We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1 Broad St, South Molton EX36 3AB, England
Special Price
£10 off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    56
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
57
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed our stay at The George Hotel, our room was very nice, breakfast was very good and we had an evening meal on one night which was really enjoyable. All staff wer very nice and helpful lSituated right in the centre of S Molton with good shops and places to eat. Would thoroughly recommend to everyone.Shame the weather was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is nothing fancy but was ideal for what we needed! It's location was fab, on the high street of South Mklton so there are plenty of commodities. The rooms are basic but good sized, comfortable and generally clean. For the price it was definitely good value and if we were to go again we would stay again. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I last stayed at the George seven years ago while on business in the area. A very nice clean well run hotel in a very interesting little town centre. Room very clean and well decorated. Everything works, nice hot water. Staff very accommodating. Parking at the rear. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

What a pleasure to read your review! Thank you. We offer a convenient stop over for business or on the way through to Cornwall or to use as a base to visit the lovely coast of North Devon as well as the beautiful Exmoor National Park. Hot water, clean rooms and comfort come included in the price! Did you try... More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An oldy worldly hotel with squeaky floor boards as one would expect. Some rooms have been refurbished to a good standard, others are little tired but of a good size anyway. The surprise was the very nice evening meal with drinks at a sensible price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Our rooms are all individual and of a good size and all offer character too. If you return do ask for one of the more spacious double rooms or reserve the Large Double Room which has plenty of space. We are about to start some further refurbishment so watch this space. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stumbled across this lovely little place on our way home from Cornwall, me, hubby and 3 kids. Although the selection on the menu was limited, the food that was served was amazing, fresh, amazing quality, beautiful presentation and delicious. Although there was no official kids menu, they catered for them regardless and made them a beautiful pasta dish, which again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! It's lovely to receive compliments about our food and I remember your visit well. We can always accommodate children either with smaller portions of most things on the menu or some other alternatives available on the night. Hope to see you again! More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The George is a lovely traditional coaching inn with a great deal of character. It suffers from poorly executed historical updates e.g. 80s style security glass walls on landings and could do with more updating. There are areas of the hotel that have already received a facelift and those have been done tastefully but in the overall looks department it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your visit. We try offer dishes on the menu that are popular and these normally include a homemade pie and homemade burger, scampi and a steak along with vegetarian and fish alternatives. We find our Thai curry is very popular as is our current Asian seabass dish. We don't... More 

Watford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as we were attending a wedding in the town. The hotel looks a lot more modern on the website. It's very weathered and not worth the £95 that I paid for one night. The bathroom was very dated and the shower flooded the floor everytime you used it. The person on reception didn't seem the happiest either!!!!... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you didn't feel your stay was value for money, We are a small town centre family run hotel and try hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I apologise for your bad experience and hope to do better next time. If you return to the area... More 

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Staff were really welcoming and helped with the organisation, food and rooms were great, nice relaxed atmosphere We were able to check out things in advance and provision was made for elderly mother in wheelchair to dine. We were able to choose the menu and decorate the room and the little children were catered for without any fuss. Due to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. I remember your celebration well and I'm glad you had such a good time! Thanks again More 

Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

This is a lovely hotel to stay in, we booked two rooms for the night as we had been on holiday in south Devon and were meeting up with our son and his family, who were holidaying in Cornwall, as we were all going on the Tiverton Balloon Festival. We arrived at the hotel about an hour before booking time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a lovely review of The George. Our breakfasts are renowned! They can be busy when the hotel is full but we try hard to make everything about your dstay a pleasurable experience. Thanks again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

We recently spent 3 nights at the George hotel in South Molton. The staff were welcoming - at least the two we saw were! Maybe the only staff? The hotel itself is dilapidated & desperately needs some money spent on it. It is up for sale in a local estate agents for £400k which is less than a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay at The George . Breakfasts can be busy when the hotel is full and we like to get fresh croissants from the shop adjacent to the hotel.. They are delicious Cuisine de France croissants and we find them to be much nicer than catering supplied alternatives. Keeping up with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Molton
8.9 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple
Premier Inn Barnstaple
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
11.5 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashley House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 18 in South Molton
5.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay