We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Largs B&Bs / inns

St Leonards Guest house

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Irvine Road, Largs ka30 8jp, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added St Leonards Guest house to your Saves list
St Leonards Guest house
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
99%
Ranked #3 of 24 Largs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
joyce l Accrington, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (124)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
61
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only spent 2 nights at this superior guest house. Mary and John made us feel very welcome and the breakfast was second to none. The room was en suite and everything was clean and tidy. It was only a couple a minutes walk from the town centre. I would certainly recommend it to any one and if we are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stirling Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent location - near railway station and centre of town and also for the ferry to get over to Cumbrae. Great breakfast, room large and very clean, good host , comfortable bed, and I cant think of any faults. I have stayed in many guest houses and this is up at the top

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a week here while attending the Commonwealth Games. Extremely hospitable hosts in Mary and John, with excellent breakfast and very pleasant room - mine wasn't en suite but the shared bathroom was very clean and well stocked with toiletries. Only a few minutes from centre of Largs, with spectacular views to the islands, and ease of access to the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
stleonardsguesthouse, Owner at St Leonards Guest house, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you found all aspects at St Leonard's worthy of 5 stars. You are spot on when you say we are a great base to see both town and countryside of the west coast as we are 40 mins from Glasgow on the train. So pleased you found found it easy... More

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I spent one night at St Leonards a few weeks ago when we attended a wedding in Largs and I would like to highly recommend all aspects of this guesthouse. It is easy to find on the main road and is very convenient for the main attractions. The guesthouse is beautifully maintained with lovely gardens and spotless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stleonardsguesthouse, Owner at St Leonards Guest house, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comment's regarding your stay here at St Leonard's Guest house. Your recommendations are very much appreciated and we look forward to meeting you on your next trip down memory lane. More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sorry for late review due to family crisis. My Husband and I arrived late one evening in Largs, and where extremely Lucky to find this Gem, in a great location, we were greeted by Mary and shown the available room which was beautiful, clean, comfortable with an upto date ensuite it had twin beds which were extremely comfortable, next morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stleonardsguesthouse, Owner at St Leonards Guest house, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your recent review. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the service you received. As far as we are concerned it is all about you, the guest, and what we can do to make your stay enjoyable. I am sorry we could not offer you both another night's stay as we were fully... More

Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have spent a very enjoyable week in the company of Mary & John at their excellent guest house accommodation here on the west coast of Scotland. The location was very convenient for all local services we required. Our room was very clean and provided all we needed, unfortunately an en-suite was not available at the time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stleonardsguesthouse, Owner at St Leonards Guest house, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our Guest House. John and i are delighted that you enjoyed your stay during the Commonwealth games in Glasgow and your kind recommendations are much appreciated. So pleased you and Pauline enjoyed your trip to Mount Stewart House on the Island of Bute, it was a fantastic day for a sail and it... More

canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent location, very near town centre, train station and restaurants. Just a five minute walk to town. Hosts Mary and John were very welcoming, and so kind and very helpful in solving a medical issue. Breakfasts were delicious, accommodation was great, ensuite was modern and very clean. We highly recommend this guest house. We thoroughly enjoyed our five day stay.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stleonardsguesthouse, Owner at St Leonards Guest house, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your 5 day stay here recently. John and i feel it is our job to help our guest's should a problem arise so, it was no trouble to do all we could to assist with the medical issue that occurred with your husband at the time. We are glad... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay. Very helpful hosts, excellent breakfast. We would have no hesitation recommending St Leonard's Guest House. The accommodation is very well positioned to explore Largs

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
stleonardsguesthouse, Owner at St Leonards Guest house, responded to this review

Thank you Steve and Yvonne for the fab recommendations. Glad you loved our breakfast's - most important meal of the day so it has to be good. Best wishes to both of you. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here recently in the Double ensuite . Very good value for money. We were told room was small by our hosts, but actually is was adequate, especially at the price. Room was clean and everything worked as it should. Nice modern & clean shower room and toilet. Hosts were friendly, helpful and cooked a great Scottish breakfast. Excellent location,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stleonardsguesthouse, Owner at St Leonards Guest house, responded to this review

Very good value for money was a good comment to make on your delightful review as our aim is to give our guest's their money's worth and make their stay enjoyable, so thank you for telling us that we are getting it right. More

paris
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The owners, Mary and John always made sure that we feel at home. Very helpful and positive. Breakfast was great. One thing that they should improve is the quality of internet, it was very poor. and providing hairdryer can improve quality of services

Was this review helpful? Yes
stleonardsguesthouse, Owner at St Leonards Guest house, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on your stay here during the football coaching course. We have hair dryers in all our rooms so we would have been only to pleased to show you where the hair dryer was if you had come to us especially as you were here for 10 days. The other footballers on the coaching course met... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage St Leonards Guest house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to St Leonards Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Leonards Guest house

Address: 9 Irvine Road, Largs ka30 8jp, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Leonards Guest house 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your St Leonards Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Leonards Guest House Largs, Scotland

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St Leonards Guest house is situated only a few minutes walk from the beautiful seaside town of Largs with the ferry terminal to the Island of Cumbrae and the railway station to Glasgow very nearby.We have off road parking and free Wi-fi. Tv,Tea and coffee in all rooms. Special diets catered for.Prices from £28 pppn ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St Leonards Guest house staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer