We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Sourton B&Bs / inns

The Highwayman Inn

Save
You added The Highwayman Inn to your Saves list
Sourton EX20 8HN, England
Hotel amenities
The Highwayman Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sourton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sourton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This place blows you away! I recommend everyone to visit and see for yourself. So friendly, food superb, and very clean. The owner cooked me a risotto which wasn't on the menu and he'd never cooked before. It was fab and made my birthday more special with the effort they made.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you y lovely for your kind words. We love having you at the inn and look forward to seeing you with your Mum and Dad. More 

Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
39 hotel reviews
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of England's strangest inn's in my opinion and one can stay or eat. Whilst I would not personally choose to stay it is worth a visit even if only for a quick snack and drink just to experience the quirky nature of this Inn. It does have a large car park and the small house at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for coming inn and finding us curious. I know we are not everybodys cup of tea as it were but we do try to offer something different. Do say hello to me, Sally, if you come in again so that I may thank you in person. More 

Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the 5th time we were here, and it was never be boring for us. The landlady and the landlord are just amazing. The pub itself is ancient-looking and fantastic, if it were in another world... The menu is great, the chef, who is the landlord himself is brilliant. Their lobster thermidor is uniquely prepared and cooked, it really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you my lovelies, Lynda and Tibor. Looking forward to the next time. Hope you have a brillant 2015. More 

Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in on our way home following celebrating the winter solstice on Dartmoor. What a find!! Lovey friendly welcome and a wealth of local knowledge. I am defiantly going back to stay. Looking forward to it very much :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed our little inn and look forward to seeing you again in 2015 probably during one of the 'alternative', celebration times would be nice. Do make yourself known to me. Merry meet, merry part, merry meet again. Sally More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We deliberately drove out of our way to visit this pub after seeing their website, but were sadly underwhelmed. It looked quaint and quirky from the outside, spoilt a little by the mound of earth, rubbish and a knackered old caravan round the back. Inside it was very tiny and incredibly dark. There was an eclectic collection of items on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy with your experience at our inn. What we provide is obviously not to your taste. Some people like it and some dont. It is a question of personal preference. I have been at the inn most of my life and am disappointed to think that you feel that not enough effort has been... More 

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
39 hotel reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We spotted The Highwayman during a holiday in Cornwall. As soon as we saw it, we knew we had to go back and have a drink there as the place looked so weird. Well, if we thought the outside was weird, the inside was bonkers. Supposedly haunted, with very wacky but lovely hosts, we loved the place!! Our kids enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

So gladyou had a good time. It is important to us that you and your family have a good experience. The inn is decked out OTT with Xmas decorations now and the dragon is on the roof at the back but not quite ready to vreath smoke. Hope to see you again. Have a good Xmas. Sally More 

Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Great little pub and a definite must visit, we loved the pub a lot and the enthusiasm of the owner. The waitress was a bit gloomy maybe she was having an off day. We stopped off for lunch. Very large menu, but no kids menu which was very disappointing. So our grandson had for £9.50 two sausages, mash and gray... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Sorry the food and our waitress were a disappointment to you. We do take on board your comments, good and bad, and try to adapt accordingly. Next time you come in talk to me Sally and we will try to make your experience more positive on all counts. I have some amazing decorations this year for Xmas if your in... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We drove passed this pub on the way to Cornwall and thought how quirky it looked. It intrigued us so much we went back to sample it's delights and we were not disappointed. The people that run it are very welcoming and if you are interested in the slightly gothic and unusual you will love this pub. They have one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for liking our inn. If you are happy with what we offer we are happy. We hope to see you again. Have nearly put up all the decorations for Xmas which include a singing Moose and lovely old fashioned nativity scene to name but a few. Seasons greetings. More 

Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We stayed at this most interesting pub for one night with some of our friends. We were shown to our room (the Angel room) by Bruce. As there were six of us staying we had already pre-ordered our food for the evening meal and there was an extensive menu to choose from including vegetarian. The Angel room is beautiful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. It is vary satifying to us to know you have enjoyed the inn. You were a lovely group of friends and made our job extremely easy. Do hope we see you again and I will let Bruce play the keyboards next time! Best wishes to one and all. More 

hersham
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

It's impossible to drive past this pub without a double-take. It's a crazy place, inside and out & so much fun to wander around. The food is the only average thing about this place. Don't come here for the food but for the experience. I can only imagine how bizarre the bedrooms are! I've heard about the fun nights that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sally T, Owner at The Highwayman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I know we are a bit bonkers but bonkers is fine. Sorry you werent impressed with the food though. It normally is well received. We have tried to keep it simple in the bars because we didnt wanted to go gastro. Our intention being to stay as an inn in the proper sense of the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Highwayman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highwayman Inn

Address: Sourton EX20 8HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sourton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Highwayman Inn Sourton, Devon

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay