We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Sands Holiday Park

Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England
Golden Sands Holiday Park
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    135
    106
    92
    237
See reviews for
386
85
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (703)
  • Mar-May only
    (196)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (292)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (198)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Gold apartment yet the second bedroom we were just about able to step into. Took our 2 year old and his friend (one 6 week old) swimming one afternoon and got out within 10 mins as they had blue lips due to the freezing water to them get changed in wet cold dark changing rooms!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canvey
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've just returned from a wonderful Monday-Friday break at Golden Sands. Though there were only 3 of us (2 adults and our 4 year old grandson) we stayed in a 3 bed cabin. It was very, very clean and well appointed with a washing machine and dishwasher (no arguement over who was going to do the washing up). The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, it was great to note that you had a “Brilliant Stay!” and found your acommodation to be suitable. Your kind comments regarding the staff are greatly appreciated and I know that the lifeguards will be especially pleased to have had a special mention. Thank you once again and I hope that you will be... More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must admit that i did not want to stay on this site after reading some terrible reviews but i needed somewhere close to visit my daughter.However i am so glad we went!! We stayed in a silver plus disabled caravan which i can highly recommend to anyone with any mobility struggles at all. It was very spacious especially the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, especially after you were hesitant due to previous reviews. The team are working really hard to ensure our guests have a great time and I was pleased to note that you found them to be "lovely and welcoming". I hope that you will be back to visit us again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We realy enjoyed our stay at golden sands holiday park, the holiday reps were fantastic with my children and were realy warm and welcoming and made is feel very comfortable, we are already looking to book again for this year! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had a "Great Holiday" and that you will be back to see us later in the year. Our team members really do appreciate it when our guests are happy to share their positive reviews and I would like to thank you kindly for your great feedback. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time seeing the live lounge show and it was fantastic the whole team , mark , Heather , frankie , dan , rusty and ria absolutely smashed it the best show I have ever seen on a holiday park haven eat your heart out ...... Golden sands team 2015 was the best ever well done guys keep it up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. Mark and his entertainment team will be very happy that they have had a special mention. I was also pleased to note that you approve of our refurbished complex... It really does have that WOW factor, especially for returning guests. Thank you once again. More 

Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My kids were crying on departure day The staff were FANTASTIC thankyou Frankie,daniel,Heather, and rhia you were amazing with the kaiden,romeo and junior x Accomodation top class food was quality refurbished clubhouse and toilets brand new AMAZING SEE YOU SOON X

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review Golden Sands. All of the staff here work tirelessly to ensure our guests have a great time and I know that the Entertainment Team will be pleased to have had that special mention. It was great to note that you also found your accommodation to be "top class" and the food "quality".... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend. We stayed in a gold chalet, very clean and modern. Club house has recently been refurbished, brilliant entertainment. Lovely food, friendly staff, very clean and affordable. Dawlish warren itself is beautiful with plenty of things to do in short driving distance. Would recommend to anyone looking for a cheap family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Your recent review is really appreciated and I am pleased that you and your partner had a great weekend. We really are blessed with our location, with so much to do in the area. It was good to note that you appear to have enjoyed every element of your holiday and I would like to thank you for mentioning our... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are holiday home owners so obviously accommodation standards are not an issue but the quality of the site is very important,Have just returned from the first weekend of the season and we were very impressed by the clubhouse refurbishment.A lot of thought and planning has gone into creating an excellent entertainment area which is now tastefully designed and fit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you Susan G for such a wonderful review. It is very important that we look after our Holiday Home Owners in addition to our Holiday Guests, therefore it was great to hear that you approve of the improvements we have recently made. I would especially like to thank you for commenting how tidy and clean the park is as... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I come to golden sands every year at least 3 times , but the last few times I have been I have had bad experiences with my caravan , I even upgraded to gold and still had an ordeal. Staying in a bronze caravan on one visit i reported several problems to reception and not one of them got sorted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

How very sorry I am that you appear to have had a "terrible experience" at Golden Sands. I can assure you that our aim is to look after all of our guests and after reading your review It would suggest that many of the issues noted were in relation to previous visits. We are aware of a minor issue regarding... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

This was our second visit in a year we stayed in October for a week with friends and the caravan was clean however on opening the fridge there was out of date meat milk and veg which was i was happy to just throw away , i then came to use the grill and found the frying pan thick with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I was sorry to note that you appear to have had issues with your accommodation upon check in. I am certain that had you reported any shortfall to our reception team, they and the the housekeeping team would have done everything in their power to put things right in an effort to make your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

294 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (259)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
1:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question