We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alona Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RT, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Alona Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
lawvs70 Glasgow, United Kingdom
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    89
    24
    17
    11
See reviews for
60
74
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (266)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have eaten here several times, for dinner and afternoon tea, the food has never disappointed, although the staff sometimes have! The afternoon tea is the best I have tried, and I have tried many. The portions are not skimpy and the sandwiches appear to be made to order, so I have never been disappointed! The kids love it, if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Killucan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed here numerous times over the last two years and I have never once been disappointed. The staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are nicely decorated and immaculate. Breakfast is spot on! And once again this time I cant rate high enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lanark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I went here for an over night after bowling and drinks. The staff at the main reception area were lovely and couldn't do enough to help! That being said the night staff were the complete opposite, rude and very unhelpful! The room was lovely and clean. We were lucky enough to have a room on view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had never been before & was a last minute booking for a 2 night break. Customer service throughout excellent. Lovely hotel situated next to a loch, which makes it ideal for walkers / runners / water sports, & a theme park next door. Room was lovely and fully equipped with all essentials. Was not expecting our room to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at The Alona Hotel and we thank you for your very kind comments. Our chefs work hard and provide a delicious menu for our guests to enjoy. I am pleased that you have received your left items and look forward to welcoming you all again should you choose to stay with the... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

That I was a guest at Gordon C's wedding and would echo his comments. For me, the only slight problems were that the quality of the wi-fi was dreadful, and a young man behind the bar was very rude when questioned about the price of a glass of soda water. An apology from the manager would have been appteciated but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments and I'm glad that you enjoyed the wedding. It was a very happy occasion and we were delighted to be hosting the wedding. I am disappointed that you had some criticism for a member of staff that served you at the bar and I would of course apologise for this incident. Unfortunately I... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here last night for our wedding today. The staff were so helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. Gary on reception is a perfect example of what customer service should be. He could not do enough for us and was helpful whenever we had a request which was quite often. We would definitely recommend this place. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your kind comments and I am delighted that you found the staff helpful and willing to ensure you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to be hosting your wedding and we wish you and your bride a happy life together Kind regards Ian Donnachie General manager Alona Hotel More 

Sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here one night, an opted for this over the nearby Holiday Inn Express as I wanted a change from the norm. I was a little apprehensive on the approach to the hotel as I missed the turning and ended up near an amusement park with a big Ferris wheel, which was not what I was expecting from a country... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay at the Alona Hotel. I am pleased that you found the rooms spacious and clean and that you were pleased with your stay. I do note your point regarding the ales and should you wish your ale to be less cold then I am sure the staff would... More 

Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean and comfortable rooms. A little too hot and bathroom is basic. Room service wasn't a great standard and 1 member of breakfast staff a little unfriendly. However it is value for the money charged.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind remarks. The Hotel has been insulated really well and even with the heating down at low the rooms still maintain their heat and it is often mentioned that the rooms are warm. I am disappointed that you found one of the breakfast staff to be unfriendly as the staff are usually applauded for... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checked in on the 14 march for overnight and works dance had really good night. After the dance was talking to friends and other hotel guests in the reception area. When my friend and i were subjected to an unprovoked assault by drunk guest of the hotel, l sustained a head injury. Although the hotel staff standing by they made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent hotel. Incredibly warm welcome, and the friendliest staff I have come across. We got a complimentary glass of wine when we arrived. Bedrooms were large, exceptionally well decorated and of a much higher standard than I expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your very kind remarks. The staff are indeed friendly and will go out of their way to try to make your stay as good as possible. We are pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. we do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again soon. Kind regards Ian Donnachie General Manager... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question