We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    139
    59
    29
    11
See reviews for
165
169
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (454)
  • Mar-May only
    (140)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (141)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (130)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate my husband's birthday. I cannot fault the place, from the friendly welcome to the helpful staff, especially reception girls and the ever smiling Julie (Restaurant Manager) who all helped me provide a birthday surprise for Andrew of a huge dressed crab at breakfast, complete with lit candle! The place is pricey but worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 4 nights in a sea-view room. The room was a little small but made up for it with expansive views of the beach & sea. The staff were excellent - always friendly & helpful even when very busy. The food in the bistro is very good and nice & relaxed. The posher restaurant, Doyles, also nice but a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bodmin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the chance to escape for 24 hours this week and fancied North Devon after dithering over the choices and reading Trip advisor reviews I chose The Watersmeet hotel in Woolacombe bay but when I rang to enquire the receptionist was quite rude so I didn't book. What a contrat when I ran Woolacombe bay we felt welcome from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Delabole, cornwall United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

excellent service and food.We only wanted lunch but were impressed with the very obliging staff who went out of their way to provide a satisfying dining experience.so much so that we will gladly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as a special treat for my 50th birthday, we had a sea view room, which was amazing with a fabulous bathroom. Every single member of staff we encountered was wonderful, I couldn't fault the service. Doyle's restaurant was excellent and the next evening we ate in the Brasserie which was also brilliant. Breakfast was faultless and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vale of Glamorgan
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
88 hotel reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm a bit late writing this review, but we stayed for a weekend at the end of March to celebrate our son's 30th birthday. The Woolacombe Bay is a huge rambling hotel with a nice gentile ambiance where you can get lost in the corridors. Unfortunately for us the weekend we stayed the weather was terrible, but there is enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having paid a lot of money for a suite that we shared with friends, we arrived, as planned and communicated to the hotel just after midnight had to keep ringing the bell to get attention as we were alone in the reception for some time - could have walked away with some nice bits if we were that way included....... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr W, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always keen to receive feedback in order to consistently improve what we have to offer. We feel that we need to make it clear that we do not charge for keys! When a second key is requested we politely ask for a £10 deposit to... More 

Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding and the location of the hotel right next to the beach is perfect. The hotel itself is very nice with the rooms being a good size. It seems half the hotel rooms have been recently refurbished and the other half are still to be refurbished but even so these rooms were still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No advance contact to encourage dinner booking, no complimentary water in room, no cold meat or cheese at breakfast, no option for smoked haddock, kippers or kedgeree at breakfast. Staff were excellent and the dinner menu in Doyles was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights last week during beautiful, warm, sunny weather to celebrate my birthday. We cannot fault our experience of the hotel. We travel a lot and have never before anywhere met such a superb staff. Every one of them from reception (particularly Bex and Joanna), to the waiting staff in Doyle's and The Brasserie, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities