We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Grand Hotel

Hotel website
Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £97
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay Grand Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    131
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
28
208
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (318)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is the third Shearing hotel we have stayed at and we were not disappointed. We reserved a parking place (recommended) in a space right in front of the hotel. The spaces are a bit tight for large vehicles. Reception was efficient and friendly. We upgraded to a large sea facing room which was worth the extra cost as some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your recent review of the Grand Hotel. I am pleased that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us. The restaurant do work hard to ensure everyone is looked after as well as possible. Seaview rooms are always a good choice and the views never disappoint. I hope you have many more enjoyable trips with Shearings. Kind... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff are friendly enough but my mum cannot manage the step to get into the 'walk-in shower'. Room is dated, bathroom is shabby and seems to be grotty. Hole in the wall near ceiling in bedroom. She cannot sit in the lounge because there are no disabled toilets; in fact no disability friendly facilities at all. I thought disabled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry we did not meet with your mothers expectations, we do try our best to meet all our guests needs. We do have many guests returning year after year, and many of these guests have varying levels of disability. More 

Travelers are raving about these Exmouth hotels

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a Shearings Coach holiday to this Hotel. It was fabulous value for money, our room was basic but clean and very well serviced (Upgrades are available if required) The food was excellent, plenty of choice and amazingly speedy service. The hotel is located right on the sea front with short level walk into the town centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for writing a review. I'm pleased that you thought the service we gave was great value for money, we do try our best to ensure everybody enjoys their holiday and it's always good when we hear that we have succeeded. I will past on your feedback regarding the food to the kitchen, meanwhile I do hope that we can... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Returned home today after a 3night stay at this hotel. It is in a fantastic location, overlooking the sea and a short stroll from the pleasant town and local amenities. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean with very pleasant and welcoming bar and public areas. The restaurant was exceptionally well run, service was excellent both at breakfast and dinner, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is much appreciated. I will pass on your comments to the staff. I am pleased to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we all hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Kenny Sharp More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

avery good break in exmouth, hotel dated but the service,food, entertainment was good, extra good for my wife and i as we won £50 on there bingo.hotel very clean, room basic but comfortable, bed and bathroom linen nice and clean, the food was very good with a good choice of starters,main,deserts or cheese and biscuits and tea and coffee, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Grand, Exmouth is a fantastic location, and a great place to relax and unwind, we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you Kenny. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

This was our second visit to this hotel the first being several years ago. Noted big improvements to decor. The meals all excellent. Have been to lots of Shearing hotels up and down the country. Sometimes, needed to eat out and skip hotel meals. Not the case here. Also service excellent. Can only think this hotel has a good manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad that you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us, we will look forward to welcoming you back for a 3rd stay and more in the future. Regards Kenny Sharp General Manager More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Single room was adequate but bathroom very small, would not do for a large person.Everything was clean in the room which is the main thing. Well located on the sea front and easy access to harbour and town centre. Just a shame that the dining room is downstairs with no view out. Good value for money and food was reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Kenny Sharp General Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Thursday menu and 4 items on menu contained mushrooms next time I will bring in a pizza for my tea as I cannot eat the little blighters.Our waiter ,Zoltan is hard working, cheerful and attentive.A lovely lad and a credit to the hotel and his family back home Watch out as we will adopt him next visit .A pity the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I will pass on your kind words to Zoltan. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Grand and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you Kenny. More 

West Midlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We stayed in room 30 which was in dire need of a refurb. Most of the toilet fixtures where loose including the shower. The room had peeling paint or patches in need of repair. The window only partially opened and faced a wall which made the room stuffy. On the plus side, the food was quite good and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will look into your comments with reference to your room, we do like getting feedback, We do have a refurbishment programme in place and this feedback helps us with that, I will pass on your kind comments about the staff to the rest of the team. Thank you. Kenny. More 

South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

This was the second time I've stayed here on a Shearings coach trip but am afraid to say it will be the last. Back single room was shabby with no upgrades available. Carpet filthy - needs shampooing desperately. Suspicious looking stains on the cushion put on the single bed. Yuk! Food has got worse since my trip last year. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, as I have previously said we do take all comments good and bad seriously and I will investigate your complaints and take any action where necessary. However I can only apologise that this time we did not meet with your expectations. Regards Kenny Sharp More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay