We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turnstones Bed and Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
6 Ventnor Road | Fortuneswell, DT5 1JE, England
Turnstones Bed and Breakfast
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
51
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Immaculate room with great facilities and a sea view to top it off. Also holds the title for the best cooked breakfast I've ever had in a B&B! Janet and Ian were very friendly and catered well for my stay. I would highly recommend Turnstones to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llanarmon-yn-Ial, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We booked at the last minute for a business trip which was not a problem with Janet and Ian where they given us a very warm and friendly welcome. The price was £50 pppn and the quality and high standard of the room was fantastic. Very spacious, warm and en suite was awesome. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed for one night at Turnstones at the end of October and found a wonderfully warm welcome from Janet and Ian. Room was lovely, large and elegantly decorated with a great view over the sea. All spotlessly clean, large and comfortable iron frame bed. Spent a lot of time chatting with Janet and Ian, who are very knowledgable about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We booked into this B&B for a two night stay. Booking with the owners Janet and Ian via email/phone was straight forward. On arrival we had a very warm welcome "like home from home" The property was beautifully decorated throughout, with a very high standard of cleanliness. We were shown to our room, top floor with en-suite, which more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moreton, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a warm welcome from the owners I have been to Portland before and payed a higher price for a room and was surprised at the high level of the room for the £50 per night I had payed out I had a lovely sleep and proceed to go down stairs and again was greeted with a warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed for one night at Turnstones for a wedding. It was just what we needed. It is very clean and comfortable. Janet and Ian could not have been more welcoming and friendly - Ian helped us with our bags and Janet helped us get a taxi to the venue. We had a good night's sleep and the breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We had chance to stay for just one night at Turnstones last month and we were extremely impressed! Janet and Ian are extremely friendly and accomadating, in fact we ended up spending nearly an hour chatting to them before we left! They also have a good knowledge of the local area, so if youre struggling for a place to eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I booked turnstones lodge for 3 night stay to accompany a diving trip we had arranged in Dorset. Unfortunately due to poor weather the diving was cancelled, and so I contacted the B&B and kindly requested that we shorten our stay to one night. I was met with a very rude owner who told me that she would be keeping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanW47, Owner at Turnstones Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Our policy at Turnstones is that a booking is confirmed on receipt of a non-refundable deposit. This is explained to customers when booking via telephone, and clearly stated on our website. The deposit value is a small sum calculated according to the number of nights booked, and guarantees your requested dates. This person rang to cancel a three night booking... More 

Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

we stayed in this guest house whilst visiting our son who is a submariner in the navy, we had a fantastic warm welcome, Janet was a great host could not do enough for us with lots of knowledge of the area. All the rooms were spotlessly clean, the beds very comfortable and breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. Thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Janet and Ian do a wonderful job of making one feel at home which is what happened when my 13 year old sailing son and I experienced when we spent a week with them recently. Fabulous clean room high above the town with a well proportioned bathroom and good sized room for two beds. So helpful with our sailing gear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question