We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ness

Ness Drive | Nr Teignmouth, Shaldon TQ14 0HP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ness
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Ness
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    30
    16
    19
    12
See reviews for
32
56
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
new forest
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked late so had the last room in the annexe which didn't have a sea view but was very peaceful and benefited from a west facing balcony which was a real treat. The room is small but beautifully decorated. Lack of shelves or drawers could be a problem if you are staying a week, we lived out of our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We absolutely loved our stay at the ness, we have stayed several times before and is our first choice every year when visiting. To our surprise all the rooms have been re - designed and look and feel stunning. Couldn't ask for more! We have already booked for next year. The staff are really friendly and welcoming taking the time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DEVON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to spend the day in Teignmouth, having checked out Tripadvisor and booked a table for midday, Managed to squeeze into the very small carpark, there is an overflow carpark further up the road that you can use, I think maybe exclusive to the hotel and restaurant, also it might be a pay and display. We arrived early at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has the ingredients for a superb Bed and Breakfast and Restaurant- beautiful building, lovely view, quiet location and staff that try their best and are very friendly but unfortunately it fails and is definitely NOT worth £.110 a night. Some niggles might seem small - they need another shelf in the bathroom, a hook for your towel outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hall W, General Manager at The Ness, responded to this review

It is so disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, especially as you experienced two of our lovely new rooms. As you can see from the other reviews our Rooms are very popular and our hospitality highly thought of. It is a shame that we were not given the opportunity whilst you were here to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Shaldon hotels

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I recently visited the wonderful Ness Inn in Shaldon and spent 3 lovely nights in a fabulous. well cared for place with superb views out to sea. The room was recently refurbished to a high standard and had a really pleasant beach hut feel, we had a balcony and view across to Teignmouth and out to sea.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I HAVE NEVER GIVEN A NEGATIVE REVIEW IN MY 51 YEARS, but the arrogance of The Ness & their brewery Hall & Woodhouse have left me no option. My son , daughter & I had a meal in the restaurant on Mothering Sunday as a treat for me. We have been many times before with no complaints. During my daughters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Hall W, Safety & Quality Standards Ambassador at The Ness, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Firstly, I wish to ensure you that your daughter’s wellbeing, as with all our guests, is our greatest concern and we were also very disappointed to hear of your family’s experience at the Ness House. It was believed at the time of the incident that our lovely and very competent team at the Ness House responded appropriately to... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped on the off chance of getting a bite to eat. The restaurant was fully booked so we took a chance and ate outside. The food was very good and once the cool breeze dropped we ate is the evening sunshine, drinking in the view of the bay. Try the sausage and mash with onion gravy.......yummy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Clearly the older posts were reviewed prior to the Rooms being refurbished. The Ness deserves 5 star all round - rooms are fabulous and the Staff and Food could not have been better. The rooms are some of the best I have ever stayed in anywhere. Thank you The Ness.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We stayed one night in the Supreme Room. It had just been refurbished and puts some luxury Country House Hotel rooms we have stayed in to shame. Lovely touches throughout, amazing view, excellent bathroom with tin bath plenty big enough for two :) , no noise from bar or restaurant, all in all difficult to fault. Only criticism is I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We were tired and hungry after a long day of driving and came across this hotel by pure chance. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room very comfortable. The view across the water was wonderful. The bed was huge - two singles pushed together and I particularly liked the sensor in the bathroom that turned on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay