We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hunters Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Hotel amenities
The Hunters Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #2 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Ched Q Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    63
    32
    32
    18
See reviews for
59
134
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (250)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Last stayed at Hunters Inn approx 7 years ago with my Husband. This week I was with my sister and apart from refurbishment, it was exactly as I remember. The staff and Dave, the owner, were yet again extremely accommodating, and very helpful. Felt like home from home. Food was gorgeous, and plentiful. Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We came upon The Hunters Inn whilst visiting the Heddon Valley and decided to book dinner the following evening. We weren't disappointed. The whole experience was excellent from the quality of the food to the friendly and helpful staff. I can recommend the sharing starter of the roasted camembert cheese. Nothing was rushed and the whole evening was enhanced by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited last week, walked or dogs at nearby Heddons Mouth. The weather was really hot and sunny and we sat down at the front of the pub, we had a couple of sharing platters between us, and it was very nice. I thought the food was very reasonably priced and was of a good quality, I would certainly eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Large pub, food average. Slow service and inadequate staffing. Avoid the beefburger, it was truly awful. Complaint not taken seriously. Nice situation in the valley with lovely walks all around. Be prepared for a long wait at busy times though. Would suggest that the frying oil is changed more frequently!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and me went to a wedding reception and oh what a beautiful place set in the Heddon valley on Exmoor.The narrow road leads down to the most amazing setting to this swiss cottage style building.The staff were friendly and laid back.A fantastic choice off real ales at very reasonable prices.Inside every thing has been updated and the toilets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying nearby we persuaded friends to eat here on Saturday 18th as we'd had good food here previously. When we arrived, having booked, we were ignored. Even when you're busy it takes nothing to say we'll be with you in a minute. It then took ages to get menus, the waiter was helpful, checking items for us. I ordered mussels,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a pretty poor experience at the hunters inn on Saturday 18th of April at around 2:00pm after a drive up from dorset we decided to stop off at the inn, first impressions were good, beautiful location but that's all I could say. We went to the bar to see if they were still serving food, yes until 3pm so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you feel that you had a poor experience at the Hunters Inn. Your complaint is centred around the issue of a cheese Panini which you ordered at the bar. You were disappointed that the Panini was not hot and therefore re-ordered. It has to be pointed out that the Hunters Inn does not and never... More 

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed in the Sunflower Lodge for the weekend of the Endurance Life Coastal Trail run and have to say we were completly bowled over by the lovely apartment attached to the pub. It is absolutly stunning (we wanted to take it home with us!). More than adequate space for four and we would have loved to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review of Sunflower Lodge and the Hunters Inn. The Endurance Life event was an amazing weekend with many competitors and their supporters enjoying the location and the Hunters Inn. It is good to know that Sunflower Lodge was such a success as it has been open for less than a year and your feedback... More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Situated at the top of the Heddon Valley, the Hunters has a truly fabulous scenic location. The rear garden was a great place to sit and have a drink in the sun whilst just listening to the babblng stream and twittering birds. A welcome resting place after one of the many walks that go past their door, the popularity of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Hunters Inn which we do appreciate. The gardens are really starting to look magnificent and the bird life is sensational. Not forgetting the family of peacocks who roam the grounds, parading their amazing tails to one and all. The beer is brewed in our own brewery, but due to the issue of space... More 

Crymych
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We spent a weekend here whist taking part in an endurance life race over the beautiful Exmoor countryside. The hotel is very comfortable. The staff and owners are all very friendly and do all they can to make you feel welcome. I would certainly return again and recommend this hotel to any one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

The Endurance Life weekend was an extraordinary weekend! Just under 1,000 competitors with friends and family to support them! The weather was kind - not too hot but dry after an initial burst of rain. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the event itself and the party that we put on afterwards. This annual event gets booked up very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities