We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Globe Inn

Certificate of Excellence
9 High St., Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Globe Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Globe Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    79
    43
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
89
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for just one night - and how we wish that it had been for more than just the one night. We had a beautiful room in this truly old building that has been lovingly restored. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom very modern with a good shower. The plumbing had a whole story of its own.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My brother and I have just returned from a weekends hiking on Dartmoor. Our leisurely pace saw us arrive very late, but the staff happily waited up for us. Our bedroom was immaculate. A good nights sleep was followed by a wonderful breakfast. Great value and a warm welcome from this family run establishment. I will certainly stay again and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
needham market
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Globe is a cracking pub the bar scene is buzzing and you have to book a table for dinner as the restaurant as it is obviously very popular with the locals.When i arrived with my party we were met by a very enthusiastic employee who showed us to our rooms and what rooms they turned out to be they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our short stay. Chagford is a great location and this lovely little hotel is suitable for local walks or as a base for exploring further afield on Dartmoor. The whole place is full of character, and the rooms are very clean, spacious and airy. All staff very friendly and helpful which creates a great atmosphere. Varied menu,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chagford is a lovely small town with some unusual shops including the most remarkable hardware store and the surrounding moor is fantastic. 12 of us stayed in 6 of the rooms at The Globe Inn, the staff were all lovely, very friendly and helpful. The bedrooms were very clean and well decorated with varied decor but all of great interest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Avoid. Terrible value for money, terrible decoration in rooms, poor service at breakfast. Our room wild rose was gaudily decorated more like a brothel than wild rose. There were ornaments and trinkets all over the place and the upper landing is a weird shrine to dead pop stars??? I was not offered a menu at breakfast just the full English,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerDevon, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay especially as when you checked out you were asked if you had enjoyed your stay to which you replied that you had. With regards to decor, on the website that you booked there are four pictures of the room in which you stayed so we do not understand how it... More 

Chichester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

The front of The Globe is deceiving; it looks to be a really lovely place but sadly once inside its a different story. Although very clean the room was tired and had very questionable style and decor. Breakfast too was sadly not great; dry scrambled eggs in an equally tacky room. For the price it's definitely not worth it, i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OwnerDevon, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that our decor was not to your liking as we try to make all areas of the Inn individual and with character. There are plenty of photographs of the public areas and bedrooms on our websites that would have given you a good idea before you booked, as to how the interior looks. As you refer to... More 

Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Paid for a deluxe room and were not disappointed. Good size, comfortable twin beds. Very clean and nicely laid out. We used the restaurant for one evening meal and 3 breakfasts. All were good quality and value for money. It is well worth a visit and the staff are all friendly and helpful. One downside - £9.30 for a glass... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Having enjoyed a meal at The Globe a couple of years ago, se decided to have a stop at The Globe on our way home from Cornwall! We were not disappointed! Having booked a classic double rather than superior we were pleasantly surprised by the room size! A nicely appointed room with a good sized bathroom! And a separate small... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We had booked a lunch at the nearby Gidleigh Park and wanted somewhere to stay over the week end. The Globe was perfect, very friendly and welcoming, beer and food was good. We walked locally in beautiful surroundings.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay