We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Heights Hotel

3.0 of 5 Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heights Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    118
    68
    27
    16
See reviews for
52
150
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (303)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Crafthole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

We stayed four nights at the Hieghts in February. We had a superior room which was comfortable with a very large comfortable bed. The food was excellent, well presented and hot. The staff all seamed to have worked there for years which is always a sign of a good hotel. They were all friendly and provided very good service. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
philippines
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we were welcomed by a smile at reception on our arrival and given our family room that was most spacious consisting of a super king size bed and a single, the room was clean,warm and pleasent, afternoon tea in the bistro was lovely over looking chesil beach, deciding to stay in the hotel for the evening we ate dinner there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed valentines weekend 14.2.15. Arrived at 11.30 am room was ready and flowers that I ordered when booking were in room. Room was very nice clean and complementary chocolate was on the side. We had the valentines meal in the restaurant on Saturday night very nice selection on the menu and good quality food. Only down side service was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesOffice382, Customer Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, we value all feedback. We're sorry you felt rushed during your Valentine's meal. We would like to assure you that it was not our intention to provide a speedy dining experience on this occasion. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We are pleased that your stay was a good one however, and we... More 

Verwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped for lunch in the café/restaurant and were very pleased that we had. The views of Chesil Beach from the restaurant are stunning. The staff were incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful and the menu and specials board offered a good range of choices, including vegetarian dishes. When the food arrived, it was hot, well-cooked and delicious. We enjoyed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just returned from a weekend away in this hotel, had a good time but had to ask for a heater in the bedroom as the radiator was stone cold, this is the second time this has happened, it would be nice if the maintenance on the heating was looked at regularly.Otherwise no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesOffice382, Customer Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we always value feedback from our guests. We're sorry that you experienced an issue with the room temperature. Our maintenance team have been informed, and will be investigating. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was an event organized through the hotel and which was excellent in its self.The hotel exterior is rather dated but its a comfortable place. Our room was spacious with plenty of storage and hanging space which makes a nice change from so many modern hotels. The room was too hot for our taste and we couldn't control the radiators... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Panglao Island, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

i was working in the prison and decided to stay overnight rather than travel two hours home. i arrived at 7 pm and was greeted by a lovely receptionist, was given directions to the prison for the morning and a table booked fo dinner. the bistro was quiet but good choice of food, i opted for the local fish chowderwhich... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Don't be put off by the exterior appearance - it's very pleasant once you're inside! Place has a spacious feeling, if a bit dated in places. Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. Decent bedroom/bathroom but VERY hot indeed, despite turning off the radiator. (No off knob on bathroom radiator). Fabulous views over Chesil Bank and Weymouth from the bar/restaurant area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We booked the hotel for a new years break. It wasn't cheap, but no where is at new year. We checked in on new years eve. Our room was big but not amazing. Having been told by the events manager via email that the order of the evening was 7 for 730, we turned up at 710 to find the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SalesOffice382, Customer Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, we value all feedback. We are sorry to learn of your concerns, and apologise for any dissatisfaction. Our New Year break was attended by many family groups and couples with which we are usually familiar. However, we are sorry if we have left you feeling let down on this occasion. We strive to achieve, and exceed... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We were really pleased with our one night stay. The Heights might be hindered by a rather drab exterior but the quality and value of our deluxe room, food and service was impressive. The receptionist who handled my telephone booking was delightful. The welcome on arrival was just right. The room was well appointed and in good order. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay