We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hunters Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Hotel amenities
The Hunters Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #2 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Enderley007 Stroud, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    112
    65
    34
    34
    19
See reviews for
62
141
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (264)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

First the posotive side of things. Great location and fantastic new decorative Edwardian look. Now the other side of the coin. Sorry guys but you are being let down by your food. To me it appears you have no head chief and are relying on bought in pre cooked food. Would love to see you turn this around as you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had a 3 night stay at the Hunters Inn - thoroughly enjoyable- location stunning - hotel relaxed - food good all mixed with a helpful,genial host. All in all fantastic - just what we and the dog needed! Already planning a return for later in the year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having recently taken up walking a few friends of mine suggested we all head down to The Hunters Inn after a long walk across the footpaths down to Hedons Mouth. What a great little place hidden in a pleasant vally leading onto the path to the rocky beaches. The choice of ale is great and food for what is was,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have visited The Hunters Inn many times over many years, my first visit as a child in the 60s!! To be fair it has had it's ups and downs but, in the last few years, since David took over, it has been very good indeed and my previous review would reflect this. Our visit on Saturday 13th June, however,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We received a very warm welcome when we arrived and were delighted with our room ( room 6 with the 4 poster bed and freestanding bath in ensuite...fab) . The setting is beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent , huge portions of food freshly cooked to order. We also enjoyed dinner the night before, although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review of the Hunters Inn. I am so glad that you enjoyed your reunion with us. The comment about the Wi-fi comes on the back of another reviewer who experienced a similar thing so we shall look into this and try to rectify it. More 

Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived close to 10PM. Chef was closing kitchen, but still managed to make us some sandwiches and a couple of bowls of Skinny Chips (French Fries). Hotel is warm and welcoming and the Staff are great. Dog-Friendly, with great walks, this is a lovely place to getaway. Of Note... Wifi isn't very good. Certainly not available throughout the hotel... Need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about the Hunters Inn. We do try to accommodate guests and ensure their comfort at all times throughout their stay. We are a little puzzled by the problem with the internet as it is essential to the smooth running of the hotel, both for guests and those working behind the scenes alike. Sometimes it... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a walk down to the nearby beach we were ready for lunch, which turned out to be a huge disappointment! The pub wasn't busy but we had quite a wait for our food and wished we hadn't bothered. We had the Hunters chicken, which was bland with a drizzle of bbq sauce and the pie of the day. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which we take very seriously. Unfortunately one of our chefs was taken ill suddenly leaving the kitchen in a difficult position. This then had an impact on the service due to the extra pressure on the remaining staff. However, your comments about the dishes have been fed back to the kitchen. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had a short break at Hunters Inn. Hotel room was large and very comfortable. The bathroom had a free standing bath and shower cubicle. Wish we could have stayed longer as it was so beautiful .David and his staff were lovely ,helpful and cheerful. Will defiantly be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

I have just shown potential customers around a selection of the guest rooms and one comment made echoes your own - that whilst the Standard doubles beautiful and extremely comfortable, the Superior doubles are worth the extra tariff. Every room, whether standard or double, has a beautiful outlook either to the front and the valley or to the rear and... More 

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in today after a walk to the sea, ordered the food which was only a cheddar cheese ciabatta and a chilli pork wrap, it took an hour to arrive and they weren't busy, luckily it was a warm sunny day and we weren't in a hurry. The chilli pork wrap was dry and couldn't taste any chilli but a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

We take very seriously your comments about the pork wrap and have fed this back to the kitchen. Unfortunately we had a chef away for a period of around a week and this did impact on the service which we were able to provide. Hopefully you will be able to return at some point and have a much improved experience. More 

Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say the food is just great and well worth the money, nice selection of Vegetarian meals, The Vegetarian burger a real treat for any one, Lovely friendly service just what you want on a day out, To finish off you will need the nice long walk to work off the lovely food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review of the Hunters Inn. We have been working very hard on the menus and so it is good to have such positive feedback. The walk down to the cove is very popular with guests whether before or after their meal, either building up an appetite or working off the meal! Hopefully... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay