We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Motherwell hotels

The Alona Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RT, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Alona Hotel to your Saves list
The Alona Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
80%
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
beethoven_ii Swadlincote, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (213)
  • Photos (24)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (40)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    71
    21
    16
    9
See reviews for
49
63
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Just come home after a 3 night stay and it was our 2nd stay here. Hotel staff and service was excellent, the food in the restaurant in the evening was magnificent but on each of our 3 mornings the quality of the breakfast on offer was really poor. Most things were swimming in oil but the black pudding and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped and stayed in this hotel when travelling to Glasgow. The check-in was efficient and rooms were clean and well maintained. We were very impressed with the quality of service and food of its restaurant. After the meal, we took a stroll around the hotel and were surprised by its surrounding. For a quiet walk, there is a beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for comments and we are pleased that you had a very enjoyable time during your stay at the Hotel. The Hotel is well situated and allows you to venture into the park for the ideal break from the pressures and stresses of every day life. Unfortunately during the summer months it is more difficult to control... More

Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arranged to meet old friends for lunch and a catch up chat. The 4 of us were favourably impressed by the service, the quality of the food and the overall atmosphere. Situated on the edge of the Strathclyde Country Park, the hotel is in an accessible location close to the main motorway M74 without the noise. After eating, we spent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your very kind comments regarding the food quality and ambience of the Hotel. We have many guests like yourself that find it a convenient meeting place to catch up with your friends. We of course are delighted to welcome all our guests and if we can leave you undisturbed to right the world... More

Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great day & night had by all. Staff very friendly all through the wedding untill morning. I will come to that later. Meal was lovely and was hot could not fault it one bit. I would say if you are having a funtion here guard your drinks as, if you get up to dance your drink is removed from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann G Thank you for holding your wedding at the Alona Hotel and I am very pleased that your wedding was a great success. I also value your other comments and would advise that the waitress that you met at breakfast has left the Hotel and should never have said the things she did. As regards access to the... More

skipton
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a package trip to the Military Tattoo and the Alona was our designated hotel, We received a good welcome and were quickly checked in. Our room on the second floor overlooked the car park no problem there. It was a large twin room with a walk in shower.For the evening meal we chose the lentil and bacon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Immingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Used this hotel as our base for two wonderful visits to the athletics at Hampden Park. We took a taxi to Motherwell station and the train to Glasgow city centre and then the shuttle bus to Hampden Park. All transport links ran smoothly. All staff in the hotel were very helpful and attentive. Room was clean and comfortable and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Herts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If we’d paid the standard room rate we would probably have been happy with the Alona, which has pleasantly furnished rooms and a reasonable restaurant and bar. It’s a fairly standard modern hotel (none of it is exquisite or beautiful!) set in the attractive Strathclyde Country Park. It’s just a pity that the owners had trebled the rates during the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
scotland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited on Sunday, hoping for afternoon tea or something like that. It was my mother's fourth day out of the house this year, so it was disappointing that we could not be accommodated in any way, as we had 2 well behaved clean dogs with us. We could have been served outdoors in the pouring rain, which wasn't very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Visitor Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Alona Hotel. We only have a policy of not allowing dogs into an area where their is food being served in doors. Unfortunately as the lounge area, the restaurant area and the kitchen are all open plan and merge one into the other, we have taken the... More

Cheshire,England
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
233 hotel reviews
348 helpful votes 348 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second time at the restaurant, I think it needs a name of it's own and would get near 100% on reviews as the quality of the food is superb and so unexpected at such a location. The restaurant has improved service since our last visit, still fresh and natural but more efficient and the pricing is good,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A family funeral saw the family (husband and two boys 15 & 12) heading for Glasgow on short notice. We came across this hotel on tripadvisor and gave them a call where, on hearing about the reason for the trip, they offered us a discount on the room price. They also gave good advice on how many could fit in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Alona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Alona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Address: Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Motherwell with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Motherwell #5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell #5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
51

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The Alona Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Alona Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer