We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alona Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RT, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Alona Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Niels B Knutsford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    91
    24
    17
    11
See reviews for
61
74
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (269)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great value for money, great when on business but not sure it is so great for a romantic stay. The hotel is situated in a country park very close to the motorway, the area seem to have some kind of funfair in the summer. The hotel lack a more stylish bar area which seems to be a mixture of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in this hotel over night after spending the day at M&ds. The rooms and facilities were of a high standard. Breakfast in the morning was an amazing buffet that you could keep going back for more. Overall myself and family had a great stay and will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff, good parking, decent WiFi, large room, great location. 2 night business trip and it filled my requirements, food was dissapointing in the restaurant and expensive, breakfast was OK nothing exceptional. Not been back as plenty of hotels in the area of the same quality with better food and better prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have eaten here several times, for dinner and afternoon tea, the food has never disappointed, although the staff sometimes have! The afternoon tea is the best I have tried, and I have tried many. The portions are not skimpy and the sandwiches appear to be made to order, so I have never been disappointed! The kids love it, if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Killucan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

I have stayed here numerous times over the last two years and I have never once been disappointed. The staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are nicely decorated and immaculate. Breakfast is spot on! And once again this time I cant rate high enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lanark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went here for an over night after bowling and drinks. The staff at the main reception area were lovely and couldn't do enough to help! That being said the night staff were the complete opposite, rude and very unhelpful! The room was lovely and clean. We were lucky enough to have a room on view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We had never been before & was a last minute booking for a 2 night break. Customer service throughout excellent. Lovely hotel situated next to a loch, which makes it ideal for walkers / runners / water sports, & a theme park next door. Room was lovely and fully equipped with all essentials. Was not expecting our room to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at The Alona Hotel and we thank you for your very kind comments. Our chefs work hard and provide a delicious menu for our guests to enjoy. I am pleased that you have received your left items and look forward to welcoming you all again should you choose to stay with the... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

That I was a guest at Gordon C's wedding and would echo his comments. For me, the only slight problems were that the quality of the wi-fi was dreadful, and a young man behind the bar was very rude when questioned about the price of a glass of soda water. An apology from the manager would have been appteciated but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments and I'm glad that you enjoyed the wedding. It was a very happy occasion and we were delighted to be hosting the wedding. I am disappointed that you had some criticism for a member of staff that served you at the bar and I would of course apologise for this incident. Unfortunately I... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We stopped here last night for our wedding today. The staff were so helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. Gary on reception is a perfect example of what customer service should be. He could not do enough for us and was helpful whenever we had a request which was quite often. We would definitely recommend this place. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your kind comments and I am delighted that you found the staff helpful and willing to ensure you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to be hosting your wedding and we wish you and your bride a happy life together Kind regards Ian Donnachie General manager Alona Hotel More 

Sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Stayed here one night, an opted for this over the nearby Holiday Inn Express as I wanted a change from the norm. I was a little apprehensive on the approach to the hotel as I missed the turning and ended up near an amusement park with a big Ferris wheel, which was not what I was expecting from a country... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay at the Alona Hotel. I am pleased that you found the rooms spacious and clean and that you were pleased with your stay. I do note your point regarding the ales and should you wish your ale to be less cold then I am sure the staff would... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay