We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rocks Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7BT, England
Special Offer
Wetsuits and boards!!
The Rocks Hotel
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    461
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
124
214
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (487)
  • Mar-May only
    (118)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (207)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just got back from a 3 day break at the Rocks Hotel. An amazing experience. Friendly hosts Martin and Wendy, nothing is to much trouble. The bedroom was cosy, well equipped and we had great views. Lovely experience. Surfing facilities were great as it was a surprise for my partners birthday, so access to the use of surf boards was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just got back from a 2 night stay at The Rocks Hotel. This is a gem of a small family run hotel. The hosts Wendy and Martin are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is close to the beach, You can stroll down to the beach carrying your board and wearing your wet suit without having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Well we really hope its still a great Hotel even if you dont love to surf Roscopeekoptrain??!!! We always wanted that to be an added experience, but we are with you really that Wurlitzers and wetsuits are the way forward!!! Many thanks for your gorgeous review. Best wishes Wendy & Martin :-)) More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here (in the apartment) for four nights as a family of four. We had dinner in Roxy's diner one night in the stay. Apartment very well equipped and lovely friendly service. Our 4 year old left a toy there and this was posted home by the hotel without us even alerting them to the loss. Lovely - he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Libby M for your glowing review of the Rocks apartment, and so glad that you were eventually reunited with "Spot"!!! Hope you will all be able to come back soon. Best wishes Wendy & Martin More 

Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited The Rocks Hotel with friends for two nights. Martin and Wendy were the perfect hosts..friendly...accomodating and they made you feel like you were at home...even down to us getting the breakfast time wrong and Wendy still making us breakfast! Faultless. We stayed in room 7 which has the most beautiful views of the sea. The room was lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Gemma S, mainly for coming to breakfast at the right time on the second day!! ;-)) We would hate to think you started your day without one!!!... we really hope you will come to try out Roxy's excellent menu and shakes.. Im sure you wont be disappointed. Many thanks again Wendy & Martin More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is rare to experience the dedication to her role as hostess (Wendy) as I did recently by leaving an item of clothing at the Rocks on departure. Wendy went thru various extreme efforts to not only retrieve back from the Post Office when lost on initial posting but to find alternative means of getting it me. Our stay in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Margaret P for your glowing review even though you were for a long time separated from your fleece, we are only too happy to hear that at last you have been reunited!!.. I think "faultless" is a big claim as very little is, but thank you for your generous sentiment. Best wishes Wendy & Martin More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a relaxing 4 night stay in The Rocks. Absolutely loved the place and Woolacombe. Hosts Wendy,Martin,Matt and Steph are all so friendly and helpful and make you feel so at home you feel like you've known them for ages!. Rooms spotless and comfortable-with nice little touches to make you go....arrrrrr Breakfast was excellent-all you could want and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Doratours58, for coming all the way from Liverpool to stay with us, and we are all sooo happy that you enjoyed the Hotel and the Diner, and thank you soo much for the offer to visit you... be careful for what you wish for because we just might pop in to say hi!!! Many thanks again. With warmest... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love The Rocks Hotel. We can't remember if we've stayed here 5 or 6 times but its has to be about that. We've stayed in the hotel and have stayed in the apartment and both are excellent. We are just back from a glorious long weekend and are already trying to look at our busy diaries and see if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Aaah NannySoane, thank you for coming back again and loving your time with us..and posting such fantastic reviews!!! Youre a star...."do you want to book another trip?" lol ;-)) Best wishes Wendy & Martin xx More 

Southampton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Given a very friendly welcome and immediately made to feel at home. A small, but perfectly pleasant and adequate bedroom. A good breakfast served in the Roxy's Diner annex. More great nostalgic music from the 50s/60s. Difficult to leave. Excellent hosts. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you 9andadog for enjoying your time at the Rocks, and always nice to hear that its difficult to leave. Many thanks again Wendy & Martin More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay here, this was my 9 month old babies first holiday and I am so glad we chose the rocks hotel. The room was a good size, clean and modern. The rocks is a few yards from the beach and beach is to die for. The best beach I have been to in the UK without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sukhi k for bringing your baby to Woolacombe and the Rocks, for her first holiday!!We really hope this will be the first trip of many for you all, as indeed the beach is to die for .. rated No1 in the UK on tripadvisor for 2015 and 11th best in the world!!! Quiet an accolade!! Come back soon,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you're reading this you shouldn't ask yourself, should we stay at The Rocks? Your question should be, Why haven't we stayed at The Rocks? We have stayed on many occasions, normally in our favourite Room 3 but also in Room 6 and The Apartment. As many have stated and we can vouch for it's like returning home to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
therocks2008, Owner at The Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a review VDubberRich that I dont think we could have written better if we had done it ourselves!!! We should make you our PR person asap!!! Its always a real pleasure when you both come to stay, and I know that you love it here so much that maybe one day we will be neighbours, and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#2 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top