We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Umberleigh hotels

Highbullen Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chittlehamholt, Umberleigh EX37 9HD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Highbullen Hotel to your Saves list
Highbullen Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Umberleigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
simoneB2012 Stoke on Trent
  • Overview
  • Reviews (211)
  • Photos (77)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (69)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    69
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
41
94
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I had our wedding breakfast at Highbullen on July 16th. I really can't thank the staff enough for making the day absolutely perfect. On our first visit in Easter to look at the venue, Doug, the Head of the restaurant met us and discussed the plethora of questions we had with absolute professionalism but always with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Simone. We were as delighted to have you and Claire with us as you were to be at Highbullen! I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team, I am sure they will be thrilled. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best wishes. James More

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived at Highbullen with high expectations, having stayed there several years ago. However despite the wonderful surroundings and numerous facilities, we left feeling disappointed. The food in the Cellars was frankly very poor quality - what seemed like reheated lasagne, cheapest quality frozen pizza and a £7 sandwich made with processed sliced chicken. We therefore opted to go to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Naturally I am sorry to read your disappointment. I would like to assure you all our pizzas are made on site from scratch (we even make our own base) and baked in our recently purchased pizza oven and we have never had, and never will have, processed chicken. However, we will take your feedback on... More

Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although we didn't stay at his hotel, we went with friends for the day. The hotel has a lovely feel and is newly renovated. We had a lovely swim, used the sauna and steam room ( there is also a jacuzzi), after which we had a lovelybSunday meal in the restaurant which offered beautiful country views. After a wonderful meal,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. How nice it was to read your thoughts and how much you enjoyed your all-too-breif visit! Whilst the outdoor games on the croquet lawn add variety on a summers day (like we're experiencing at the moment), my favourite room remains the billiard room - so I'm glad that got a mention! We very much look... More

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The restaurant was lovely the staff Kay was very friendly the service good and the food was lovely. We visited to take my mum for a Sunday lunch. This is a very nice restaurant within the hotel. The grounds are lovely, we will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We have recently moved out Sunday lunch from the pavilion to the restaurant and I am very pleased to agree with you; the restaurant is a lovely location for lunch. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Best wishes, James More

London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sadly, we were only at Highbullen for one night but from the moment we arrived we were exceptionally well looked after. We were a little late for our dinner reservation but were not hurried in the least and food was excellent. Our room was lovely with a view over the gardens and golf course beyond. Breakfast was first class and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. I can almost guarantee that visit in the near future will make that regret go away!!! We look forward to seeing you here again very soon. Best wishes, James More

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our wedding at Highbullen only last weekend but feel the need to write a review already. I can not recommend Highbullen highly enough! We were made to feel like royalty. As a local to North Devon (living here all my life) I know many of the local hotels and been to many weddings in them. We looked at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for your lovely review. We were thrilled to be able to be a part of your special day. I will be sure to make to pass on your feedback to all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you for your 1st anniversary!!! Best wishes, James More

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful 2night/3day golf break, helped by warm dry weather, and felt thoroughly relaxed by the finish, despite some dubious golf scores. This was our 12th visit but only the first since the new owners took over. The bedrooms have been tastefully refurbished in a more modern style but the wonderful public rooms of the main house remain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your superb review. I am always pleased to read how the refurbishment we have carried out and the improvements (total investment of £3.4m since the new owners took over) have been received by those guests that have been coming for years. Therefore I was thrilled to hear how well the work has been received. However, we've not... More

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I worked here 40yrs ago so it was so nice to go back and stay this time. The Manor house itself hasn't changed very much but the grounds definitely have with the golf course etc. For peace and quiet this is certainly the place to stay and the views are amazing. My husband and I love walking and there are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay. The Food and Beverage team are aware of your comments re dinner and breakfast and are as thrilled as I am. I am glad that we were able to add to your memories of Highbullen. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our third visit, Trip Advisor wont allow reviews less than 3 months apart. Another excellent trip with superb variety of facilities and excellent food. This hotel is whatever you want to make it. We stayed in room 93, at the bottom of the hill. Not great for easy access as there is a hill and steps, but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your return visit. I quite agree with you that the views from Forrester's Rest are superb. And your comment regarding towels is noted! I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, James More

Devon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here mid June. I was greeted nicely and casually and checked in ok and found my room which apeared very nice. Managed to log on the wifi ok which was fairly quick. Upen entering the bathroom to go to the loo I noticed the loo wasn't clean - a skid mark in the bottom and no towels. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James H, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to have read that your stay with us was short of your expectation. I was particularly sorry to have learnt about the quality of cleanliness in the bathroom. Our standard of housekeeping, as you will have read from other reviews is normally top notch. Please accept my apologies for our shortcomings... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Highbullen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Highbullen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbullen Hotel

Address: Chittlehamholt, Umberleigh EX37 9HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highbullen Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Highbullen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbullen Hotel Umberleigh, Devon

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highbullen Hotel, Golf and Country Club is set in a 125 acre estate in the heart of North Devon, with far reaching views down the Mole Valley and across to Exmoor. Here you will find a warm welcome, comfortable and luxurious surroundings and the opportunity to enjoy an unrivalled selection of activities on site and nearby.Highbullen has been fully refurbished in 2013, including all the rooms, restaurant and all public areas.There is an 18 hole USPGA specification golf course and a extensive leisure facilities, including swimming (indoor and outdoor), gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and tennis.Nestled between Dartmoor and Exmoor and within easy reach of Exeter in one direction and the Atlantic coast in the other. Guests can take their pick of accommodation - from a luxury room in the impressive Victorian "Arts and Crafts" manor house, to a selection of peaceful rooms located around the estate.Nearby you can walk on Exmoor or the South West Coast Path, with breathtaking views, or enjoy all the activities and attractions of this beautiful part of North Devon. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
36

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Highbullen Hotel and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer