We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Grand Hotel

Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Hotel website
Special Offer
STAY EXTRA NIGHT FOR £10
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay Grand Hotel
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    111
    72
    22
    12
See reviews for
26
183
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (281)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

just had a lovely weekend at the grand hotel. It was really good value for money. The decor a little dated but adequate. The rooms were a little small but very clean with nice bedding and towels. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our waiter was Vali and he was so good and helpful and polite. The only thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time I have complained about Bay hotels, but the bedroom carpet very old and it had lumps and bumps which you could trip on, large crack in ceiling and down the window wall. The last time it was decorated must have been in the 1980s. Someone must have complained about the door handle so they had tied a piece... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed in many, many Shearings Hotels before, and have had no problem selecting a room without a sea view when booking. This time we had a room without any view!! It took us a while to get over the frosted glass windows and lack of light but after deciding to draw the curtains and imagine we were in an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that aspects of your holiday where not to your satisfaction. I am pleased that you found the bedroom warm and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Not all rooms have an outlook and if available at booking sea view rooms are well worth the minimal extra cost. Our house red is... More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from 4 day break for valentines to Exmouth in this hotel.Coach wasn't a shearings was another company seating very crampt nowhere to put stuff infront of seat and no tray .The driver Charlie was great and funny made up for it.Hotel was clean and tidy staff friendly food was good entrtainment was good bingo pub quiz then singer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Tracy G for your review. Its always nice to hear how the staffs hard work to make your stay a pleasant one is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again for a longer stay. Regards Kenny GM More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Depends if you ok with Coach holidays/breaks. We tried this one and travelled t oGrand Hotel in Exmouth. Although it was a cool breeze from the sea, it was fresh [cobwebs gone!] and invigorating for the coastal walks we had wrapped up in our coat/scarfs and gloves. However, the sun was bright and did take the chill off during the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed and kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mention, we do feel that what we offer is very good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Regards Kenny GM More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here for a mid week break with Shearings coach holidays and found the hotel was good value for the price we paid. We have been on many similar holidays with Shearings and find that the quality of accommodation can be a bit variable, this one is somewhere in the middle of the scale. It is well situated on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and honest review, it is much appreciated. I will pass on your complimentary comments to the relevant departments. I shall be looking into a couple of the points which you raised, however overall I am pleased that you felt you had good value for money and enjoyed your stay... More 

Rainham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a Shearings break here last week. The decor needed doing in places - but very cheap break so don't know how they do it for the money. We paid £107 for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast. Food was enjoyed by all of our party of 4 - no complaints at all. The evening entertainment was ok - we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Pleased to here you enjoyed your break and found it very good value for money, see you again soon. Kenny GM. More 

Devizes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With the outside temperature low enough for the cars to be covered in frost each morning, we were looking forward to a weekend break in a warm hotel with a sea view. Wrong on both counts. Our very small room at the rear of the hotel had such a poorly fitting window that the towel I used to block the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we did have some very cold temperatures during your stay and had the heating on for long periods when guests where in the hotel, I am sorry to hear you still felt cold. You are able to book a sea view when you make your booking. I am Pleased to here you enjoyed the rest... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very unhappy with the basic room we were given grotty shower in what looked like a tiled toilet no shelf to put anything on or towel rail, small 8" tv thought they were a thing of the past. No heat in the lounges and radiators luke warm, water for shower warm. we went down and complained gave us another room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we had the central heating on throughout the nights last week in order to help keep the temperature constant, this was not easy to do considering the temperatures outside which as you say were well below zero, we did try our best. I was happy to hear you enjoyed your upgraded room at a very... More 

Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent the Christmas break here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our superior room had a lovely sea view and was large and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, service in the dining room was excellent, the food was very good and the staff worked very hard to make sure people were not kept waiting. The lounge areas are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, So glad to hear you had a good Xmas with us. All the staff do work really hard to make sure everyone enjoys their Christmas break. Pleased to see you enjoyed your upgraded rooms, they are lovely large rooms with the most fantastic views and well worth the supplement. Hope to see you again in the future and thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay