We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Hotel website
The Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    120
    54
    22
    11
See reviews for
28
198
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We took a chance to get some sun, sea and sand and ended up in Exmouth. We had a twin room which was very clean and comfortable. The cooked breakfast was satisfactory. Location was great. Two hundred yards to the beach and 5oo yards to the town. We have been in similar hotels by the sea and the price has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for Easter, firstly there is plenty of free parking at the hotel so don't panic buy reserved parking, we were told the hotel was full but there were plenty of unreserved spaces. Room was okay, good size and clean if a little tired. Bar was pleasant and staff very friendly and helpful. The evening meals were really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TamworthHolly, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us here at the Imperial Hotel, Exmouth. I am sorry to read that we failed to provide our normal high standard at Breakfast. I will investigate with both the Restaurant and Kitchen teams what happen and action where required. I am pleased that you found our Bar... More 

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

4 night break with Shearings the check in was quick and efficient. The hotel is in a great location on the esplanade we had a room with sea-view and it was perfect.Food was excellent and general hotel décor was good. A lovely hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear miner49r, Thank you for such a lovely review and we hope that you come and visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel just a few days ago for two nights and whilst we were put in a basement room because the hotel was full we had a great stay. We had a few issues with the room such as a toilet that would not flush and a faulty TV. Both these issues were resolved fairly quickly. Had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Les B, I apologise deeply for the issues that arose in your bedroom during you're stay. I will investigate why these weren't spotted earlier by my team. I am however glad that Maintenance were able to rectify them quickly for you so you could enjoy the rest of stay. Heating is operated via a BMS but can be overridden... More 

wiltshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oh Dear. when you first enter the awful filthy canopy to the front of the hotel, you realise this is not a gran hotel. a previous cell mate left a plastic cup in the entrance to the hotel and was still there when we left. The hotel was full of, lets ay more mature folk, but so what. I paid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear casamia123, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us here at the Imperial Hotel. Your comments about the breakfast and staff have been taken on-board and in investigated where needed. Although they do contradict most guests’ opinions of our staff and food quality, but then again this is your opinion. February is a cold month... More 

Dorset
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a 3 night break at the Imperial and the only fault we can mention is the uncomfortable bed. The staff were friendly, rooms clean and comfy (apart from bed) and its situation was perfect. You can get to Exeter on the train - the station is less than 10 minutes walk and it costs £4.20 return and leaves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gaileyDorset, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so sorry to read there was issues with the WIFI during your stay. The Receptionist were in communications with the internet provider as they had difficulties at there end. I am just sorry that it effected you and other guests which is certainly not what would... More 

Bebington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having just returned from a 4 night break with Shearings and having stayed at a number of Shearings hotels The Imperial proved by far the best in every respect. On arrival the coach was met immediately by the manager to welcome you and from then on for the whole of the stay , every member of staff was so professional,friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian J, Thank you for posting just a great review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I hope you come back and see us again soon. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

The Imperial is a grand old style hotel located close to the beach with stunning sea views from the lounge and most bedrooms. Food - The food is of acceptable quality having regard to the price, there is an opportunity to upgrade to a "better menu" at dinner but the cost to upgrade is not good value for money. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Calidad68, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on us here at the Imperial Hotel. I will speak to the Chefs regarding the cooking of your eggs, it’s certainly not normal occurrence. I am ever so sorry to read that you thought the Restaurant staff were not enthusiastic, as you can see from many reviews the... More 

Rushden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Only stayed for one night but we were pleased with our choice of hotel. Plenty of parking on arrival and the check in was quick and efficient. The hotel is in a great location on the esplanade and within easy walking distance of the town centre. The room was well appointed and had a great view of the sea, estuary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ShareHolders, Thank you for the review. I hope if your in the area next time you will come back and stay with us. Kind Regards, Luke Binks General Manager More 

norwich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

After a bad experience with Shearings last year (shabby/dirty room in hotel at Whitby) we were persuaded to try give them another try and went to the Imperial Hotel in Exmouth on a five day break which finished on the 27th February. The hotel and room was a lot better but the holiday was made really good by the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Luke Binks G M, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear telNorwich, I am pleased to read that my team were able to offer you a better experience than before. I am delighted that you were persuaded to give shearing's another try and that my staff made for an enjoyable stay. I will personally pass on your comment to Ruben, Chris and the rest of the team. Hope to see... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question