We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Stromness B&Bs / inns

Ferry Inn Stromness

10 John Street, Stromness KW16 3AA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (55)
  • Photos (19)
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ranked #8 of 11 Stromness B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
24
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here one night in the Harbourside Annexe. First impression when the girl opened the door wasn't good as the stair carpet was really dirty at the bottom of the stairs and the whole place was dated and drab. The room faired slightly better and you could see an effort had been made to modernise it but it was still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comprehensive review. We appreciate the time that you have taken to give us your feedback. The price for the room was £90 per night B & B for 2 people staying in a twin room in the centre of Stromness. I am pleased that you found the room clean with good wifi and coffee making... More

Camborne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

recently stayed for one night only , room was comfy ,clean and well laid out . location of the hotel was spot on right in the centre of stromness . Beer was good and staff friendly and very helpful.would definatley stay again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your one night staying with us. Thank you for the lovely review. More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 6 nights as part of a pre-booked group. Room was in the annex, slightly dated but clean, quiet and with good free wifi. I personally found the bed a little uncomfortable but my friends had no such problems, so probably just me being fussy. Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in the evenings but breakfast was abundant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very easy, right in the middle of town, so the bar sometimes busy, but full of interesting local and travelling folk. Good beer, good food. Rooms were quiet and comfy, clean. We felt well looked after, very much at home. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Ferry Inn. You are right that there is a good mix of locals and folk from many parts of the world staying, eating and drinking with us. This makes it a very interesting place for us to work and we enjoy it very much! More

scotland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here recently for one night at short notice - nice room at the top of the building, not the biggest but very clean and comfortable. Excellent haddock and chips in the restaurant, good range of beer and whiskies. Staff all very helpful. Extremely convenient for the ferry and good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed at the Ferry Inn in March and April 2014 on business. Staff are friendly and very helpful, breakfast in room ready for early ferry out. Stromness traffic (!) is not a problem nor is the ferry idling overnight. The room was comfortable with the usual facilities, good value for money and excellent breakfast. Would happily go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helmsdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

1, Get the ferry to Stromness. 2.Book into Harbourside House via the Ferry Inn,the rooms are spotless and very comfortable. 3,The next thing to do is explore Orkney, 4,Return to Harbourside House and freshen yourself up. 5.Go out the front door and walk 30 yards and go into the Ferry Inn 6.Order your meal of your choice they are all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Three of us stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment of it, a minor hiccup with the water heating but as a Good Hotel should they sorted it out with out blinking an eye full marks for that, even tho it was not their fault hot water elements can blow at the most inconvenient times and i am... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
89 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Only called here for a coffee: espresso listed at £2.20 - OK, byt asked how much double espresso and was informed with deadpan expression and no further comment 'twice that price' Coffee-lover that I am, I refuse to pay £4.40 for a small cup of coffee, however good, and one which even Costa would have 'only charged about £2.90 for.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Although the rooms are out the back on a street they were well stocked with tea and coffee and were clean. Bed was only a double and was quite hard. Unfortunatley you could hear other people using bathroom and walking around. Food in the hotel was good and the staff were very helpful with forward bookings and printing out boarding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ferry Inn Stromness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ferry Inn Stromness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Inn Stromness

Address: 10 John Street, Stromness KW16 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Also Known As:
Ferry Inn Stromness Hotel Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness Orkney Islands

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ferry Inn Stromness to your Saves list