We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

3.0 of 5 The Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Hotel website
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    111
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
26
188
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (274)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
london england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was very good. We did say we would upgrade our room if we did not like but room was excellent. Staff very efficient and willing to help in anyway they could and all requests were attended to from dining room to housekeeping etc. The only thing we would comment on is that we stayed a week before Christmas and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suzette B, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will investigate why the hotels background music was not on during your stay. I apologise for this happening and I will work with my reception and bar teams to ensure that the music... More 

Truro,UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After 2 visits to a Shearing's hotel in N. Devon, which were very successful we decided to try the Imperial in Exmouth as it had been recommended. The building and grounds were every bit as good as the pictures suggest. However, the staff were borderline surly which was such a surprise after Lynton. The catering was works canteen standard, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy J, I have read your review with great detail and I am sadden that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Imperial Hotel. Our aim is to ensure all your guests have a good holiday at great value. I am sorry to have read that you found staff to be surly. As you can... More 

swindon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 5 day break at this lovely Shearings hotel. First impression not good, the entrance looks like the way in to a very grubby santa' grotto, steep steps covered by a dirty, tatty canopy. Once inside we were warmly greeted by a friendly receptionist who gave us our key and directed us to our room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra w, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of us here at the Imperial hotel. I am pleased to read that you found your rooms to be nice and clean. I am sorry that you did not like the entrance to the hotel or that it is up ten steps. We do however have an... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We spent 5 days at this hotel, not our first visit. We like Exmouth and the hotel suits us well. The chef caters for dietry requirements and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. We will probably return again before too long.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear POOKIE18, Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experiences with us here at the Imperial hotel and we would love to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I enjoy the facilities at the Imperial Hotel, the staff are very good, the choice of meals very acceptable and I like having a room overlooking the sea. I do not like the charge made for parking my car when the car park was only a third full. I will still be back for more!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan S, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to read that this was your sixth visit. I am sorry that you felt the car parking charge was unnecessary, but this is an optional choice to guarantee a parking space. Hope to see you again soon, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Another excellent weekend spent at the Imperial, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely room overlooking the promenade, very clean and comfortable. Food was good and considering the cost it was all excellent value for money, we will be returning.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline O, Thank your for taking your time to post a review on us here at the Imperial Hotel. I am pleased to read that you found us excellent value for money. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

This mid-week break was our 4th visit to this hotel during the last 6 years. A number of very positive features were spoilt somewhat this time by 3 issues which we feel ought to be attended to a.s.a.p. The 3 negatives were:- 1. We found the internal lighting to have deteriorated considerably. Low energy lightbulbs have been installed in many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Russ91, Thank you for your recent feedback. Firstly may I offer an apologise for all the experiences you encounter over the duration of your stay. The hotel is currently working on a programme for new LED lighting to introduce. Bedroom and Bathrooms are on our on-going refurbishment programme that has seen a vast amount of improvements with more rooms... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Had super room on ground floor as requested.It was very clean and recently decorated.Staff were very pleasant but the food let them down.All our meals were cold as were the plates.Food was not as good as when we were there in the spring.The position of the hotel will encourage us to go again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kathleen659, Thank you for your recent feedback. I am ever so sorry to read that you did not like the food during your stay, for this I apologise. I will investigate why you didn't receive the normal high standard of food we offer like you previously enjoyed in the spring. I hope that the above does not put you... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

Beside the coast and estuary of Exmouth itself, there are several interesting places to visit in the locality. The hotel food was excellent and there was plenty of choice. Our re-furbished room was clean & warm with a beautiful sea view. All the staff (mostly foreign) were very polite and keen to please. Parking available at the hotel and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear veryhap, Thank you for posting your recent review. I hope that you visit us again in the near future and I we pass your comments onto my team at the next meeting. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We would definitely return to the imperial from the moment we arrived everything was as we wanted it to be , low floor rooms were perfect , only thing better would have been Seaview :-) . We thought our waitress may have been hard of hearing , we kept asking for toast to be left a bit longer but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret b, Thank you for your review. I apologise for the service you experienced in the Restaurant. I will raise this this the Restaurant Manageress. Thank you for your feedback, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Imperial Exmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay