We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Highwayman Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Okehampton | Devon, Sourton EX20 4HN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sourton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Highwayman Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    74
    19
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
55
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Always visit the Highwayman when in Devon. The pub is definitely a unique location which is a definite labour of love and a life's work. The owners are always friendly, welcoming and genial. Have never eaten or stayed there but it is on my wish list!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had pased by on a couple of occasions and my wife couldn't wait to visit so we popped in for a quick drink and a bite to eat, service and food were OK, it's simple pub grub, don't expect anything more. Gents could definitely do with an upgrade. Needs another visit to see more of the nooks and crannies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I visited this pub a week or so ago: we'd both been there years ago, and had great memories of an amazing and unusual pub filled with wierd, antique items from far off places. That still held true for the decor ( good) but sadly, also for the food and service. We had two small cokes, costing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This very unusual pub/hotel on the edge of Dartmoor is in a wonderful location and ideal for walkers, however, two Instant coffees with UHT milk and a hot chocolate came to £8.50....we will not be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed with us. The upkeep of the inn is hefty and it is rather like a free entry museum but if you didnt like us that is your prerogative. More 

Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was nearly closing time at the Highwayman Inn, but we had time for a drink and the staff kindly allowed us to look around without rushing us, we were overwhelmed with wonder and amazement, parts of the Inn was like being on a film set…when we are in the area again, we will call in to the astonishing "Highwayman... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for enjoying our inn. It means a lot to us. Hope to see you again and do introduce yourself to me. Best Summer wishes Sallyx More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had warned them we were coming. Paid £15 for a buffet that was simply cheap and tacky, asked to order other food and was refused. Chef unhelpful. Getting a drinks order took too long. In a nutshell the place looks good (if not a bit weird) the service atrocious

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Stopped en route for quick cuppa, which was served in huge and full teacups (never seen teacup and saucer that size before!) - very quirky strange place, but in a very nice way that made us want to stay, or cone back another day. Staff, very nice n friendly WC could do with updating a fair bit, otherwise this would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Glad you like my posh Whittards of Chelsea cups. Only the best is good enough. Hope to see you again and thanks for liking us. Loo next project. Sallyx More 

Sidmouth.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Our great friends Harry and Ann suggested we visit in our Campervans and we are so glad we did. Quirky is not the word, this is our 3rd such pub in the past 12 months. One in Derbyshire the other in Romsey. Anyway a must to visit for anyone, we did not dine however we did sample pint 🍻 or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

You were all good fun to have here. Welcome anytime to 'wild' camp.x Sally More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015 via mobile

Ive visited this pub a few times over 40 years. The first few times I spoke to the man who created this amazing collection of curiosities. He had a rather interesting daughter with long blonde hair helping at the pub who I noticed. A similar age to myself. Now she is the landlady and running it with her husband. She... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about our inn. It is important to uw. We do take on board all that you say and hope to see you again. More 

UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

We visited this pub in early July and it's just a superb place like nowhere else. If you are in the area I recommend a visit. We had a look around as it was quite quiet and then ordered drinks and lunch. Lunch was OK but not great. The pie platter slices were served fridge cold and they were steak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about our inn. It is important to uw. We do take on board all that you say and hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sourton
5.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Fox and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydford
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
8.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Collaven Manor Hotel
Collaven Manor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sourton
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bearslake Inn
Bearslake Inn
#8 of 23 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities