We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aiden House

Certificate of Excellence
Durine, Durness IV27 4PW, Scotland
Aiden House
Review This Hotel

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
139
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (204)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very warm welcome was received and a genuine warmth was felt throughout my stay, almost as though I was a family member. A great house situated on the outskirts of the village. The house boasts up to date facilities and contemporary decor, immaculately clean and tidy. You will wake up to great views and a great continental style or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Lovely, comfortable accommodation with fantastic views. A short walk to Smooth cave and local bar and restaurant. Alexandra and her husband were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Caen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We were so lucky to stay in this B&B. It is so comfortable, the view is breathtaking and Alexandra and her husband are such nice people, so helpful and warm-hearted. Thanks again for everything. The town is really nice too, the golf course is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying 2 nights at this stunning B & B. Our host Alexandra met us at the door and showed us to our room. Our room was on the 2nd floor, modern and spacious and with breathtaking views. Alexandra has a high standard of cleanliness, comfort and décor. We had satellite TV, free Wi-Fi and good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Very clean, well-maintained house that offered vegetarian haggis for breakfast with mushrooms, beans, eggs and tomatoes. Breakfast also included porridge, toast, and cereal. Host also had information on the ferry to Caithness. Wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a one night stay here last month and were extremely pleased with our room, the shower, the recommendations for food and hiking, and of course, Alexandra's breakfast and hospitality. From the minute we walked in, she was so helpful in planning what we could do and see in the area. The location is stunning as are the walks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Newly renovated house, spacious room, modern style, very nice place! We spent one night and it was great! We had a beautiful view from the second floor, surrounded by nature (and sheeps!). Breakfast was very generous and delicious (salmon was really good!). The owner gives you a lengthy list of rules at the beginning, but I guess it helps her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
midge5, Owner at Aiden House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our newly build home. Sorry if you felt their was rules in Aiden house. I do have a check in period and a check out time. I also state that Aiden house is a strictly no smoking accommodation & I don't won't cigarette tips to... More 

Chippenham, England
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Run by the delightful Alexandra, Aiden House is a purpose built B&B at the southern edge Durness with commanding views over the village and coast. This modern timber built property is furnished in a modern style to a very high standard. Rooms are spacious with great views and facilities. The only possible downside is at being at the far end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Spent one night here and were delighted with the accommodation. Everything was very high spec and beautifully done - except the blinds which we couldn't work ! Breakfast excellent, lovely fruit and kippers. Alexandra very helpful when my phone wouldn't work and made some calls for me. Good on other advice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orvault
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed by our host in this nice woodenhouse, with an elegant decoration. The breakfast was delicious with fresh Scottish salmon, probably the best smoked salmon we've ever had. The house is a bit noisy but the view it offers is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
midge5, Owner at Aiden House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Yes we are lucky to have amazing views out off every window. Scottish Salmon is beautiful , i'm glad you enjoyed it :-) Sorry to hear you had a noise issue at Aiden house, this I don't understand. Had you told me about this at time off checking out when I ask... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question