We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Morags Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Morags Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Naaketta S London, England, United Kingdom
Add Your Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    54
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
35
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A Big Thanks to Bridie and Danny G for an awesome few nights staying at Morag's. They both went the extra mile to ensure we had a good nights sleep and nothing was a problem. Nicest hostel I've stayed in. Home made meals topped off the stay!! Thanks again - would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review - we are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and that our team made you feel happy and at home - we aim to please and hope to welcome you back again some day! More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looks like a purpose built hostel-we used it for a few days hill climbing nearby. Kitchen good, few sensible utensils (this is not unusual), comfortable beds, has it's own bar - stayed in one night and out to the village the next. Used by the Happy Haggis tour folk so expect to see lots of young folk about with phones... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again when you return on your next Highland adventure! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at Morags Lodge, which was used as the included accommodation in a Haggis Adventures tour. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Bridie (one of the Aussie staff who introduced us to the property and worked through out the establishment) was extremely helpful with assisting myself and my other tour members with special requirements. Good effort! keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your kind review. We are delighted you had a great stay with us - particular thanks for noticing that we take great care to cook our vegetables to perfection (nobody likes soggy veg!). We hope you had a great onward journey and will return at some point in the future. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Massive dorm rooms, clean large bathrooms. The communal area has a lounge, dining hall room and a in house bar. Great selection of whiskys and ales. Dinners were massive and great value for money. Breakfast was expensive for what it was. Cute town, down the street. Restaurants and ATM's not a long walk. Great for touring around Loch Ness

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed our spacious dorms and bathrooms as well as our meals and bar. We take on board your feedback about breakfast and would like to reassure you we are constantly looking for ways to improve our offering. We hope to see you again some day! More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We visited Morags Lodge as a stop over for a night on our way to our next destination. Morags is placed within a very scenic and idyllic area. The staff were very welcoming and we even had a little letter left for us incase we turned up after they had left! The room was of a good size, the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Jared - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and loved our awesome showers! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip and hope you had a happy onward journey. More 

Lille, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

This hostel is located in a beautiful part of the world and the staff are lovely people. The major downside to this hostel is that the rooms are really awful - they are small and hard to navigate around, the shower has unreliable hot water (which is a problem, considering how cold it usually is) and the wifi isn't very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that there were aspects of your stay you did not enjoy. One of the good things about our hostel is that all of our rooms are different layouts and different sizes, this allows us to cater for a wider number of rooming requirements. We are sorry that you did not like the room you were... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Morags as part of the Haggis Adventures. We were welcomed by a lovely staff memeber Julia. She made everyone feel very welcome and later organized a quiz and bar games for all. The rooms were spacious and the all important shower pressure after a day travelling was brilliant. The bar, located on site, was good prices, excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Nicole! We are delighted you enjoyed our infamous "Highland Hospitality" and our awesome showers -especially good after a day in the snow! More 

Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I, like most of the people on here, stayed here as part of the Haggis Adventure tour and I have no real complaints. We had a 4 person room, which had two sets of bunk beds (they were comfortable enough, even if I DIDN'T get the top bunk) and there was plenty of space in the room. The pillows were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Aaron, Thank-you for your review. We are glad that your stay with us was comfortable - opefully if you visit again you will get the top bunk next time! We are sorry the live music wasn't to your taste, we aim to provide live entertainment that appeals to a wide audience. If you have any further suggestions as to... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

I stayed here during my Haggis adventure tour for two nights. They turn the heat and hot off at night. They open the windows during the day for some reason. I came into a cold room, without heat. The shower was not draining so I asked if they could look at it. The front desk said they have a stopper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our heating system is indeed on a timer, timed to be on throughout the duration of our guests' stay with the exception of a few hours during the night when everyone is sleeping. This is standard practice and we are committed to operating sustainably. All rooms... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

If you are on a longer haggis tour this accommodation will probably be included. From a solo traveller point of view there were a couple of things which would make me stay elsewhere next time. Firstly I'm not a fan of mixed dorms. Also the communal areas are a bit short on space particularly if there are coach loads of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MoragsLodge, Manager at Morags Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feedback, we are happy you enjoyed our evening meal, bar, and a comfy and quiet sleep! We are a little confused by some of your other comments so would like to ask you to contact management@moragslodge.com with clarification so we can take the relevant steps to improve for future guests. We offer both mixed and single-sex dorms... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question