We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Motherwell hotels

The Alona Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RT, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Alona Hotel to your Saves list
The Alona Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
80%
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Colec3 Leeds, United Kingdom
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    65
    16
    16
    7
See reviews for
42
52
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Superior double room at the rear of the hotel - Business stay: Plus points: Modern decor and comfy bed. Wet room was well stocked with shower miniatures. Excellent service from the reception/restaurant staff. Fantastic food served by the on-site restaurant. Room was clean and tidy. Negative points: The room was far too warm even with all of the heaters switched... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your very positive comments regarding the standards and service you experienced in the Alona Hotel. We are very pleased that you found the food to be of good quality and the staff were friendly and efficient in the service they provided. We are sorry you were disturbed by the cars in the adjacent car park... More

Glasgow
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided to try here for lunch and just had a hunch it would be good. Good prices, friendly staff, lovely food and nice outlook on the loch. It was very difficult to find fault with any part of the experience and most certainly we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your very kind response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the alona Hotel. Strathclyde loch is a very beautiful spot and it is possible to let the world go by as you sit and look over the loch. Thank you for your visit and we trust that we will welcome you... More

Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend are just back from a night at this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised! The hotel and staff are lovely, the rooms are very clean and spacious and have everything in it you could possibly need!. The food in resteraunt is very yummy and very reasonably priced, there was also a band playing the night we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at The Alona Hotel. The swing band on a saturday night gives the restaurant a lovely ambience and is regularly commented on. The housekeeping team do a great job and keep the rooms immaculate so that our guests can be assured of the cleanliness of the rooms they... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My brother's wedding reception was held here in March. The place was decorated lovely, all the staff that I spoke to on the day were very helpful. The meal was very nice. The hotel rooms are a good size, beds very comfortable. The breakfast was buffet style, continental options and also a variety of hot items (full english) All in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write to tell us about your positive experience of attending your brother's wedding at the Alona Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience and that you found the staff to be helpful and polite as they went about their businesss. The Marquee is a great room to... More

Suffolk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When you first see the hotel it is not easy on the eye, a bit like a glass spaceship. However check in was relatively simple and the room (119) was on the ground floor at the far end of the corridor. The room it self was very nicely decked out(unfortunately a twin but that was all that was left so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments regarding the Hotel and the quality of food that we offer. We have good standards and try to enhance the customer experience wherever we can. The rooms are hot as the Hotel is well built and the insulation in the bedrooms is particularly good. I am suprised at your comments regarding the... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Alona Hotel 20th March - 21st March 2014. Was at the hotel at a friends wedding on November 2013 never stayed the night tho. But did on this occasion and the hotel is stunning the quality of rooms and service provided!! Staff are so welcoming and friendly! Stayed at a lot of hotels but none compared to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for your response to your experience at the Alona Hotel. We are very much a team and I trust that it comes across as we serve our guests. Weddings are our speciality and we take a pride in the quality of service and the personal attention that we bring to each function. Thank you... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

In the centre of Strathclyde Country park you will find the Alona Hotel. A beautiful setting and a nice change to stay in when working. The staff are friendly and remember you each day. The chef even went out and bought me Skimmed milk for the week... very impressive. The bedroom was clean, relaxing and homely. my only complaint was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

dear Guest Thank you for your comments and your idea about macaroon and irn bru is a really good one but I think we might have problems keeping the staff on a balanced diet. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and you found the Hotel to be a little different and identified as an independent. I am delighted with the... More

St hlens Merseyside
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I recently stayed at the Alona whilst I was on business trip. The rooms were great and well equipped with everything you need including a comfortable bed. I ate in the restaurant on 2 occasions as well as breakfast. The food was excellent every time and the staff were attentive. The only draw back is the proximity to the fairground... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your stay at the Hotel. We are always pleased to hear of guests who have enjoyed their stay and the quality of meals provided. I will pass your comments onto the staff concerned. Kind Regards Ian Donnachie General Manager Alona Hotel More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Alona for 1 night. We were checked in by a very professional young man from Argyll, from were we travelled. He made us most welcome and explained the hotel and its facilities in detail. We received a complimentary glass of wine and were shown our room. The room was very spacious and well equipped. As it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your very kind comments. Gary is very good at making the guests feel welcome and is quick to engage in conversation. I am pleased that you were satisfied with the standards of the Hotel and the spaciousness of the bedrooms. Thank you again for your comments. Kind Regards Ian Donnachie, General Manager, Alona Hotel More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have visited Alona 3 times in the last week as we were looking at it as a potential wedding venue. We have since booked it due to our experiences there. We were slotted in for dinner despite only booking it on valentines day. We were initially told it was fully booked, but when we mentioned that we had been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna Thank you for your very kind remarks regarding your experience with the staff at the Alona Hotel. It is important that first impressions are good and the event team and reception are good at making you feel welcome. Booking weddings are very important events and I am pleased you found the team you met to be helpful, informative... More

Been to The Alona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland
Address: Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.