We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Umberleigh hotels

Highbullen Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chittlehamholt, Umberleigh EX37 9HD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Highbullen Hotel to your Saves list
Highbullen Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
83%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Umberleigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Lilly N London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (225)
  • Photos (78)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (76)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    72
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
43
99
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently attended a wedding at Highbullen, and stayed in the Forester’s Rest. The rooms were ridiculously comfortable, with incredible views. Staff could not have been more accommodating, and even though we managed to sleep through check out, they were not disgruntled, or even mentioned it. Fantastic staff, who were amazingly helpful to the wedding as it was all due to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wanted an escape from it all to celebrate my 50th birthday and booked this last minute. What a perfect find. Tranquil, picturesque, peaceful, comfortable, really friendly hotel. Could not fault a thing. Arrived to find that we had been given one of the best rooms in the hotel on the ground floor - The Lawrence Olivier room, huge beautifully decorated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

With outstanding views over the Devon countryside, this golf orientated growing hotel provides outstanding food at reasonable prices. Take a brolly as you may have a wet walk from the tastefully renovated out buildings to the main house for meals, or other activities around the grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
villajames, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us, and of course how you enjoyed the food. All our estate rooms have umbrellas for use while you are with us, there should have been one in your room. I will ask Housekeeping to carry out a check of all estate rooms. To... More

Winkleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting Castle Hill car festival last weekend, we stayed at this fabulous hotel. Location, Food, Service were all excellent together with professional friendly staff. The Owners and the Manager were at hand and extremely attentive. Thank you all for a super weekend. Anne B

Was this review helpful? Yes
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We loved having you stay with us, there was a lot going on last week so it is pleasing to read your very positive feedback. We had a successful weekend at the festival, despite the weather, and hope you enjoyed it too. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best wishes, James More

Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just come back from a week at Highbullen Hotel staying in the Stable Cottage with our family. The cottage was perfect for us and we had the privacy of a terrace. We ate in the hotel a couple of nights during the week and had excellent meals. Then Leanne and her team helped us put on a party... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your visit here. We were as happy to have you here, as you were to be here! It was our pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, James More

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just returned from two nights at the wonderful Highbullen Hotel, and feel I must recommend this lovely sanctuary to anyone in need of relaxation in breathtaking surroundings. The staff were unfailingly attentive, both in the restaurant and on the estate generally. Even though I didn't make use of all the facilities, there really is something here for everybody. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. I am thrilled, as my colleagues are, to have read you lovely review. We very much appreciate you kind words. We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes, James More

Sandhurst
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this as a late 'Secret Escape' offer for my son and I as a pre-holiday break. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and we went straight to our room which was lovely. I didn't know that there was an outside pool and as it was such a hot day, we went straight there. (lovely - although a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for you review. It is always pleasing to read how we were able to "wow" first time visitors to Highbullen. I also find it interesting that we were able to surprise you with our facilities. I sometimes think we have so much for guests to do that elements get list in the message. However I am delighted you... More

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights with two rounds of golf. The hotel is excellent in all it has to offer, all the staff are very friendly and nothing us too much for guests. The golf course is excellent with some stunning views of the countryside, a pleasure to play. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

What a nice review; thank you. I'm very happy to read your comments about the food and the golf course. A lot of effort goes into the course by the green keeping team and they rarely get praise (however indirectly) on TripAdvisor, so it's great to get your comments on this occasion. I trust you played well - they're always... More

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a single room at Highbullen for 2 nights with breakfast. From the moment i arrived and was given my room, "Snug" , i just knew it was going to be awesome. This room is the biggest hotel room i have ever spent the night in, high ceilings and airy too and overlooking the marvellous North Devon countryside. Nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, and what a fabulous title!! I am very grateful to you for taking the time to write about your experiences. The team will be as pleased as I am to read about them. I look forward to seeing you back at Highbullen very soon. Best wishes, James More

Willand, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately my wife was poorly so we only managed to stay the one night but that had nothing to do with the hotel at all - the room was lovely (sportsman's lodge) although there is building work going on next door as the hotel is upgraded this didn't cause us any problem. Dinner was fantastic, used the gym, great setting,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you have been unwell and couldn't have stayed longer, but at the same time pleased that during your short break you enjoyed the hotel and it's facilities. I am also pleased to read that despite the work being carried out to create a new £2m function suite, the management of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Highbullen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Highbullen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbullen Hotel

Address: Chittlehamholt, Umberleigh EX37 9HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highbullen Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Highbullen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbullen Hotel Umberleigh, Devon

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Umberleigh with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highbullen Hotel, Golf and Country Club is set in a 125 acre estate in the heart of North Devon, with far reaching views down the Mole Valley and across to Exmoor. Here you will find a warm welcome, comfortable and luxurious surroundings and the opportunity to enjoy an unrivalled selection of activities on site and nearby.Highbullen has been fully refurbished in 2013, including all the rooms, restaurant and all public areas.There is an 18 hole USPGA specification golf course and a extensive leisure facilities, including swimming (indoor and outdoor), gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and tennis.Nestled between Dartmoor and Exmoor and within easy reach of Exeter in one direction and the Atlantic coast in the other. Guests can take their pick of accommodation - from a luxury room in the impressive Victorian "Arts and Crafts" manor house, to a selection of peaceful rooms located around the estate.Nearby you can walk on Exmoor or the South West Coast Path, with breathtaking views, or enjoy all the activities and attractions of this beautiful part of North Devon. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
36

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Highbullen Hotel and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Highbullen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer