We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Exmouth hotels

Royal Beacon Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England
Hotel amenities
Royal Beacon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
79%
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Bloomfield_Lily England
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
76
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Royal Beacon for 3 nights from Oct 16 to 19, 2014. We arrived a few hours early and when we were billeted at the Annex (The Courtyard Rooms), the musty smell and dreadful stain on the carpet greeted us as we walked-in. The room was clean until we noticed cobwebs on the ceiling and the net... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Royal Beacon for a weekend in October 2014. The stay was absolutely fine although the public areas in the annexe were a little tired (grubby carpet, scuffed walls, etc.) On checking my statement on my return I had been overcharged by £59 - I called the hotel and the servers were down so I was promised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicky B I am sorry that you have chosen this website to provide, differing feedback, after we had discussed this matter privately. As you will see from the many favourable comments we receive, this matter, in your description, was not what our guests normally experience and for this I can only apologise sincerely. We would be delighted if you... More

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice clean and welcoming hotel, good Bar and restaurant area - helpful receptionist . We had a Budget room in the adjoining block which was OK ...Clean except for a dreadful stain on the carpet right as you walk in ..so hard to miss ..A pity..kinda puts you off a bit. We got two twin beds which we had requested,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Strummer07 We are always delighted when our guests provide valuable feedback, through this popular website, especially as our £59 room only, budget rooms are proving extremely good value. Our staff make great efforts in looking after our guests, from delicious breakfasts to fine meals in our restaurants and their kind manners. The hotel's location is an ideal base to... More

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting a friend. I was in one of the cheaper rooms in the courtyard (car park?!). For the price everything was OK but just attention to detail could have changed my first impression as I walked into the room, the first things I saw were dirty stained net curtains and torn bed linen.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie K Thank you for taking time to provide valuable feedback after your recent stay at our hotel, I was sorry to learn of the problems you experienced, but pleased that you found our staff to be helpful, as we take great pride in our efforts, to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. Please be assured I have discussed... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a traditional, older hotel. There are some areas that need attention, such as worn carpets in public areas. Apart from this , the hotel is good. The view from our room was splendid, looking out to sea from a bay window. The facilities were good, although the lighting could be brighter in the bathroom. As this was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark B We were delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is always very uplifting to read when a guest enjoys their stay, especially when our team takes a great deal of pride in their hospitality skills. All your remarks are discussed in our monthlly team meetings and also form part of plans... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a really nice stay in hotel.Room very good but confusing to get to as more signage needed.Staff great fun and friendly.Breakfast was awesome as we had the choice of kippers as a nice change from full English.Short stroll down the hill to the centre of town or the beach,taxi back. Nice change from the chain hotels I usually stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fizzio4u2 We are delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. With our location being close to the sea and using the abundance of fish available in all our menus, we are able to provide a fantastic choice for guests to taste. Many thanks for your valuable comments. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager More

Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stayed last week for a couple of nights, had one of the smaller rooms with a small shower / toilet but in general all was OK. Quite bar, but very helpful and friendly night porter who also serves in the bar. Breakfast is traditional English which is a nice change from some of the chain hotels. Found all staff friendly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seaview2 Thank you for providing valuable feedback after your recent stay at our hotel.We are always pleased to read such comments, when our guests have enjoyed the level of service we provide. I have passed a copy to the relevant members of our team and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Yours sincerely John E.... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 via mobile

Exmouth hotels do not have to try too hard. I stayed here in a twin room and the bathroom was lovely! Brand new it seemed, with nice new chrome electric fittings in the bedroom. It was just a shame about the very thread bare bedroom carpet. Reception team were great though, lovely personalities and very helpful. Breakfast was lovely, not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca B Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, through this popular website and please be assurred your valuable comments will be part of our customer service, training schedule and future refurbishment plans. It is always pleasing to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and we look forward to your return in the not... More

Somerset
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday evening in early September for £59.00 room only. We had a ground floor road over looking the main road, obviously for people paying the cheaper rates. The room was clean and well equipped, bathroom was large with a good shower and the usual black mold on the grout between the tiles. My only complaint would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mattthekat We are extremely grateful for your feedback and delighted to read how you took advantage of our very attractive £59 room only offer in our courtyard bedrooms. Your comments have been discussed at our monthly team meeting, which includes guest feedback. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager More

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed just the one night and have to say we have no complaints at all. On arrival we were able to check in well before the official time and were greeted by a very nice friendly receptionist our room on the 3rd floor was spacious and clean, well furnished with a comfortable bed and a very spacious bathroom. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you for the positive report you have provided on this popular website, after your recent stay at our hotel. It is always pleasing for our staff to read such comments, as they make great efforts to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. We continue to improve our facilities, were possible and are grateful for everyone... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay