We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Hotel website
The Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £129
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    130
    59
    24
    11
See reviews for
32
215
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (316)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. I had a single room with a sea view which was lovely and was a decent size. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very nice and there was a good choice each evening. There was wifi in the lounge which was good but it's a shame you couldn't get it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of us here at the Imperial Hotel, Exmouth. I am pleased to read that you took full use of the view and that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel in Exmouth. Room neat and clean - car park view but very quiet. Food very good - even for this picky eater. We parked for free in a nearby street to save the £5 per day parking charge at the hotel (we didn't use the car at all once we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time hear and I do hope that you come back to visit so again soon. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited with a friend for lunch on the recommendation of another friend. Beautifully situated with lovely gardens right on the sea front. Plenty of outdoor seating, which we could not use on this visit as it was raining. The food was delicious, well presented and good value. However the service was not as good as I would have expected.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am sorry to read that the service did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for the kind comments in your review. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited for a two night stay which was very pleasant. We upgraded so had a balcony room with a view across the estuary. It was comfortable. The staff were attentive and friendly. The food was reasonable but tended to be on the less generous side. However, a la carte was available at an extra cost. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Thank you for your recent review on us here at the Imperial Hotel. I will investigate the portion control with the Kitchen and action were needed. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In every aspect the Imperial Hotel at Exmouth far exceeded our expectations. Great weather, not too hot, greeted our visit. We had already upgraded to a high floor superior room, and with such lovely weather our balcony was a real feature; being able to sit out enjoying the delightful views across to Dawlish and distant Dartmoor. Great to catch the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for a wonderful review. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall pleasant hotel, although disappointed they didn't do room service. Breakfast was ok, but very small, not enough to sustain someone with a good appetite. Overall happy for the price we paid, but wouldn't want to pay more. Location great, and view was beautiful from our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erica, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to read that you are pleased with your overall stay and that you found it good for the money paid and a room with a beautiful view. Breakfast contains fruit, yogurts, cold meat, cereal, juices, toast and hot breakfast to your liking. You can at... More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The two plus points on this Hotel are its setting (central for the town and views toward Torbay that are wonderful) and its mass of parking. After that it is a little tired and there are signs of cost cutting that would worry me given the new Premier Inn nearby. Our room was OK but everything was a little tired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry that your dining experiences at Breakfast have forced you and your friend RCB89 to write such a negative review. Your comment at the end of for review does match your comments when departing as you stated anything else was lovely. I will investigate all comments raised and action were needed. Your feedback is vital for... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel location was wonderful just across the road from the beach. It stood in its own large grounds with a lovely sun terrace with plentiful tables, chairs and umbrellas, unfortunately all the chairs were put away by 6.30pm. We stayed during the heatwave and looked forward to a drink on the sun terrace but all the chairs had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us. I am perplexed however as you said you had a lovely time with us and you did comment on the issues you had a breakfast (at the end of stay). Your comments will be investigated and actioned were needed. Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to this hotel earlier this year. First time on my own. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was first class and a variety of choice. All ln all a great break and I look forward to visiting again soon .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bill, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. I will pass your feedback onto the staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

The hotel is excellent - the room, standard twin, was nicely decorated and bathroom had been recently renovated. Meals were excellent too, nicely served with plenty of choice. Waiting staff, largely foreign, were helpful, though service was a trifle slow, probably because the hotel was busy and many of the visitors were elderly. The hotel was situated on the esplanade,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet, Thank you for the lovely review on your recent stay with us here at the Imperial hotel. I apologise if you felt the service was slow in the Restaurant during your. I will investigate this with the Restaurant Manageress. The Entertainment programme has changed over to due Summer, we find that most of the guests are happier sitting... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barn Hotel
Barn Hotel
#9 of 10 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay