We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballygally Castle

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ballygally Castle
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    185
    75
    43
    29
See reviews for
140
342
11
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (721)
  • Mar-May only
    (190)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (203)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (211)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I had our wedding reception here in the horrendous cold and snow in Dec 2010 and as such our guest list numbers kept changing up until a few hours before we arrived for our reception. Along with the flowers for the tables and name settings not arriving until we did due to the weather it was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My mother and I recently visited Ballygally Castle hotel for standard afternoon tea (£15pp) as my mother had received a gift voucher and she wanted to treat me as well. They do a Game of Thrones tea as well (£18pp). We booked our table for 2:30pm mid-week. When we arrived in the restaurant we stood for a good 5 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped off here on drive round the coast for a coffee. Wasn't overly busy but service seemed bit on the slow side. Coffee, when it eventually arrived, wasn't terribly hot. Ladies toilets nowhere near standard of those in Europa which are always immaculate. One of 4 was out of order and another was stuffed with toilet paper. Having been to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NormanMcBride, Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review

Dear Blanca N, Many thanks for your review, Thank you very much for highlighting the issues, at Ballygally Castle we take all feed back seriously and use it to help with our training and development of both our people and product. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our Bar & Housekeeping Managers so that they may... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed overnight for the wifes birthday the hotel itself and the rooms beautifully presented with plently of history the views outstanding,the only problem for me was the food although very well presented it was a bit bland for starters i had the ribs which came as small squares with a bitter sauce very unusual next came the fish and chips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NormanMcBride, Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review

Dear copperpipe Many thanks for your review, I am glad you found you bedroom beautifully presented and with great views. I am disappointed you found the food to be a bit bland, I will pass your comments on to our Head Chef so that he may look into this. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our wedding reception in the Ballygally hotel on the 16th March and cannot thank the staff enough for a wonderful day. The Ballygally hotel is a stunning place with amazing scenery, the sea view and the beautiful gardens are perfect for photographs. The hotel looked fantastic with the recent renovations and have to say we where taken back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NormanMcBride, Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review

Dear Catrina & Michael, Many thanks your lovely review, We were honored to be a small part to your fabulous day and are very pleased you had a fantastic day! I will be sure to pass this on the team. Warmest Regards More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had high tea with my two neices today, it was lovely from the presentation to the quality and the excellent service. Catherine was particularly attentive offering a fantastic service with a smile. She's a credit to the hotel indeed. I throughly enjoyed the exquisite delights and my neices were also delighted with the choice. I would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NormanMcBride, Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review

Dear Sightseeing27, Many thanks for your lovely review, We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us in our Garden Restaurant, Many thanks for your lovely comments about Catherine, I will be sure to pass these on. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Warmest Regards More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here over the Easter weekend as I was working a wedding with my partner. Although I didn't really get to experience it as a guest what I did experience I loved. From the moment you step through the doors it's relaxing. The plush seating, the smells, the music. If your looking to get out of the city for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NormanMcBride, Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review

Dear Dougal_2010 Many thanks for your lovely review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found your bedroom to be very comfortable with a great view. I will be sure to pass on your comments to all the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Warmest Regards More 

Stoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just back from an overnight stay for a wedding reception...... it was memorable for two reasons........ the faulty towers type reception and poor service of a good meal could have ruined the day but the couple, company, ceremony, speeches, setting and weather overcame this and we had an almost perfect day..... NO thanks to the hasting group....

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NormanMcBride, Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review

Dear Ireland262014 Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am sorry you did not get to experience us at our best however it is very rare we receive negative feedback regarding our weddings here at the Castle. I would like to look into this further, If you could email me directly at conf@bgc.hastingshotels.com... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

room 103 was dark, dull and uninviting.for the price we paid we expected a room a lot more luxurious.layer of dust on headboard. dining - service was slow,food was lovely.Hotel no atmosphere, no entertainment, cost too much. not be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
NormanMcBride, Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review

Dear Tracy B, Many thanks for your review, I am disappointed you found our newly refurbished Coastal Deluxe Bedroom dull and uninviting, these have just been added to the hotel last April 2014 during our major refurbishment scheme. Most guests are very surprised by the large space of these rooms, including a separate bath and shower, large work desk and... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Being offered a "wedding rate" set an expectation that I was getting a better than normal deal. In fact, their wedding rate means they charge you an extra 50% more for the privilege ! I could have booked a normal rate the day before and saved a fortune. Room was OK, the cleaning was very average and basic things like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NormanMcBride, Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review

Dear James W, Many thanks for your review, Our wedding's are normally booked one to two years in advance, we do offer a preferential rate for guests attending a wedding and these bedroom reservations are guaranteed bookings with an early check in. Bedroom prices do change according to availability. Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

252 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (208)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
0:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question