We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Exmouth hotels

Royal Beacon Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England
Hotel amenities
Royal Beacon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Jackie K Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
73
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting a friend. I was in one of the cheaper rooms in the courtyard (car park?!). For the price everything was OK but just attention to detail could have changed my first impression as I walked into the room, the first things I saw were dirty stained net curtains and torn bed linen.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a traditional, older hotel. There are some areas that need attention, such as worn carpets in public areas. Apart from this , the hotel is good. The view from our room was splendid, looking out to sea from a bay window. The facilities were good, although the lighting could be brighter in the bathroom. As this was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark B We were delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is always very uplifting to read when a guest enjoys their stay, especially when our team takes a great deal of pride in their hospitality skills. All your remarks are discussed in our monthlly team meetings and also form part of plans... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a really nice stay in hotel.Room very good but confusing to get to as more signage needed.Staff great fun and friendly.Breakfast was awesome as we had the choice of kippers as a nice change from full English.Short stroll down the hill to the centre of town or the beach,taxi back. Nice change from the chain hotels I usually stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fizzio4u2 We are delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. With our location being close to the sea and using the abundance of fish available in all our menus, we are able to provide a fantastic choice for guests to taste. Many thanks for your valuable comments. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager More

Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed last week for a couple of nights, had one of the smaller rooms with a small shower / toilet but in general all was OK. Quite bar, but very helpful and friendly night porter who also serves in the bar. Breakfast is traditional English which is a nice change from some of the chain hotels. Found all staff friendly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seaview2 Thank you for providing valuable feedback after your recent stay at our hotel.We are always pleased to read such comments, when our guests have enjoyed the level of service we provide. I have passed a copy to the relevant members of our team and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Yours sincerely John E.... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Exmouth hotels do not have to try too hard. I stayed here in a twin room and the bathroom was lovely! Brand new it seemed, with nice new chrome electric fittings in the bedroom. It was just a shame about the very thread bare bedroom carpet. Reception team were great though, lovely personalities and very helpful. Breakfast was lovely, not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca B Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, through this popular website and please be assurred your valuable comments will be part of our customer service, training schedule and future refurbishment plans. It is always pleasing to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and we look forward to your return in the not... More

Somerset
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on a Saturday evening in early September for £59.00 room only. We had a ground floor road over looking the main road, obviously for people paying the cheaper rates. The room was clean and well equipped, bathroom was large with a good shower and the usual black mold on the grout between the tiles. My only complaint would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mattthekat We are extremely grateful for your feedback and delighted to read how you took advantage of our very attractive £59 room only offer in our courtyard bedrooms. Your comments have been discussed at our monthly team meeting, which includes guest feedback. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager More

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed just the one night and have to say we have no complaints at all. On arrival we were able to check in well before the official time and were greeted by a very nice friendly receptionist our room on the 3rd floor was spacious and clean, well furnished with a comfortable bed and a very spacious bathroom. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you for the positive report you have provided on this popular website, after your recent stay at our hotel. It is always pleasing for our staff to read such comments, as they make great efforts to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. We continue to improve our facilities, were possible and are grateful for everyone... More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is without a doubt the best hotel in Exmouth if you can bag a front view room you will be very happy as the views across the estuary are great. Rooms nice and comfortable with all mod cons. Reception staff really do go the extra mile to make sure your stay Is enjoyable. Can't wait to come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick B Many thanks for taking the time to provide your positive feedback, it is always pleasing to read such comments. A copy has been passed onto our reception team. As you mention our sea view rooms have exquisite views across the River Exe Estuary and are well worth a visit. We look forward to you returning soon. Yours... More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a budget room for an overnight stay before a camping trip with Boys & Girls Brigade. The welcome we received was warm and friendly. Our room was basic as would be expected but it was clean and comfortable with free wifi. Had an excellent and very reasonably priced Italian mean at the hotel and the staff there were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joleighton 1804 We were delighted to read your comments after your stay in one of our extremely popular budget rooms. Such comments are always shared at our team meetings, so your feedback reaches the relevant team members. Our hotel staff are often complemented to their helpful nature and we look forward to your next visit. Yours sincerely John E.... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

My family (2 adults & 2 children) have recently stayed for 2 nights at this hotel, which despite being a little tired and old fashioned, was lovely! We had 2 adjoining rooms (202 & 204) with sea views! The rooms were very spacious and the bathrooms were extra large! Both rooms had big flat screen TV's and great amenities (tea,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorrainewayne Thank you for your positive remarks after your recent stay our hotel. We have quality family rooms and we are delighted you have found these to your liking. It is always pleasing to read your comments and these are always shared with the members of team, when we meet to review our service skills. We look forward to... More

Do you own or manage Royal Beacon Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Royal Beacon Hotel