We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Sands Holiday Park

Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England
Golden Sands Holiday Park
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    167
    159
    122
    105
    261
See reviews for
464
102
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (814)
  • Mar-May only
    (242)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (357)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (198)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for two weeks and couldn't fault it. The club was nice and clean, staff were great and the flexi dine meals were excellent value. The caravan we stayed in was fairly basic but clean and the site is within walking distance of the beach. We'll definitely consider booking with Park holidays again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked a last minute deal here and I am glad we did not pay full price. Whilst our accommodation was lovely (we upgraded) the park was very crowded and dirty. The pool was really quite dirty and we did not use it more than once. The caravans are completely on top of each other and we could not park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

paid £ 520. for 4 nights in a bronze plus caravan . don't know what the plus was all about but i feel sorry for the people that had just bronze if our's was anything to go by .When we arrived, there was no light in the bathroom ,or blind in the window . No lock or handle on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our bronze accommodation was ok, but the second room was a cupboard with two tiny beds only suitable for toddlers! After putting my mum and our son in the bigger bedroom with the double bed, my husband slept on the bonket in the dining/lounge area, and I slept diagonally after pushing the two "single" beds together. Although the park was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Dont go !!!!! Spent a week her What a dump Accommodation basic no toilet roll !!! Had to make your own bed !!! The park very grubby and dirty ..nothing for the children to do on site ..swimming pool very basic and covered with ants ..need i say any more First and last time never again left early !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am very sorry that Golden Sands did not meet with your expectation. We do have differeing levels of accommodation and although Bronze is our basic grade, we do offer a bed making service for an additional charge. I can only apologise that you were disturbed by ants around the pool, however I am... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently visited golden sands holiday park as a family of 7. My mums partner paid over £600 for a week in a bronze caravan (sleeps 8). We didn't expect much as it was a bronze but we booked it as a base; somewhere to eat and sleep. On the first evening we discovered the light was out in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
west midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my second stay at golden sands (first one was in Whitson week). My first review I only gave 3* because the accommodation let us down. This time however the accommodation was 100% better! Still in gold standard but no smell of urine/dog and everything worked :) entertainment team brilliant as before, complex well situated, weather was brilliant too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for such a "Brill" review. I am pleased that your second stay with us was even better than your first and you found your accommodation to be more suitable. I know that Mark and the rest of the Entertainment Team will be especially happy to have had an extra special mention. I am unaware of any generator close... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very impressed with our accomodation- larger than expected, clean and situated right on top of the entertainment and reception buildings. Very impressed with entertainment team- Mark stood out, being very funny and great with the kids and they were the best singers in comparaison to others at other campsites. Rusty in particular has a brilliant voice! The team... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you bethan w for your great review. It was good to note that your accommodation was impressive and that you were pleased with its location, close to the facilities. I would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding Mark and the Entertainment Team, they really do work hard to look after all of our guests and... More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were meant to stay here for 7 days but went home on the third day it was so bad! I went with my sister and we hated it! The pool was broken and they didn't bother to fix it. So it was extra cold. And the staff were horrible. When we arrived a lazy woman showed us our spot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

It would appear from your post that you stayed with us almost a year ago. I can only apologise that you did not enjoy either our touring or camping facility. For 2015 we no longer have touring and now only allow tents for 28days during selected school holiday dates in our casual camping area. As always with this type of... More 

bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

had a gold caravan for our family which was very dirty when we arrived. The main entrance to this park is of from weeks rd so don't confuse it with peppermint park and think its near the beach you will need a car if you have toddlers or mobility problems, the parks road to the beach is very long and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

I am very sorry that your stay with us does not appear to be as planned. Golden Sands Holiday Park does have two entrances (Peppermint Park has now been incorporated into Golden Sands for over two years) and due to the size of the Park, accommodation could be located in various places from one end to the other. Where requested,... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Swimming pool(11)
  • Very good(7)
  • Great time(6)
  • Entertainments team(6)
  • Gold Caravan(6)
  • Clean and tidy(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

324 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (289)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
1:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
12.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton - Goodrington Sands
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#2 of 5 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
3.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities