We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Exmouth hotels

Royal Beacon Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England
Hotel amenities
Royal Beacon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Daniel D Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    73
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
77
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (162)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here Stayed here after a wake for a family member. we had the wake in the hotel and many of us stayed. Very impressed with the hotel had amazing charm friendly staff not to fancy!! no unneeded flashiness just a nice old hotel with good bars and restaurants great a family no matter what age! Good value for money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
127 hotel reviews
568 helpful votes 568 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Super position high up overlooking the sea. Be careful when leaving as road runs across bottom of front door steps - no pavement this side. Looks to have had many improvements in last 2 years. Stayed one night in Courtyard room 404, for which you have to cross the small car park. Ground floor room spacious and clean, but disconcerting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying at the Royal beacon hotel, one of the best hotels we have been to. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast delicious! We had dinner last night in 'Donato's' their Italian restaurant, which I can only describe as mouth watering. Have really enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear roxiemuse59, We are always delighted when our guests provide positive feedback and I’d like to thank you for nice words on behalf of all my colleagues here at Royal Beacon Hotel. Our employees take great pride in looking after our guests and I am happy that you’ve found their efforts and our facilities satisfying. I’ll make sure to pass... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived a little early but just parked up and went for a wander exmouth is one of our favourite places ...it was a difficult day for me ... The first anniversary of my dad passing away :( after a lovely day in exmouth we went to the room which had stunning sea views ...my partner however was very hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to write your review after recent stay at Royal Beacon Hotel. I appreciate your comments and will be happy to pass on good feedback to all my colleagues who made the difference to your stay with us. I hope your partner is feeling better now and we all at Royal Beacon Hotel... More

England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at the Royal Beacon for 3 nights from Oct 16 to 19, 2014. We arrived a few hours early and when we were billeted at the Annex (The Courtyard Rooms), the musty smell and dreadful stain on the carpet greeted us as we walked-in. The room was clean until we noticed cobwebs on the ceiling and the net... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lilly, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback after your recent stay at Royal Beacon Hotel. Without constructive criticism such as yours we are unable to constantly monitor and improve our levels of guest satisfaction and I’d like to assure you that all your comments were passed on to our Housekeeping and issues mentioned by... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I stayed at the Royal Beacon for a weekend in October 2014. The stay was absolutely fine although the public areas in the annexe were a little tired (grubby carpet, scuffed walls, etc.) On checking my statement on my return I had been overcharged by £59 - I called the hotel and the servers were down so I was promised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicky B I am sorry that you have chosen this website to provide, differing feedback, after we had discussed this matter privately. As you will see from the many favourable comments we receive, this matter, in your description, was not what our guests normally experience and for this I can only apologise sincerely. We would be delighted if you... More

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Nice clean and welcoming hotel, good Bar and restaurant area - helpful receptionist . We had a Budget room in the adjoining block which was OK ...Clean except for a dreadful stain on the carpet right as you walk in ..so hard to miss ..A pity..kinda puts you off a bit. We got two twin beds which we had requested,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Strummer07 We are always delighted when our guests provide valuable feedback, through this popular website, especially as our £59 room only, budget rooms are proving extremely good value. Our staff make great efforts in looking after our guests, from delicious breakfasts to fine meals in our restaurants and their kind manners. The hotel's location is an ideal base to... More

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting a friend. I was in one of the cheaper rooms in the courtyard (car park?!). For the price everything was OK but just attention to detail could have changed my first impression as I walked into the room, the first things I saw were dirty stained net curtains and torn bed linen.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie K Thank you for taking time to provide valuable feedback after your recent stay at our hotel, I was sorry to learn of the problems you experienced, but pleased that you found our staff to be helpful, as we take great pride in our efforts, to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. Please be assured I have discussed... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

This is a traditional, older hotel. There are some areas that need attention, such as worn carpets in public areas. Apart from this , the hotel is good. The view from our room was splendid, looking out to sea from a bay window. The facilities were good, although the lighting could be brighter in the bathroom. As this was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark B We were delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is always very uplifting to read when a guest enjoys their stay, especially when our team takes a great deal of pride in their hospitality skills. All your remarks are discussed in our monthlly team meetings and also form part of plans... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Had a really nice stay in hotel.Room very good but confusing to get to as more signage needed.Staff great fun and friendly.Breakfast was awesome as we had the choice of kippers as a nice change from full English.Short stroll down the hill to the centre of town or the beach,taxi back. Nice change from the chain hotels I usually stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fizzio4u2 We are delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. With our location being close to the sea and using the abundance of fish available in all our menus, we are able to provide a fantastic choice for guests to taste. Many thanks for your valuable comments. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay