aim to provide live entertainment that appeals to a wide audience. If you have any further suggestions as to... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

I stayed here during my Haggis adventure tour for two nights. They turn the heat and hot off at night. They open the windows during the day for some reason. I came into a cold room, without heat. The shower was not draining so I asked if they could look at it. The front desk said they have a stopper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our heating system is indeed on a timer, timed to be on throughout the duration of our guests' stay with the exception of a few hours during the night when everyone is sleeping. This is standard practice and we are committed to operating sustainably. All rooms... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

If you are on a longer haggis tour this accommodation will probably be included. From a solo traveller point of view there were a couple of things which would make me stay elsewhere next time. Firstly I'm not a fan of mixed dorms. Also the communal areas are a bit short on space particularly if there are coach loads of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feedback, we are happy you enjoyed our evening meal, bar, and a comfy and quiet sleep! We are a little confused by some of your other comments so would like to ask you to contact management@moragslodge.com with clarification so we can take the relevant steps to improve for future guests. We offer both mixed and single-sex dorms... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I stayed here for two nights as part of a tour of the Scottish Highlands. The hostels was good in regards to cleanliness, service and facilities. The only draw back was the cost as I feel it's a little expensive. The breakfast was not included in the prize and was now worth the added cost. Internet only worked in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! As we offer both meals and self-catering facilities we do not include breakfast in the cost of our rooms as this gives our guests more flexibility. Our present breakfast offering is based on feedback from previous guests and we are always looking to improve and try new... More 

Shipley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst doing the great glen way on my own. very helpful friendly staff, very clean, and a decent breakfast for the price. would stay here again. good value. at the time the wi fi was poor, but was told it was been boosted in the very comfortable community area. also had a nice bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your kind review - we are happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay whilst stopping off on the Great Glen Way - and hope to welcome you again soon! More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I stayed at Mo's for two nights during my tour with Haggis Day Adventures and I enjoyed it immensely! The atmosphere was upbeat, the beds were comfortable, the food amazing and the bathrooms were huge for a hostel. The service was fantastic and the bar was a huge plus. Mo's set the stage for many happy memories with friends. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

We are loving the fact that you have used our staff nickname for our hostel! (Mo's = Morag's Lodge). We are also delighted you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you take your next trip round the Highlands - see you then! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Morags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morags Lodge

Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Morags Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morags Lodge Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay