We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Beaminster hotels

Bridge House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Prout Bridge, Beaminster DT83AY, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sunshine Breaks
Save Saved
You added Bridge House Hotel to your Saves list
Bridge House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
89%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beaminster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Russell M
  • Overview
  • Reviews (262)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (68)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    49
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
165
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All our meals were absolutely fantastic and it was lovely to eat on the terrace in such a relaxed atmosphere. There is plenty to do in the area. We spent much of the weekend cycling around the beautiful Dorset countryside which was right on the doorstep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First visit having been recommended by someone........absolutely fabulous we had a wonderful time and there is lots to do and see in the area....Sherborne is a must visit.......didn't want to leave and will certainly not stay anywhere else now we have found this....

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in July 2014. Set in the pretty village of Beaminster, the main hotel is welcoming and cosy. Unfortunately our room was in the coach house in a separate building at the back of the hotel. The room was damp and the walls were thin with no soundproofing so that every sound could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J M, I am sorry you were not entirely happy with your room. I am not aware that you gave us the chance to rectify with maybe a move to another bedroom, something we would happily offer if we are able to. I am concerned that you were not made aware that the CoachHouse is a separate building just... More

Ferndown, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a repeat visit to the hotel. As before, the staff were friendly & efficient. Our dog was made welcome & allowed on the terrace during afternoon tea. We enjoyed both breakfast & dinner on the terrace during the warm weather & dinner in particular was delicious & memorable. The public areas were easily accessible from our downstairs bedroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ghv2014, Thank you for your review and comments. Alfresco dining on the terrace comes into its own in this beautiful weather. I am delighted to hear we met all your needs and look forward to welcoming you again. Mark Donovan More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You could happily stay in the Bridge Hotel in Beaminster for a week and not run out of local things to do and see. It's the best hotel around with the best restaurant too. Everybody at the hotel seemed, unusually nowadays, to be English!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dixiegrand, So you glad you enjoyed the BridgeHouse and the locality. As you would expect as an equal opportunities employer we have had many nationalities work at the hotel over the years with great success. It just so happens that the majority of our staff are currently very local which also works well for all. More

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst we did not have the opportunity to eat in the restaurant as we were visiting local friends we did have a very enjoyable breakfast in the insdie/outside eating area and found choice, quality and service to be excellent. Upon early arrival we were upgraded to a very well appointed, quiet bedroom which was extremely comfortable. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter M, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. As a footnote you you mention noise the potential for traffic noise at the front of the hotel. We have very effective secondary glazing and, consequently, traffic noise has never been an issue. After 6pm passing... More

Welling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We hired the sun room (conservatory) for our mother's 90th birthday. It was a few months in the planning, but all preparations went smoothly. Steve planned the menu (4 choices per course) for 20 people and Patrick organised the event. Everything went very smoothly and the staff were obliging (including taking photos!) and very helpful. The quality of the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you for your comments. We're obviously delighted that everyone enjoyed the occasion, especially your mother on such an important occasion. Your personal recommendation is gratefully received. Mark Donovan More

Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you to Patrick and all the staff at Bridge House. We stayed here for 2-nights as a very late booking on Fri 4th & Sat 5th July. The staff could not have been more helpfull, friendly, and attentive. The food was also very good on both nights. There are some really nice little touches that in our opinion seperate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve & Jo, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. It's unusual for Beaminster to be so quiet on a Saturday although when the weather's good most head to the coast which is only a short drive from the hotel and could help to explain that. I'm so pleased on behalf of Patrick, Steve & Kim in housekeeping and... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were their yesterday. Food were excellent and service was also quick and nice because we're in a hurry. I had a fantastic burger with the best chips I ever had my sister had a wonderful soup. We love to come back. The area around Beaminster is also something to see it is very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Happy to oblige! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mark Donovan More

Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were met by a most helpful gent who kindly upgraded our room, nothing was too much trouble. The bed was really comfortable, lovely en-suite, breakfast was wonderful and beautifully presented. Sadly we were only there one night, however we shall return and for longer. I'll be recommending Bridge House Hotel to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Breconscouser, Very much appreciate your review and I'm delighted to hear you were made to feel so welcome. Thank you, too, for the recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again for a longer stay hopefully. Mark Donovan More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bridge House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Address: 3 Prout Bridge, Beaminster DT83AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Beaminster
Bridge House Hotel Beaminster, Dorset

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dorset Hotel of the Year 2013/14. Stunning 13th Century former priests' house within pretty town - Beaminster. Thirteen luxury bedrooms all with Italian linen, Molton Brown & flat screen tvs. Taste of the West Gold award winner & 2 AA Rosettes. Al fresco dining in summer overlooking a pretty, walled garden. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer