We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Drumnadrochit accommodations

Ancarraig Lodges

Ancarraig, Drumnadrochit IV63 6XG, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ancarraig Lodges to your Saves list
Ancarraig Lodges
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
66%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
dublinface1 dublinface1
  • Overview
  • Reviews (100)
  • Photos (62)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    15
    8
    13
See reviews for
37
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived through the drive with the fencing falling down, to the reception with a notice that the water was unsafe to drink because there was bacterial contamination, not a good start. The lodge was basic to say the least, glasses were cracked, cups were chipped, pans were dirty and overall the property was not cleaned properly but bedding and towels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dublinface1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long day of travelling we arrived to our lodge to find it clean and a welcome pack explaining everything we needed to know as well as a bowl containing tea, coffee and a few biscuits. There was water provided as there was a problem with drinking water and it was clearly stated that more would be provided upon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff are really nice. Just a shame that the place is really run down and basic for the money. Place felt like it needed a complete overhaul. If this place had some money spent on it, it could be fantastic. However, you can get so much more for less money in better locations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AncarraigManager, Manager at Ancarraig Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are working very hard to improve the park, hope you can come back when its completed. More

Dundee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having travelled all over Scotland and all over the world, this by far is one of the worst places I have stayed: 1 Damp 2 No drinkable tap water - bacteria laden 3 Replete with mould 4 Grounds delapatated 5 You have to pay for electricity by card 6 Rusty old swing and unsafe wooden seasaw 7 No view 8... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AncarraigManager, Manager at Ancarraig Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I was unaware you were not happy with your lodge, if you had let me know I would have been able to move you. I apologise for the water problem, but we are not on mains water & the borehole had dried up as we have not had much rain. We did of course supply... More

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a 3 night, weekend stay here for the end of July. Was searching for a holiday for a while and decided to book a lodge was we like to go self-catering, these lodges were the most reasonably priced on the Hoeseasons website. When we arrived there was a note on the reception window directing us to our lodge which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AncarraigManager, Manager at Ancarraig Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback. I do hope the water problem did not spoil your break too much. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed in these lodges for 3 nights, Yes the water went off BUT Tracey (site manager) came over to let us know, gave us a few water bottles (2 litres) to drink and explained there was a B and B if we needed to shower! Tracey could not have been nicer, she knew we didn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AncarraigManager, Manager at Ancarraig Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I know the water was a inconvenience & thank you for understanding. I am so glad you were able to enjoy your break with us. Come back soon. More

Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want peace and beauty this is the place for you. Views are amazing and is a walkers paradise. We spent a week here using it as a base to explore the highlands and relax, it is an ideal place to unwind. The lodges are 3 star as stated, are well equipped, comfortable and have all you need for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AncarraigManager, Manager at Ancarraig Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our lodges. I am glad you had an enjoyable time with us. More

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just home from spending the last four nights at the lodges. To be honest the lodges are not up to standard, they were built in the 70's and need a complete overhall to bring them up to date. they look lovely on the outside but don't be deceived. If you love watching the tv don't be surprised if you lose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AncarraigManager, Manager at Ancarraig Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry that your lodge was a disappoint. We did have a problem with the water and I know it was inconvenient but I did supply bottled water to drink and you did not have to buy your own. The shower water tank only holds enough water for a few quick showers, however... More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were here for one week during July (from Ireland). The lodges are lovely with a balcony, very private, with woods all around and a stunning sliver of a view of the Loch. Beautiful walks nearby on the Great Glen. If you go for a visit to the potter up the road - don't get coffee, it is dishwater, dreadful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tayport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have just returned from our mid-week break to Loch Ness and we were based at Ancarraig Lodges. The website was very honest and we had a good idea what we would be staying in but we were pleasantly surprised after reading a few bad reviews. In our oppinion the lodge (No. 7) that we stayed at was good, everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ancarraig Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ancarraig Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancarraig Lodges

Address: Ancarraig, Drumnadrochit IV63 6XG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ancarraig Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancarraig Hotel Drumnadrochit
Ancarraig Lodges Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set within 90 acres of secluded private parkland, Ancarraig Lodges comprise of twelve Scandinavian style lodges situated directly on the Great Glen Way in the hills high above Loch Ness, providing basic quality self-catering accommodation in a stunning countryside location while still being only 3 miles from the village of Drumnadrochit. Our lodges are open from March to October and provide the perfect location to relax and unwind in a secluded haven, as well as being the ideal base to explore Loch Ness and the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
2

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ancarraig Lodges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer