We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Motherwell hotels

The Alona Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RT, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Alona Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Alona Hotel to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
neverhomeAberdeen Aberdeen
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    73
    21
    16
    9
See reviews for
52
64
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Aberdeen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was concerned I had made the right choice driving up and seeing the amusements and big wheel next to the hotel! No worries phew there was no noise. Inside the hotel is top end of the everyday chain style hotels; modern, but with a bit more panache in the decor than premier, holiday, nova etc. Has wi-fi but didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PINNER, MIDDLESEX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to this hotel and we were not disappointed as the staff are even more friendlier than before. You just know when you enter a hotel by the way you are greeted by the staff whether you are going to have an enjoyable stay of not. Because I am disabled I asked for a few extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An excellent stay, the chef was able to cater for special dietary needs at short notice without compromising on quality. All staff very attentive. Made to feel special. Rooms were very well appointed and clean. Would highly recommend the breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thanks to the Alona Hotel for making my mum and dad's Diamond Wedding celebration a special day for our family and friends. Great venue , first class food and service from all the staff was friendly and efficient. They all made us feel very welcome and took care of it all for us. No hesitation in recommending the Alona .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here when attending the murder mystery night. The murder mystery was very good. The food was excellent. The room was lovely. Although, there seemed to be a problem with spiders (not good given I have a phobia)! There were many webs outside the window and lots of spiders in the room - including two big ones above the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just come home after a 3 night stay and it was our 2nd stay here. Hotel staff and service was excellent, the food in the restaurant in the evening was magnificent but on each of our 3 mornings the quality of the breakfast on offer was really poor. Most things were swimming in oil but the black pudding and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your very positive comments regarding the service and the quality of the food at evening dinner. I do regretfully note your comments regarding the breakfast and will ensure that the chefs responsible are made aware of this issue. I think this has been a one off however as i mentioned I will have this address.... More

United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stopped and stayed in this hotel when travelling to Glasgow. The check-in was efficient and rooms were clean and well maintained. We were very impressed with the quality of service and food of its restaurant. After the meal, we took a stroll around the hotel and were surprised by its surrounding. For a quiet walk, there is a beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for comments and we are pleased that you had a very enjoyable time during your stay at the Hotel. The Hotel is well situated and allows you to venture into the park for the ideal break from the pressures and stresses of every day life. Unfortunately during the summer months it is more difficult to control... More

Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Arranged to meet old friends for lunch and a catch up chat. The 4 of us were favourably impressed by the service, the quality of the food and the overall atmosphere. Situated on the edge of the Strathclyde Country Park, the hotel is in an accessible location close to the main motorway M74 without the noise. After eating, we spent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding the food quality and ambience of the Hotel. We have many guests like yourself that find it a convenient meeting place to catch up with your friends. We of course are delighted to welcome all our guests and if we can leave you undisturbed to right the world... More

Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great day & night had by all. Staff very friendly all through the wedding untill morning. I will come to that later. Meal was lovely and was hot could not fault it one bit. I would say if you are having a funtion here guard your drinks as, if you get up to dance your drink is removed from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann G Thank you for holding your wedding at the Alona Hotel and I am very pleased that your wedding was a great success. I also value your other comments and would advise that the waitress that you met at breakfast has left the Hotel and should never have said the things she did. As regards access to the... More

skipton
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were on a package trip to the Military Tattoo and the Alona was our designated hotel, We received a good welcome and were quickly checked in. Our room on the second floor overlooked the car park no problem there. It was a large twin room with a walk in shower.For the evening meal we chose the lentil and bacon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Do you own or manage The Alona Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Alona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Address: Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Alona Hotel

Enlarge Map