We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brisbane House Hotel

Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8NF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Brisbane House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Largs
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ecka6 north east england
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    73
    67
    38
    15
See reviews for
49
118
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (281)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just spent 4 nights at the hotel whilst visiting family in the area and it was not a great experience. My overall impression was one of indifference, the staff seemed bored and the bedroom was shabby. Downstairs the bar and restaurant were ok but the service was very poor. On the first morning there was no bread or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
north east england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was booked for me and a couple of colleagues as we had a business trip at this location. There was ample parking and the entrance to the hotel was modern and had an open seating area outside which would be great on a summers evening. Check in was straight forward and quick and we were allocated rooms on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUMBARTON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night 10/4/15.Stayed on an Itson deal no complaints quick check in second floor room(202) nice sea views room was a wee bit dated but fine clean and fresh dinner was good three course very filling the steakpie surf and turf(Johnny knows what I mean lol)was spot on we had a good night's sleep and a very satisfying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a recent late booking we arrived the hotel with a wedding in full swing. The receptionist very kindly upgraded us to a beautiful room with a terrific sea view so that we would not be disturbed by the celebrations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 05,04,2015. daughter booked my wife and i an overnight stay here,with dinner and breakfast through it is on.had a rear facing room booked,so very nice on arrival to be given a free upgrade to a sea view room.nice touch.the room itself was a bit tired looking,the trek up 2 flights of stairs to the room,was very tiring.room furniture was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night with an itison deal which was excellent value. The entrance to the hotel is really nice with the sparkly floor tiles and chandeliers and the welcome at reception was good. (Replacing the mat at reception should be a priority though). The hotel room was disappointing - it was very tired. We had upgraded to a seaview... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brisbane hotel looks ok from the road and thats what made us book a weekend break.when we booked in we could see that all was not what it seemed as the carpets looked worn and patched, and it really could do with a lick of paint.the room we got was a seaview one, it was nice but again the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this review

Steve036 Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. I am glad that our "squeaky floorboards" did not detract to much from your overall stay.. I am happy that you enjoyed your meal and breakfast. Regards Martin Scollay More 

Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival the staff were very helpful we paid extra for a seaview room which I would recommend, the room was spacious with a very modern bathroom suite although the decor could have been better as a bit tired. They have a wide choice of meals on offer at very competitive prices. The quality of the food is consistently good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this review

Jimmydeeski Many thanks for your kind review of your stay with us Martin Scollay More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night as an itison deal, upgraded to an "executive" room for an extra £22. Having never stayed in the hotel before, wasn't sure what to expect, however the outside and reception area looked nice so our expectations were high, unfortunately the rooms, food and service let the hotel down. On arriving we were "welcomed" by the receptionist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this review

George M Please accept my apologises for the poor customer service received during your stay with us, I am, however, glad that a couple of gems that shone through notably Pauline (reception) and Alasdair (restaurant). The individuals mention in your review have been dealt with. In our industry customer service is vital for survival. I do however feel that £91... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Received a nice welcome and a glass of prosecco brought to our room was a nice touch. The room was very large and clean with a sea view. We enjoyed a good meal and Susie was pleasant and helpful. We were given a complimentary upgrade and would return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad that we were able to provide you with a complimentary upgrade and that you enjoyed both the accommodation and food during your stay. I have passed your kind word onto Suzie. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question