We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Durness B&Bs / inns

Aiden House

Save
You added Aiden House to your Saves list
Durine, Durness IV27 4PW, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Aiden House
Ranked #1 of 11 Durness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
139
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (203)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely, comfortable accommodation with fantastic views. A short walk to Smooth cave and local bar and restaurant. Alexandra and her husband were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We were so lucky to stay in this B&B. It is so comfortable, the view is breathtaking and Alexandra and her husband are such nice people, so helpful and warm-hearted. Thanks again for everything. The town is really nice too, the golf course is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying 2 nights at this stunning B & B. Our host Alexandra met us at the door and showed us to our room. Our room was on the 2nd floor, modern and spacious and with breathtaking views. Alexandra has a high standard of cleanliness, comfort and décor. We had satellite TV, free Wi-Fi and good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Very clean, well-maintained house that offered vegetarian haggis for breakfast with mushrooms, beans, eggs and tomatoes. Breakfast also included porridge, toast, and cereal. Host also had information on the ferry to Caithness. Wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a one night stay here last month and were extremely pleased with our room, the shower, the recommendations for food and hiking, and of course, Alexandra's breakfast and hospitality. From the minute we walked in, she was so helpful in planning what we could do and see in the area. The location is stunning as are the walks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Newly renovated house, spacious room, modern style, very nice place! We spent one night and it was great! We had a beautiful view from the second floor, surrounded by nature (and sheeps!). Breakfast was very generous and delicious (salmon was really good!). The owner gives you a lengthy list of rules at the beginning, but I guess it helps her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
midge5, Owner at Aiden House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our newly build home. Sorry if you felt their was rules in Aiden house. I do have a check in period and a check out time. I also state that Aiden house is a strictly no smoking accommodation & I don't won't cigarette tips to... More 

Chippenham, England
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Run by the delightful Alexandra, Aiden House is a purpose built B&B at the southern edge Durness with commanding views over the village and coast. This modern timber built property is furnished in a modern style to a very high standard. Rooms are spacious with great views and facilities. The only possible downside is at being at the far end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Spent one night here and were delighted with the accommodation. Everything was very high spec and beautifully done - except the blinds which we couldn't work ! Breakfast excellent, lovely fruit and kippers. Alexandra very helpful when my phone wouldn't work and made some calls for me. Good on other advice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orvault
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed by our host in this nice woodenhouse, with an elegant decoration. The breakfast was delicious with fresh Scottish salmon, probably the best smoked salmon we've ever had. The house is a bit noisy but the view it offers is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
midge5, Owner at Aiden House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Yes we are lucky to have amazing views out off every window. Scottish Salmon is beautiful , i'm glad you enjoyed it :-) Sorry to hear you had a noise issue at Aiden house, this I don't understand. Had you told me about this at time off checking out when I ask... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed one night and our room had a fantastic view out over the ocean on both sides Room was decent size as was the bathroom Alexandra is a wonderful host and. Very very helpful with bookings and making you feel at home Breakfast was very nice and plentiful with lots of lovely fresh fruit as well as all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
midge5, Owner at Aiden House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank your for your lovely review, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It was such a pleasure to met you & have you stay at Aiden House. Hope you enjoyed the rest off your holiday & hopefully met you again one day. Best wishes, Alexandra More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aiden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiden House

Address: Durine, Durness IV27 4PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Aiden House Durness, Scotland

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay