We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Stromness B&Bs / inns

Ferry Inn Stromness

Save Saved
You added Ferry Inn Stromness to your Saves list
10 John Street, Stromness KW16 3AA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (59)
  • Photos (19)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ranked #8 of 11 Stromness B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
24
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited two nights ago and the draught beer was only just adequate although the cocktails were good. The service was excellent though. But they need to do something about the draught Orkney Beer as they came perilously close to ruining what is otherwise excellent beer

Was this review helpful? Yes
thesh0re, Owner at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Sorry to hear this - I look after the cellar myself and we normally receive only compliments on our beers. We stock 4 local ales, each an award winner in its own right. At any time we will have two from Rob Hill, his Scapa Special is our staple and we rotate Orkney IPA and Island Hopping, and two from... More

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic place to stay! I stayed here for 3 nights while I was up in Orkney doing business and could not complain! Room was to a high standard and very spacious and had all the usual facilities. The restaurant had a fantastic menu that pleased all tastes and budgets and the atmosphere was great. The staff were all fantastic, all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Many thanks for your message and your high recommendations of our rooms and food. More

Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there with my wife and children on a maxi tour of he island. My 2 boys and I had the fish and chips which was ok I guess, and my daughter had a ceasar sald which she enjoyed. The issue I have with the place is that you are asked upon entering if you are with a tour, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your feedback from your visit to eat with us while part of one of the coach tours. We are pleased that you found the food and beer to your satisfaction. We do offer a separate menu for those on the coach tours. This is a slightly shorter menu where all of the dishes can be prepared... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night, but would happily return. The room was extremely comfortable: not luxurious, but with everything one could need (including a nice stash of biscuits!), and very quiet. Location is good (esp. convenient for the ferry), and the staff very friendly and welcoming. Very good (and filling) cooked breakfast too. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here one night in the Harbourside Annexe. First impression when the girl opened the door wasn't good as the stair carpet was really dirty at the bottom of the stairs and the whole place was dated and drab. The room faired slightly better and you could see an effort had been made to modernise it but it was still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comprehensive review. We appreciate the time that you have taken to give us your feedback. The price for the room was £90 per night B & B for 2 people staying in a twin room in the centre of Stromness. I am pleased that you found the room clean with good wifi and coffee making... More

Camborne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

recently stayed for one night only , room was comfy ,clean and well laid out . location of the hotel was spot on right in the centre of stromness . Beer was good and staff friendly and very helpful.would definatley stay again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your one night staying with us. Thank you for the lovely review. More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights as part of a pre-booked group. Room was in the annex, slightly dated but clean, quiet and with good free wifi. I personally found the bed a little uncomfortable but my friends had no such problems, so probably just me being fussy. Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in the evenings but breakfast was abundant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very easy, right in the middle of town, so the bar sometimes busy, but full of interesting local and travelling folk. Good beer, good food. Rooms were quiet and comfy, clean. We felt well looked after, very much at home. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Ferry Inn. You are right that there is a good mix of locals and folk from many parts of the world staying, eating and drinking with us. This makes it a very interesting place for us to work and we enjoy it very much! More

scotland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here recently for one night at short notice - nice room at the top of the building, not the biggest but very clean and comfortable. Excellent haddock and chips in the restaurant, good range of beer and whiskies. Staff all very helpful. Extremely convenient for the ferry and good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed at the Ferry Inn in March and April 2014 on business. Staff are friendly and very helpful, breakfast in room ready for early ferry out. Stromness traffic (!) is not a problem nor is the ferry idling overnight. The room was comfortable with the usual facilities, good value for money and excellent breakfast. Would happily go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ferry Inn Stromness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ferry Inn Stromness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Inn Stromness

Address: 10 John Street, Stromness KW16 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Also Known As:
Ferry Inn Stromness Hotel Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness Orkney Islands

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Stromness with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ferry Inn Stromness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer