We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Stromness B&Bs / inns

Ferry Inn Stromness

Save
You added Ferry Inn Stromness to your Saves list
10 John Street, Stromness KW16 3AA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ranked #8 of 11 Stromness B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
24
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, Orkney is a fascinating place to visit. While there, I toured several of the prehistoric sites and highly recommend Skara Brae. I also took the ferry to the Isle of Hoy and hiked to the Old Man seastack, one of the most enjoyable experiences of my tour. The Ferry Inn at Stromness is convenient to all. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased to hear that you very much enjoyed your time in Orkney and that you particularly enjoyed your time in Stromness and your stay at the Ferry Inn. I will pass on your kind words to the staff. Please let us know if you ever get the chance to visit again. More

Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

My husband & I only had carry-on size luggage, so we had no problem with the stairs, but we saw other people having a hard time getting up the stairs with theirs. Our room was good, the food was good as well as the beer. Enjoyed the town and also took a bus trip up to Kirkland. We were blessed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed the whole experience of being in Orkney. For any future guests who would like a ground floor room please ask for a room in our hotel annex, Harbourside House. All of the rooms in the main hotel are accessed by a stair. The Ferry... More

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Directly opposite the Northlink ferry terminal, visitor information centre, bus terminal and the starting point of tours around Orkney, the Ferry Inn is an icon to visitors arriving via ferry and a magnet to locals who congregate at its pub for food, drinks and football matches. For a quieter stay, request for a room at the Harbourside House, an annexe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

David, Thank you for your review. I love that you call us an icon place to stay! It is good that you and your family have a great stay with us and that you also enjoyed our food. You travelled a long way to see us so I am really pleased that all went well for you. More

Aboyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Stayed for one night while working at a local business. Clean, comfortable room with adequate facilities and friendly staff, nice local Bar, bar meal was excellent and overall the stay was very good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. Really pleased to hear that the room and food were to a high standard. Also delighted to hear that the staff and service were of a high standard. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I visited two nights ago and the draught beer was only just adequate although the cocktails were good. The service was excellent though. But they need to do something about the draught Orkney Beer as they came perilously close to ruining what is otherwise excellent beer

Was this review helpful? Yes
thesh0re, Owner at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Sorry to hear this - I look after the cellar myself and we normally receive only compliments on our beers. We stock 4 local ales, each an award winner in its own right. At any time we will have two from Rob Hill, his Scapa Special is our staple and we rotate Orkney IPA and Island Hopping, and two from... More

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Fantastic place to stay! I stayed here for 3 nights while I was up in Orkney doing business and could not complain! Room was to a high standard and very spacious and had all the usual facilities. The restaurant had a fantastic menu that pleased all tastes and budgets and the atmosphere was great. The staff were all fantastic, all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Many thanks for your message and your high recommendations of our rooms and food. More

Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Went there with my wife and children on a maxi tour of he island. My 2 boys and I had the fish and chips which was ok I guess, and my daughter had a ceasar sald which she enjoyed. The issue I have with the place is that you are asked upon entering if you are with a tour, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your feedback from your visit to eat with us while part of one of the coach tours. We are pleased that you found the food and beer to your satisfaction. We do offer a separate menu for those on the coach tours. This is a slightly shorter menu where all of the dishes can be prepared... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here for one night, but would happily return. The room was extremely comfortable: not luxurious, but with everything one could need (including a nice stash of biscuits!), and very quiet. Location is good (esp. convenient for the ferry), and the staff very friendly and welcoming. Very good (and filling) cooked breakfast too. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you really liked the breakfast. Your kind comments are very much appreciated. More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here one night in the Harbourside Annexe. First impression when the girl opened the door wasn't good as the stair carpet was really dirty at the bottom of the stairs and the whole place was dated and drab. The room faired slightly better and you could see an effort had been made to modernise it but it was still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comprehensive review. We appreciate the time that you have taken to give us your feedback. The price for the room was £90 per night B & B for 2 people staying in a twin room in the centre of Stromness. I am pleased that you found the room clean with good wifi and coffee making... More

Camborne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

recently stayed for one night only , room was comfy ,clean and well laid out . location of the hotel was spot on right in the centre of stromness . Beer was good and staff friendly and very helpful.would definatley stay again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your one night staying with us. Thank you for the lovely review. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ferry Inn Stromness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Inn Stromness

Address: 10 John Street, Stromness KW16 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ferry Inn Stromness Hotel Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness Orkney Islands

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay