We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Sands Holiday Park

Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England
Golden Sands Holiday Park
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    136
    109
    93
    241
See reviews for
397
85
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (717)
  • Mar-May only
    (210)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (292)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (198)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
South Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived friday book in was fast and simple . Staff were great . Explained everything we needed to know . Im disabled and was even told if I saw one of the buggies go by I could ask for a lift . That meant a lot ...... Travelled with my two older children . Loopy was at book in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

It was really great to note that you had a "Fantastic family Weeks" with us at Golden Sands and I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. I noticed from your comments that you were worried after reading some of the previous reviews and I am pleased that you were able to make your... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

For 14 years my family have been going to Golden Sands, never have I had such an horrendous time whilst staying there. Luckily I rang to check to see if my caravan was ready for me to go into at 1pm. After being asked if I had booked in at Dawlish Sands, after only the day before being rang to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I was disappointed to read your review as I am certain that as a regular guest you would understand that the issue encountered with your accommodation allocation on this occasion was the exception rather than the norm and I can only apologise that a clerical error together with a miscommunication had such a negative... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just back from a weeks stay at golden sands in Dawlish Warren, Ok reception was a little hard to find going into the park from the Dawlish Warren end. Reception staff were great met with a smile and a welcome, Check in was swift and easy. We stayed in a Bronze plus caravan and i must say it was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Toilet, Sinks and shower in our caravan were out of order for at least a day due to drainage problems. Had to complain 4 times about this. Whilst I understand they had to get a contractor in to sort this, reception staff weren't that apologetic and couldn't give us a resolve time. Caravan was dirty and freezing cold. Didn't help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barnby Dun, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Right, to all you doubting Thomas's this camp site is OK!. It is clean and tidy. It is 10 - 15 mins walk to the beach. The clubhouse has been modernised and is an excellent size. The entertainment staff work hard and do as good a job as any others I have seen. And I've been to Haven, Pontins, Park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you StehenA for your kind words. I am certain that if everyone who read Trip Advisor was to be put off by the comments we would fail to have as many regular guests as we do at Golden Sands. We do consider ourselves to be a great value traditional family holiday park and really do aim to look after... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

swimming pool was warm, clean and the staff was friendly, entertainment was good the bar staff was helpful and friendly, jenny at reception was very helpful and friend the place was clean and over all perfect holiday everyone was smiling and happy and we all had a fantastic time will be going back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you, thank you... for such a wonderful review. It was very kind of you to title your post as "100% perfect" and although we do aim to get things right, we don't always succeed. Having said that it certainly appears that we have in your instance. Your comments regarding the whole team here at Golden Sands are... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Jenny was really helpful and kind and was understanding Staff was helpful and understanding Pool was great staff were good charlettle the lifeguard was very helpful as well Many thanks Daniel roberts Booking ref bkg1865899

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you Daniel R for such a lovely review. Jenny was really pleased to have had a special mention, as was Charlotte in the swimming pool. It really does make a difference when our team members are recognised for giving great service and I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review as it is... More 

Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Camp very basic,caravan was OK but positioned on top of a hill with a slope down to the access steps. Entertainment poor, bar staff slow, bar manager no people skills and ignorant, restaurant even run out of most things over Easter weekend. Friends travelling with us had paid an extra £50+for a gold caravan and were put in a silver... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

I was very sorry to note that you feel you had poor service. Your comments regarding the Entertainment and other members of staff is certainly against the norm, however I can only apologise if you did not experience our usual level of service. With regards to running out of menu items, this is obviously subject to a high demand of... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have stayed here several times, they have refurbished the club house to a very high standard. All you could want from a caravan park holiday. Mark And the entertainment team were on great form to start the season for 2015. It was very busy over Easter and all the staff were excellent, even the attendant keeping up with the demands... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is always gratifying when guests take time out to post comments regarding the positive experiences thay have had during their stay with us. I know that Mark and his team will be especially pleased to have had a special mention. The whole team here at Golden Sands work very hard to look... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have yet to come across a more dirty, filthy place than the changing areas in the pool! Not been cleaned for a long time. Entertainment, food, staff we're great. Shame about the general upkeep and standards. Looked drab and prison like!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

I was concerned to read your review regarding your recent stay with us and would like to apologise that you were disappointed with the standards. Your comments regarding the Entertainment, food and staff being "great" are really appreciated and I would like to thank you for mentioning this. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

296 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (261)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
1:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question