We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Cap Holiday Park

Certificate of Excellence
Sea Hill Lane | DT6 6JX, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6JX, England
Golden Cap Holiday Park
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    1
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family stayed here last August and loved it so much decided to return this Easter. The accommodation was fantastic and we noticed that a lot of work has been going on around the site since last year. My young son enjoyed the new play park and made lots of friends there. We invited our extended family this year and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Dorset Lei... H, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that your children liked the new play area! We do take note of all our customers’ suggestions and wherever feasible try to implement them. That is great news that your extended family were able to also join you on your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you all back again... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first viisit to golden cap and what a good choice it was, the whole of the campsite was immaculately kept, staff were friendly and very helpful, the beach at golden cap Is a very idealic setting especially in the evening whilst having a drink at the beachside inn, would recommend this place to everyone,definately be returning here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Dorset Lei... H, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you noted the holiday park as ‘immaculate’; the maintenance team do take a lot of pride in the park and its location. Thank you for recommending us to others and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just finished a 3 night stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely site, staff were welcoming and helpful. Just a short walk to the beach or countryside walks. Toilets and showers were clean and tidy. No free WiFi though. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Dorset Lei... H, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed the holiday park and that you will be returning. I have noted your comment about the WiFi and it will be discussed further. Thank you again for your review. More 

Bath
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our second visit (we camped last year during the World Cup with no noise issues). This time we hired a mobile home for 5 nights. The home was spotless and had a sea view! Twin room was cold at night but we left the heating on and used an extra duvet which was fine. Kitchen had gas hob/oven,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Dorset Lei... H, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you made the most of the local area. I hope you and your family will be back to visit us again for a third time. More 

Kempston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

I have stayed here twice (September and July) tenting looking to escape and find peace and tranquility and it is just perfect. When I camped in September the night sky on a clear night was beyond belief, the single track road down fro Chideock to Seatown is totally worth braving for the situation, scenery and tranquility this site has in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
West Dorset Lei... H, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your very good review about Golden Cap Holiday Park. It looks like you have had a very relaxing holiday and that you made the most of the local area. We hope you will be able to visit again soon and if you wanted to try somewhere new… Graston Copse Holiday Park in Burton Bradstock is also very... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I have camped at Golden Cap since I was a child, and more recently have taken advantage of the Premium Plus Caravans. My husband and I love the site, and location. It is in a fantastic place if you enjoy walking. The site has always been peaceful when we have visited but we do tend to holiday in September which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wdlh, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comments about the Caravan Holiday Home and this winter we will be upgrading a number of our hire units ready for the 2015 season. More 

High Wycombe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

A lovely clean and well run camp site near a great shingle beach. The camp facilities are great with clean wash blocks and a well stocked shop. My rating for the camp site would be very good however after hauling my fishing tackle 150 miles and investing time and money in tackle/bait I must say I was very peeved to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wdlh, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you found the campsite to a very good standard. In response to your comments about the fishing lake, it is maintained regularly and does have roach and carp. We will assess the trees surrounding the fishing platforms and cut them back further. Don’t forget you are also very welcome... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

We found the campsite absolutely lovely and in a fantastic location. It was really quiet when we arrived so had lots of choice as to where to pitch our tent. Really surprised at the reviews saying it was noisy as we have never stayed on such a quiet site! Great location right by the beach and also right by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wdlh, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed the views and that the holiday park exceeded your expectations. We agree that the stray dog is unacceptable. All guests that stay at the holiday park with dogs must keep them on a lead at all times. The fishing lake is maintained regularly and does have fish in... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The site owners show little control of the activities people who are staying on their site/s. This includes any noise control. So if you are looking for a quiet site, best look elsewhere. We also had damage to our Car while on site and although there are no written rules the Site management offered little in the way of assurance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wdlh, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and have investigated the issue. It appears that nothing was reported about noise in the area or the damage to your car until you were leaving the holiday park the next day. The reception is open until 9pm during peak season and we also have a 24 hour emergency phone. If... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We have just come back from our first family camping trip with friends and despite the weather, had a great time. Originally we were given a few pitches to choose from, however due one being taken and the others very wet and muddy we very happy to be informed that we could pitch anywhere we liked. Pitches were very spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wdlh, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your camping trip and that the children enjoyed the open space and the play area. The breakfast van is a new addition this year and we have received a lot of great feedback. We hope you will all be able to come back again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question