We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Exmouth hotels

Bay Grand Hotel

Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT DEALS!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (216)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (119)
  • Location
  • More
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Exmouth
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    81
    56
    18
    12
See reviews for
19
146
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Made a late booking and asked for an upgraded room but was told only a standard room was left. The room although quite small was adequate for a short stay and was exceptionally clean with plenty of drawer storage. The bathroom!( approximately 6 by 6) was also sufficient with a walk in shower and was again very clean.In fact the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burton upon Ttrent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first visit to this particular Shearings Bay Hotel although we have previously used a total of seventeen of their outlets in the past. We were totally satisfied with just about every aspect of the hotel including the room itself, which was pleasant but clean and well attended by domestic staff. the catering and waitress service was also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Grand, I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you Kenny. More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights July 11th 2014. Paid extra for upgrade room, (room 35). If this is upgrade wouldn't like to see standard room, it was soulless facing back of hotel. Paid extra to park car (what a cheek!), could barely get car in let alone get out of car. I was constantly worried it would get damaged by other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you had a problem with the parking, I am pleased you found the food and the staff very good. Kenny. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having been treated like a rabid dog at the sister hotel(the imperial) and practically told we weren't the type of people they wanted there by the receptionist. I was wary about trying the grand, what a difference 100 yds makes! The receptionist(who I later found out was the manager's wife) could not do enough to accommodate us even though we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Grand Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and I will pass your kind comments on to the relevant staff who do work hard to make guests holidays as enjoyable as possible. As you say we are... More

Suzhou, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location on sea front and at quieter end of prom near to ferry to Starcross and tour boats, so very convenient, also a 5 minute walk into town. Hotel itself is old in parts, but newly decorated rooms are nice, very clean and fresh. Food is okay, not too many frills or extras but okay for a few days... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you felt the hotel good value for money for a short break. As you say the location is brilliant, close to the town and on the seafront with all amenities close at hand. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Regards Kenny sharp General Manager More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at the Grand Hotel in Exmouth on June 20th 2014 for three nights and found the experience and glorious weather exhilarating! The hotel is situated just across the road from the glorious sea and we had wonderful views of the sea and River Exe estuary. The room on the ground floor was convenient and the standard half board... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your holiday with us, it is appreciated. It gives me immense pleasure to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your break. I am glad you feel that the breaks are good value. I shall pass on your kind comments regarding the food and exceptional staff to the appropriate... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

THE UGLY! We visited independently and stayed 4 nights, Monday to Friday on half board basis. When booking we upgraded to a sea view and duly paid £56 as read in reviews such rooms had been revamped. As you HAVE to pay upfront this diminishes your options on arrival! Entering our room we found a largish brown mess on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your ‘good, bad and ugly’ review. Sorry to hear some aspects of your holiday were not to your liking. All of our sea view rooms have been refurbished and have excellent sea views along our beautiful sea front. We did not refuse to change your room, at the time we did only have a superior sea view... More

SWINDON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at the Grand for three nights in May. Could not have had a nicer break. Food was good and staff in all departments were so efficient and nothing was to much trouble for them. Up graded to a sea view room which was well worth doing bearing in mind the wonderfull views gained. Accommodation was very good. Would definately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for talking the time to write a lovely review. Our new lift is now working and we have just completed refurbishing 12 new rooms. It is much appreciated when the hard effort that all the staff put in to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible is... More

Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel,superb room with lovely sea and estuary views also promenade very clean and staff extremely helpful,food was a lot better than we had experienced in other bay hotels.Wi fi is also available.Only one lift was in use,but we understand now that both lifts are now working.We will definately be returning in the future for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5 star review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be pleased to hear that our new lift is up and running. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand soon. Kind Regards Kenny Sharp General Manager More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The rooms we chose had a wonderful sea view - the greatest asset of this hotel. It has a fabulous position on Exmouth sea front and is only a stone's throw from the lovely sandy beach. I'd also like to praise the staff who were friendly and helpful, clearly wanting guests to have a good stay. Our room was fine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review, we always welcome all comments good or otherwise as this can help us improve. As you say the sea views are wonderful and I am glad you enjoyed your room. I am sorry about your relatives shower if we had known we could maybe have lowered it or moved her to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
74

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Bay Grand Hotel to your Saves list