We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1 Broad St, South Molton EX36 3AB, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a single room, great price at £43pn. Where else could you find a room for that price!!!! Food was very nice as well as were the staff. Free parking. Pint of beer £3 Smile-Free Cleaner needs to clean the dining tables properly as sticky. But apart from that small detail a very good hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Supper included an amazing creamy chicken and ham pie, which included cut up pieces of pigs in blankets, to add to the delicious fillings of chicken pieces and ham pieces. The creamy sauce was flavoured with nutmeg and parsley, and the crust was baked to the consistency of crispy doughnut. Good value but a very generous pie for one person,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sootyexplorer
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

We had our son's baptism celebration here & we were really pleased. The food was really good quality - we had so many compliments about it - and was very good value for money. The room was decorated for Christmas and was lovely and cosy. My sister and family stayed here and reported a very good stay.

Helpful?
Thank Bluebelle27
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

Could not get a shower as the one in my room did not work properly, which should not have been the case , as a previous reviewer had made exactly the same complaint, bringing it to the attention of the owner,but still not rectified. Lots of stairs and a step outside the bedroom which I thought precarious.

Helpful?
Thank brian840019
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will personally ensure that your complaint regarding the shower is investigated as it is of the utmost importance that our guests feel comfortable in our rooms and have the facilities that you have paid for. I am not sure if this was due to a busy period in the hotel or a problem with... More 

New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

The George Hotel was disappointing in some ways. The positives were a great location in the historic village square and a pleasant spacious room. The downsides were: accessibility and restaurant. The car park was a short walk away at the back of the hotel. However our room was on the first floor and there was no lift. Furthermore there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann R
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you had a this experience in our restaurant. Carnival night is a very busy evening in the town and we were short staffed which is not acceptable and for which I apologise. We have a new chef and our restaurant is going from strength to strength so I am confident that... More 

Wilts In Uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Very nice old hotel with charm, big bedrooms. Hotel is centre of village so easy walking to local bars, restaurants and many shops. Good choices for dinner and breakfast menu choices was also good, well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank sunshine5737
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. South Molton is indeed very well located to visit many areas of North Devon from coast to country. We try hard to make your stay an enjoyable one and hope that you are able to pay us a return visit soon. More 

Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

Single Room including Breakfast was £60. The room was very tiny, albeit warm & fit for purpose. It is quite a small hotel & reasonably dated. The menu for evening meal was limited & we went to The Bell in a neighbouring village where the food was good with a reasonable menu.

Helpful?
Thank Keri-McG
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our single rooms are £60 including VAT and a full English breakfast which most of our guests are happy to pay. Our single rooms comfortably accommodate a single bed, desk, chair beside table and wardrobe and both have ensuite shower rooms. For only an additional £10 per night you are able to book a larger... More 

Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

This place truly is a complete dump. It stinks from the moment you walk in. The lady in front desk was nice and polite but it really was a bad stay. The rooms were vile. The bathroom was grotty and just nasty. Breakfast was a complete joke (sausages the size maggots and raw scrambled egg). Best thing was the coffee... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank revels
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Stayed 3 night on Amazon deal. Food and comfort were good but room disappointed. Room 6 (standard) has a v.nice bathroom and comfortable low modern bed (16inches high) but the other furniture is pine. It is a dark room with dull walls. Only one bedside lamp. On Friday the restaurant was not open but at 20.00 a very strong odour... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan C R
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. The furniture in our bedrooms is in the process of being updated and Room 6 is the first to receive this treatment. I am very pleased with the look and will be extending this to other rooms in die course. One of the lamps was removed as it was broken and we... More 

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night , very friendly girls that booked me in and served evening meal which was very good , nice to have a pie that has a proper filling and chips were excellent. Room good and comfortable bed the only thing that was a let down was the quality of the breakfast as fried egg was inedible as completely... More 

Helpful?
Thank John_ashby
CathyDoel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and great comments about your evening meal. Our restaurant is going form strength to strength. I must apologise for your breakfast which is indeed very unusual because we are normally complimented on the high standard of our breakfasts. I'm not sure what happened but rest assured that if you are able to come back to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Molton
17.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
10.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
19.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay