We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Exmoor White Horse Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
| Exmoor National Park, Minehead, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Exmoor White Horse Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Salisbury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We only called in for a coffee so cannot justify 5 stars but everything about the place that we experienced was excellent. At 11.30am on a cold damp February morning, lights were on but no customers. We were welcomed by reception and directed to bar for a coffee which was pleasantly served in warm surroundings by courtesy of a wood... More 

Helpful?
Thank forester696
Westbury, Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from another excellent stay at the Exmoor White Horse. Linda, Peter and all the staff work so hard to make everyone feel as if they really belong. Food was fantastic atmosphere amazing it was truly a wonderful Christmas break.

Helpful?
Thank linda394
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

We stayed in room 2 in early November which was an ok experience. Good size and very clean. The room was promoted as a luxury one so the badly cracked sink and tatty ceiling decoration and a couple of other imperfections sat uneasily with the luxury description. Our evening meal was included in the daily rate. Food. The kitchen clearly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger W
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

Popped in after a nice long walk, and it met the brief perfectly: warm, welcoming, and cozy, nice beer, good food, and a nice vibe (and it even has a novelty urinal)! It's a very good place to while away an hour or so.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve41AndJane38
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We are so lucky to be situated in the heart of Exmoor and it gives us great pleasure to hear that we have made your visit to the area even more memorable. We really hope to see you again in the future More 

Kent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Given a room in the annexe after checking in. Not too worried about having to cross the car park to reach the room as the rain was easing off by now. First floor room with a long bank of windows overlooking the River Exe. Huge room with seating area, dressing table and wardrobe. All very tastefully furnished. The bathroom, with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blackrat751
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for all your kind comments, they are all really appreciated. We can only apologise about the Wi-Fi because we do not normally have issues such as this and it would appear that one of the Access Points might have gone down so the whole system has now been reset. We really hope that we are able to welcome... More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

We had room 17 - short hop from reception all expected amenities. Bathroom was dated but fine - shower functioned as did the hairdryer. The breakfast was lovely -good produce as were our evening meals.

Helpful?
Thank CandyJacki
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank You. We really hope we are able to welcome you back to Exmoor for a return visit in the near future. More 

Pease Pottage, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

We stayed in a room in The Lodge at The White Horse Inn for a few days on our way down to Cornwall for a family wedding over the summer, The room had a view at the rear over the river running through Exford and was very comfortable, particularly the bed (which for some inexplicable reason, sometimes seems to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamesMyerson
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We sincerely hope that we do get the opportunity to welcome you back because it is so nice to hear that all our hard work is appreciated. We are so lucky to live in this beautiful part of England and will always go out of our way to promote to all our guests all that Exmoor has to offer. Thank... More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

Stayed overnight with a party of guests, staff all really friendly and the food could not be faulted, especially the breakfast which was a buffet but anything extra required was cooked to order. The room let it down a bit for me, thought it was tired and in need of refreshment. Overall a good stay but room comfort and furnishing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary4407
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for all your comments, we appreciate feedback, both positive and negative and are always trying to improve what we offer our guests. We were really disappointed to read your comments about your room but we do operate a rolling programme of sympathetic refurbishment and upgrading, taking into account that we area 16th century inn (which means that the... More 

Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

I have stayed at The white Horse on several occasions and never been disappointed. Be aware that the food is both delicious and huge. The inn is full of character and a good place to base yourself when visiting Exmoor.

Helpful?
Thank AnneC2010
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We really hope to see you return again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff behind the cosy bar, in the restaurant and on reception. Rooms were clean and well presented rooms, though ensuite bathroom a little tired. We didn't eat dinner, heading to the working men's club for a few pints and some peanuts instead. However friends who did dine were very happy. Breakfast absolutely spot on. Cracking buffet, and so nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigBobW4
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We really hope to be able to welcome you back soon so that you can sample our extensive menu and experience the whole package that we offer here at The Exmoor white Horse Inn - Exmoor hospitality, quality service and quality food! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
5.0 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
9.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay