We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plume of Feathers Inn

Princetown, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6QG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princetown
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Plume of Feathers Inn
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting family in the area, we arrived Friday lunchtime and headed to Plume for a hearty winter vegetable soup it didn't dissipating the spoon would have stood up if I'd had tried I'm sure! Car unloaded relatives and of we trot back! My husband loves the selection of real ales the only negative comment from our 4 visits... More 

Helpful?
Thank deb0x
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been there a couple of times now. The forst time we went we ate there. Their Ploughmans are excellent. Generous portion of mature cheddar with all the usual accompaniments. Thw baguette was fresh with plenty of real butter and the chutney was out of this world! Service good too - we were welcomed warmly when we arrived and drinks ordered.... More 

Helpful?
Thank wibblyweeble
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to come to this pub as we had a six hour journey to stay in the village. We decided to just have a lasagne but was very disappointed that it had been microwaved, not that hot either. But my dogs enjoyed it. Hence we won't bother going again.

Helpful?
Thank Pauline F

Travelers are raving about these Princetown hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

If you are vegetarian, I wouldn't recommend eating here. I had a butternut squash and pepper lasagne. It was awful. Two small pieces of squash in a tin of chopped tomatoes, one sheet of pasta and loads of thick melted cheese. All this for £10. The non-vegetarian meals didn't look too appealing either. If you are going to pop in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
Keith T, Owner at Plume of Feathers Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. However, our vegetarian lasagne is not butternut squash and peppers? As to whether you did not like the look of meat based dishes, is this really relevant to a vegetarian. Regards Keith Twitchett More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

Went for a family lunch after a long walk on Dartmoor hoping to be welcomed into a warm, friendly pub. We had to sit on two separate tables, each of which were less than half the width they should be - very uncomfortable & squashed together with no room for your elbows! The food was standard pub grub. The ploughman's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

Great food, great service, great location. All the warmth and coziness of a country pub. Gets very busy, has a good reputation locally and people just keep coming back. Went here on a wet and wild November day and the atmosphere was just lovely. Food lush.

Helpful?
Thank kirst_jarvis
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

Been here a couple of times and normally really enjoy the food however, this time the food disappointed. The steak and venison were over peppered and unfortunately it just lacked that something special which normally makes this place very nice. However, we will be back again in the hope that its just a blip.

Helpful?
Thank hannahj687
East Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

I've been to this pub a few times. It's always busy. Always a scrum down to grab a table. As such, I never expect the food to come out in the unofficial 'acceptable' wait of around 20 minutes - and closer to the 30 minute mark is about the norm. My meal yesterday arrived a few minutes shy of an... More 

Helpful?
Thank WriterAngie
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

, Just situated near Dartmoor prison, This is a lovely Inn offering a great selection of food ales and of course ciders. Very comfortable for prince or pauper, having been on quite a large walk over the moors I didn't feel uncomfortable in my hiking boots albeit boots off! surrounded by 'normally' attired folk. Very friendly service and an astonishing... More 

Helpful?
Thank julie b
plymouth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

The Plume is a Warm inviting old pub, which gives you a welcome by way of a log burner and very helpful welcoming staff. Very walker/ dog friendly atmosphere. Great selection of foods, ales and drinks , we choose the TURKEY AND HAM and ALE STEAK AND STILTON PIES with chips and veg. The pies were packed with tender tasty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hardtopleasebut
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princetown
0.0 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oratory B&B and The Beeches S/C
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tor Royal Farm
Tor Royal Farm
#1 of 6 in Princetown
5.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duchy House Guest House
Duchy House Guest House
#3 of 6 in Princetown
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities