We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Anstruther B&Bs / inns

Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bankwell Road, Anstruther KY10 3DA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel to your Saves list
Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
41%
Ranked #12 of 15 Anstruther B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Larsonsmummy Aberdeenshire
  • Overview
  • Reviews (177)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (45)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    49
    49
    38
    20
See reviews for
25
96
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose the Craw's Nest in Anstruther to enable us to explore all the wee harbours around the East Neuk of Fife. This hotel was excellent for our needs – by that I mean we are usually out all day until we return for a drink and dinner. So although the size of our room in the hotel annex was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Larsonsmummy Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that you were made welcome and felt comfortable throughout your stay and hope that you will come if you visit the area again. Kind regards Mike Sheffield - Director More

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very helpful lady was on reception when we checked in but our optimism was soon dashed when we saw our room - it was pokey, had unattractive and passé décor (which continues throughout the hotel) and outdated fittings in the equally pokey en-suite bathroom. There were threadbare carpets on the staircase and a depressingly jaded 1970s feel to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jean S I am sorry about the issues you encountered at breakfast and will certainly be discussing the points you have raised with the Hotel Manager. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay. Kind regards Mike Sheffield - Director More

Burntisland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just back from a one night sunday saver.Very good value for money.Food good.Had one complaint which was quickly sorted.We had checked into room 7 and all was ok.Room fine.We went out and came back 2hrs later to the sound of extractor fan from kitchen.It was a constant hum, not overly loud but very annoying.Asked Lorraine on reception if we could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear linda t Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay even if it was only a short one, hopefully next time it will be for a little longer and maybe for one of our dinner dance weekend breaks. Kind regards Mike Sheffield - Director More

home
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

---- for 2 days dinner B&B-- check in was good although our rooms weren't quite ready, we were allocated rooms 46 & 47 in the annexe, just a short walk from the main building, rooms were quite small but perfectly functional- except the clocks don't work one room had tissues 1 never. We had lovely views over the Forth. rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janiceHome thank you for your lovely review of your stay. We are very lucky to have the garden space, it is a beautiful spot especially when the sun shines. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Mike Sheffield - Director More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Booked this hotel on a recommendation...the sign outside even proclaims the hotel as world famous. Found the hotel to be very old fashioned and in need of refurbishment. While the bedroom was clean it desperately needed refurbishment......furniture very outdated and wallpaper peeling from the wall. Didnt eat dinner in the hotel, breakfast was average. The hotel is in a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear neil b Thank you for your review of your stay. Unfortunately we do not have wifi available in the bedrooms, only the public areas. And although we don't have swimming pool here at the Craws, our sister hotel The Best Western Queens Hotel in Perth does have full leisure facilities. Kind regards Mike Sheffield - Director More

Crail, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you judge the hotel on how friendly it was and how clean then its a winner but unfortunately its in the 50s , the breakfast tasted of cheap produce and the fish was full of bones. There is better for the same price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jk99999 I am surprised to read you comments regarding the food. We only use quality produce from a local butchers for our breakfasts which we are often complimented on, and our fresh locally caught fish is our best seller, I can only assume that you were unfortunate on this occasion and hope that you mentioned this at the time... More

Essex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Anstruther is a beautiful & popular place & we found it difficult to get a last minute b&b so plumped for the Craw's Nest. Whilst the receptionist was welcoming, friendly & helpful, the rest of our experience was fairly poor. Decor is very dated & I thought price was steep. No wi-fi in our room, extremely small tv & a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lizzylee97 Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I apologise for the issues you found with your room, I have asked the hotel manager to check the rooms to find the one with the cracked sink and have it looked at. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards Mike Sheffield - Director More

AYR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the Craws after an absence of twelve years. It must be admitted that it is looking tired, but we enjoyed a suite, which was rather fortunate as the bedroom was rather small and was short of drawer-space. However the small lounge made a great difference. The Staff could not be faulted and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hamilton 2000 Thank you for reviewing your short break with us. I am glad to hear that the staff made you feel welcome, we are very proud of our staff. Keep an eye on our website for special short break deals over the coming months. Kind regards Mike Sheffield - Director More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff in hotel and restaurant. Stayed for 1 night and didn't eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was very nice with a mix of buffet and table service. Bedroom and bathroom were very clean if dated. In fact, the hotel has a dated feel but the food and staff make up for this. Very quiet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ilovetravel1967 Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Craws Nest Hotel. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay even if it was so short. Hopefully we shall see you again soon, hopefully you will be able to stay a little longer next time. Kind regards Mike Sheffield - Director More

Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Nestled in the quaint, picturesque seaside town of Anstruther, The Craw's Nest was an excellent choice of hotel for a three-day business trip. Highly attentive, approachable, friendly staff and a fantastic restaurant menu to boot; albeit gravitating towards the slightly expensive side. I would personally recommend the Gravadlax and ribeye steak although other members of our party tell me the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MikeSheff, Owner at Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear liamsumsion Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad to hear that we impressed you and your party with our food, Chef will be very pleased to hear it. Kind regards Mike Sheffield - Director More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel

Address: Bankwell Road, Anstruther KY10 3DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craws Nest Anstruther
Craws Nest Hotel Anstruther
Symphony Craw's Nest Hotel Anstruther, Scotland - Fife

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
50

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer