We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Lifton hotels

Arundell Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Hotel amenities
Arundell Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arundell Arms Hotel to your Saves list
89%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Carol V New Forest
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    64
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
27
165
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
New Forest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a 2 night break which was not cheap but we decided to spoil ourselves. Our room we were told had been recently refurbished and although the wallpaper was peeling of in places it was lovely and comfortable with fantastic views as long as you ignored the kitchen ventilation pipes on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dorset
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good situation & facilities with friendly staff. Rooms good. Restaurant food pretends to be better than it is. Overall not good value..............................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a family meal in the hotel bar (not Courthouse Bar) and had a fantastic meal. All the staff were helpful and polite with nothing too much trouble. The food was excellent and service friendly and efficient. Will visit again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We very much enjoyed our stay for two nights. There are lovely gardens at the rear where you can take afternoon tea at your leisure ( open to passers-by seeking a cuppa ). The whole place was clean and comfortable and the staff were pleasant and accommodating. The first evening we dined in the brasserie and enjoyed a lovely meal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Found this lovely place by chance when looking for lunch on a drive down to Cornwall. Friendly / attentive staff, beautiful gardens and excellent food. Seemed very family friendly too. Will aim to return for a lengthier lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WJD66 Thanks for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your lunch stop with us on your way to Cornwall. I hope you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Yours Adam More

Chepstow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an overnight stay at this hotel. it is very comfortable, although a little old fashioned, but in a good way - it is like stepping back in time. The breakfast is very good. There is a very nice garden at the back of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heather R Thanks for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our traditional hospitality. We try to blend modernity with old fashioned service and I am glad that you appreciate it. Yours Adam More

Halton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped at this hotel to charge our electric car on a trip from Cheshire down to Helland near Bodmin. Really easy to locate, friendly staff, had some drinks whilst we waited for the car to charge. The menu looked great, unfortunately we didn't have enough time to sample it.... Two charging points, 1 x 16amp and 1 x 32amp,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed for one night in a Classic Double Room at the rate of £180 per night B&B. The room was pretty, but the bathroom was minute. The bathroom fittings needed upgrading, and guests were warned to shut the door because steam might set off the fire alarm! It was an extremely claustrophobic experience because of the size of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gertrude40, I am pleased that you thought that ours is a charming hotel but of course I am very sorry that we did not deliver as well as we should have during your stay with us and in particular for the Sunday morning breakfast. As you correctly diagnosed, the team that we had on were missing the experienced person... More

Slough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Had this hotel bar recommended by Newmoor Park Guest House (separate revue - A1) which, is a short distance away. Very friendly staff, not in your face, great food (pork loin and duck) and a good selection of local ciders. We plan to use the guest house again and will be using the Hotel bar for our food. This isn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday in Devon and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Yours Adam More

banbury
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for a wedding locally and had to move rooms due to the lack of no internet signal as I still had to work on and off over the weekend the staff were very accommodating and we were moved to a better area so I could access the internet The restaurant served excellent food we ate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BanburyOscar Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our food and the friendliness of our staff team. One of the sofas in the Sitting Room was tired but it has been replaced this week and I hope that you will enjoy it on your next visit. Yours Adam More

Do you own or manage Arundell Arms Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Address: Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay