We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Ballymena hotels

Adair Arms Hotel

1 - 7 Ballymoney Road, Ballymena BT43 5BS, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Adair Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Adair Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
72%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
merseybankman scotland
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
34
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice building & very central location. All the staff where friendly and helpful. Car park wasn't to easy to find. The broken barrier at the car park entrance and signs of neglect there where not very reassuring. The bedroom was a little bit on the small size but nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom was so small you couldn't swing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
N. Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ate lunch here a few months ago and wasn't impressed, Id been before and it wasn't great but decided to try it again. Decide on a nice pork dish from the menu and ask for mash potato with it only to be told that they only do champ. I don't like champ so the waitress said she would ask chef... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alessandria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I did not like this hotel for several reason: - fitted carpet everywhere (the room had a bed smell) - not enough sun light in the room (widow very small) - terrible mattress, we can feel the hard springs pressing on the back - no water pressure in the shower - breakfast not for people that doesn't like salted breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bridgene, General Manager at Adair Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel, as it is only through customer feedback we can improve our services to our customers. We offer free unlimited Wifi throughout the hotel and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed this benefit of staying with us. I am sorry however to hear that your stay was disappointing... More

Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family had booked 4 rooms for a 3 night stay due to a family wedding nearby. We found staff most helpful and pleasant, with excellent service in both bar and restaurant where we ate on two occasions along with breakfast on 3 mornings. Food was very good with an extensive menu. Breakfast varied between individual orders for cooked items,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel, comfortable room and very friendly staff, very low water pressure so i ended up running a bath instead as the shower was not great, no drama though. Nice sized bed and the room was very quiet. I had the cooked breakfast which was very good, nice sausages in particular, the breads were also very good. Cannot comment on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fowey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were great, so helpful and welcoming at all times, afternoon tea also a bonus! Showers in the rooms are absolutely appalling, no pressure in either of our rooms (207 & 211). We resulted in washing our hair (in preparation for a wedding) over the sink. Room was of good size and very clean though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night at the start of March with friends. I had been here once before at a wedding and really liked the big staircase as you came in the front door; made the hotel feel really grand. However someone has refurbished since then and this has been removed to be replaced with a bar. The main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This was well-located for my business and the rooms were comfortable and quiet. Water pressure was too low with a poor shower and non-flush loo. Breakfast was disappointing with left over fruit, every thing else from a packet or mass produced. Despite a large menu, supper was not very good and everything smothered in processed sauces of some kind. Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were there with family for a special evening and the meal was very good. The staff new who we were there with and made everyone welcome . brought any extras without an issue and the food was excellent. The restaurant was pretty busy but service was good and would go back . Maybe a bit old fashioned for some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donaghadee, Northern Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed for a night last week with friends - rooms were nice and were well equipped. Breakfast was a bit disappointing due to a lack of staff I would say - hotel was very busy on sunday morning yet there was only 2 members of staff on duty to attend to tables with tea/coffee and toast etc. The brown sauce... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Adair Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adair Arms Hotel

Also Known As:
Adair Arms Hotel Ballymena, Northern Ireland
Address: 1 - 7 Ballymoney Road, Ballymena BT43 5BS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Ballymena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1846, the Adair Arms Hotel has proudly stood in the centre of the popular and busy town of Ballymena. The hotel was originally built by Sir Robert Adair and was designed by Sir Charles Lanyon, who was responsible for many well known buildings in Northern Ireland, such as the prestigious Queen’s University in Belfast. Illuminating the character of yesterday and capturing the ambiance of today, the Adair Arms Hotel offers 41 luxurious bedrooms, 6 conference and banqueting suites, a coffee bar, public bar and serves an extensive grill menu all day everyday in the Adair Grill. Guests can avail of free carparking, unlimited free Wifi access and enjoy live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday Night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Adair Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adair Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.