We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Gifford B&Bs / inns

Goblin Ha' Hotel

Main Street, Gifford EH41 4QH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Goblin Ha' Hotel to your Saves list
Goblin Ha' Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
65%
Ranked #4 of 4 Gifford B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    43
    20
    15
    9
See reviews for
10
73
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

If you are looking for a relaxing few days I would highly recommend this hotel, friendly staff, cracking log fires and a great garden to relax with a pint if the sun is out, you will just have a great time village not a lot to do if you enjoy the outdoors nice for a walk , anyway don't take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

visited last year and had no complaints. Accepted that this was an old building and the room was OK bed was comfortable and food was fine. Returned for second visit with an Itison voucher and were put in room 6 - what a dump! There was no nowhere to hang clothes except for two hooks and two hangers. You could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this review

Oh dear. MargaretJ, you chose to stay in a country pub and I really wish you had at least had a look at our website before buying your deal. As you are aware, the "thumping" music was not from a staff bedroom but from the lounge bar......you can down to complain at 9.30pm and I turned it down from an... More

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Goblin Ha' a couple of weeks ago for the weekend and we were really delighted with it. The rooms were modern and very clean. We had the bigger room (room 7) as we had our little one in with us but my parent's room, which was smaller was equally nice. We didn't spend much time in... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for your great review........we try not to be hidden and are really chuffed that you found us and enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Grant More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an impromptu night in Gifford and could not have come across a better place, enjoyed a beautifully homemade dinner with fab service then after dinner drinks, decided to stay over and the room was fantastic value for money. And then a really well cooked good quality breakfast with local produce served by the cosy fire by friendly team. Can't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, you don't need an excuse, you deserve another break already! If you prefer a bath, please request room 5 next time and we'll do our best to fit you in. Many thanks for your comments, hope to see you again very soon. Regards Grant More

Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here a couple of nights while working locally. Rooms and corridors etc are quirkily decorated, clean and equipped enough to get by. Not great if you've much work to do at night & no O2 signal at all, maybe that's a good thing? Bar & restaurant welcoming, good selection of ales and two wood burning stoves create a homely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Peter, many thanks for your review. The Goblin is a bit quirky and we don't get too many businessmen staying so tend not to focus on work stations etc. Mobile signal can be weak depending on your network but as you say that has its good and bad points... Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Grant More

Carshalton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It,s hard to know where to start with this review, the room was warm,spotlessly clean,roomy with the most comfortable bed yet found in a .hotel, a large bathroom with a bath and over bath shower with plenty of hot water.The large restaurant had 2 log fires and nothing was too much for the busy staff, the menu was comprehensive and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sheila b, many thanks for your review - it was a pleasure to look after you and the other guests we had staying with us over the last week. Our team genuinely work hard to try to make everyone feel at home and we are really chuffed that you appreciated it. Hope that you will find the time to... More

Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second visit to this hotel in five months. It has a charm far In excess of any modern clinical hotel! It more than makes up for the creaky stairs with the extremely pleasant staff and management. Breakfast beside the log fire was exceptional as was the service from all staff. The village of Gifford is charming. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this review

Helllo! You can come back anytime you like......we love your feedback! We're really pleased that you get what the Goblin ha' is all about.....character, friendly ambience and good freshly prepared food served by genuine and friendly people. See you soon. Regards Grant More

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I needed to extend my stay in this area due to work overrunning and the local guest house I was staying in was fully booked, a local colleague recommended the Goblin. I made a booking over the phone for that night, I informed the person that I'd be arriving late (10pm) and asked what time they stopped serving food (9pm)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Smokey2010, it's great to read your feedback and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Goblin Ha'. We do try to accommodate guests as best we can so staying open late for food is run of the mill for us! Hope to see you back again soon. Regards Grant More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the goblin for 2 nights. From the start the service was great, friendly staff all keen to help, room was fab, great size and very clean. We took our dog with us (small charge), and I was expecting a shabbier room (as has been the norm) but I was really impressed with the room. People have slated the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sledgy, many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Goblin Ha'...we're really thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are of course correct, Gifford is a fantastic village with lots of character that rubs off on the Goblin Ha'. Our regular guests are fantastic and we all try our very best to please... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed in a 3 Star Hotel in Romania last week that was much better than this, no disrespect. Where do I start, this is certainly no Scottish Hotel, firstly I went to pay my evening average meal and the manager had added my room rate to the bill without asking. I retired to my room to find the TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this review

Matt, many thanks for taking the time to write. No disrespect but, it appears that as a worldwide traveller you had anticipated a Marriot hotel. You made a last minute reservation which would explain your cold room, however, a central heating radiator with thermostat and an electric heater as back up would have warmed the room within 30 minutes. The... More

Been to Goblin Ha' Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goblin Ha' Hotel

Also Known As:
Goblin Ha' Hotel Gifford, East Lothian
Address: Main Street, Gifford EH41 4QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gifford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gifford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goblin Ha' is a warm and inviting country inn with seven comfortable bedrooms. The two bars are full of character with log burning fires and great friendly service serving a selection of real ales, beers, spirits and wines.Our varied menu contains something for everyone and is freshly prepared to strict guidelines and recipes by our team of chefs using only Scottish assured beef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Freetobook and Priceline so you can book your Goblin Ha' Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goblin Ha' Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.