We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Grand Hotel

Hotel website
Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £95
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay Grand Hotel
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    120
    74
    25
    14
See reviews for
26
198
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (299)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed in several Shearings Bay Hotels and they have been of a good standard. But this Hotel was awful having said that, the staff were all very nice, polite, and helpful but the room was terrible. We paid extra for a sea view thinking we would have a better than a standard room but how wrong were we!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very disappointed expect better from shearings was nothing grand about the hotel staff couldn't undersand english food very poor and not enough of it bathroom flooded when having a shower will not be coming back as was our anniversary weekend

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here at the Grand, we do get some very positive reviews, and have many guests returning year after year, I will look into your comments regarding your stay. More 

Travelers are raving about these Exmouth hotels

Swadlincote Derbys
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had not heard about recent virus when getting to hotel but all seemed well on arrival. Pleasant staff, very obliging no mad rush for the lift to put away cases .Room well equipped even though we had an upgrade. Food very good & service excellent. The choice very good. This hotel is well situated right on the front & just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

A lovely review, thank you for taking the time to write it. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the food and were happy with the service that you received. We do have a good team of staff who try their best to keep our customers happy. As you say we are in an excellent location on the seafront... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from Grand Hotel Exmouth where we have had 4 lovely days. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the bed superb. We had lovely breakfasts every day and the evening meals were great too. All the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Claire in the dining room who looked after us very well. Also Debbie was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your five star review. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent break with us. I will pass your kind comments on to our chef and the rest of the staff. I do hope we will see you again in the future. Kind Regards Kenny Sharp( General Manager) More 

Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Spent a 4 day break here with Shearings and, despite being a bit apprehensive due to reports of norovirus outbreak recently, we had a lovely stay. The room was clean and comfortable (standard plus). Staff were friendly and super efficient in the dining room. Food good with plenty of choice. Bottles of handgel available everywhere, which we used to excess.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say we have a fantastic location being right on the sea front and the local amenities all within a short distance of the hotel. We hope that you will return to us again. Regards Kenny Sharp General Manager More 

Swavesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

What plans do you have to repair the second lift, and also rebuild the staircases ? Our room was perfectly fine, although a drudge to get to, and the bathroom was clean but a little inefficient: rather small and unsuitably designed for older people, also 'hot water' (despite the sticker saying beware) was hard to come by. Our view out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break with us and appreciate how hard the staff do work to make the holidays enjoyable. I do agree with you that the gardens in Exmouth are stunning at the moment with the spring flowers. I will look into your comments about the stairwells, and take any action if... More 

1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Location good, staff good but we were not informed by Shearings or the Hotel that they had had an outbreak of Novavirus over the last few weeks. We only found on our first night of our 4 night holiday when locals informed us in a local pub. We started to hear that people were ill then on Thursday my husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
St. Neot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Typical Bay hotel all appear to be older and there is a little evidence of shabbiness but clean and "pen and ink" free. Staff all helpful, food ok no complaints. Walk out the front door cross the road and there's the sea/beach good for evening walks. Not far from town centre and Wetherspoons. Unfortunately unless you upgrade your room the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I agree with you we are in a most convenient position and do try to provide good value form money. It is worth the upgrade to a seaview because the views are beautiful. I am pleased you found the staff pleasant and helpful. kind Regards Kenny Sharp ( General Manager) More 

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

My wife and i spent five days at the Grand Hotel, 30th to 3rd April. Lucky we did not catch the out break of NOVIRUS QUESTIONS for the Manager, why did Customer Services not get in-touch with the Guest before they started there journey, why did you not inform any guest that there was a problem at the hotel on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

We booked a midweek break here with Shearings, 23-27 March. I wish I had seen Tripadvisor's ght1948 review before we travelled! Whilst The Grand Hotel and Shearings were aware of their apparent novovirus outbreak the week before, we were not. The deep clean implemented by Bay Hotels was not effective. Nearly half the guests during our stay came down with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities