We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Three Crowns Chagford

Certificate of Excellence
High Street, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ138AJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Three Crowns Chagford
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a wonderful place to stay! We travelled as a couple last weekend, together with several other friends from our village, to celebrate a friend's birthday at your Murder Mystery night. From the moment we arrived (checked in by Samantha) to the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble! We stayed in room 21 which was absolutely lovely. Spacious,... More 

Helpful?
Thank CandGholiday
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Three Crowns Chagford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely positive review. The Murder Mystery events have been a great success. Glad that you enjoyed our fine ales and delicious food . I am very happy to hear that Sam and the Team made you feel very welcome. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Lisa and The Team More 

Gunnislake, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing Birthday Murder Mystery. I booked out 21 rooms for friends and family for my birthday and it was the best birthday ever thanks to all the staff, especially Sam Davies. Everything had been thought of. The table layout was amazing and everything was planned to the T. I would not have changed anything. Such a great night if you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue D
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped one night - we paid for a superior room to get a parking space in the small courtyard, but someone else (who hadn't paid extra) parked in it while we were out. they did find another space for us. Our superior room (18) had poor soundproofing and we were embarrassingly privy to the late night activities of the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank GW55
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Three Crowns Chagford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review even though it may not be a positive one. I am sorry that you were disturbed by a room next door. However I think the complaint you made in the morning might have been sufficient as the guests staying in the room next door were in fact in earshot. I will certainly look into the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

The beds were very comfortable- like sleeping on a cloud. Room was spacious and warm. Staff are pleasant. The mulled wine excellent & bar fire always going. Good value for money. Showers were excellent. Breakfast was good- plenty of options on offer.

Helpful?
Thank Tamara R
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Three Crowns Chagford, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Your absolutely right the beds really are comfy St Austell Brewery really have refurbished the rooms to a super standard. I am glad you liked our home-made mulled wine and enjoyed the food. Look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Lisa Hoogervorst More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We normally go away for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year to blow away the cobwebs and to walk off some of the excesses of the holiday season! Usually we go north, to the Yorkshire Dales, North Yorks Moors, or Cumbria, but fortunately we chose to drive south this year! My husband is a keen walker and Chagford is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Makushla-O
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Three Crowns Chagford, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed and very positive review. You have managed to capture and observe all the finer things and the detail of which we are always so busy trying to achieve to give the customer ultimate satisfaction. So once again thank you Kind Regards Lisa and The Team More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

We had an amazing time! Room was very comfortable. Food at the restaurant was excellent and the staff was extremely friendly, We loved the cosy atmosphere of the lounge, where we played cards and board games with lovely background music and fireplace.

Helpful?
Thank francinuk
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Three Crowns Chagford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you like the lounge area we have been trying to make it more appealing with softer furnishings and making it a little more comfortable so customers can relax and enjoy their experience and stay that bit longer. Also introducing children's board games and our kiddies corner to entertain children and of... More 

Wadebridge
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

We met friends at the hotel and had a party of 4 adults and 7 children. This was not a problem for the staff who were attentive and friendly and had a good sense of humour. We were looked after and nothing was to much trouble for the staff. Menu was comprehensive and varied. Between us we managed to order... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Craigmack22
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Three Crowns Chagford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed our food, the chefs work hard to produce all home made dishes. I am glad the staff were attentive to your needs and yes they do have a great sense of humour and genuinely enjoy working at The Three Crowns. Please come and visit us again soon. Lisa and... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

The perfect place for a nice pint and sensibly priced food! Parking a nightmare, but not the fault of the pub! Staff friends and polite and a nice open fire! Not the cheapest place to eat in Chagford, but worth the money for the environment and location.

Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingPilgrim
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Three Crowns Chagford, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and your understanding that something's are out of our control in regards to the car parking. The Three Crowns is a stunning building and deserves to be looked after and the staff and the customers in it. Look forward to you visiting us again . Keep an eye on our Events page. Kind... More 

dubai
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

We wanted to go somewhere not to far, but enough to get away, from all the commercial hustle that Xmas brings, so I booked the 3 crowns, car parking reserved, reception very helpful, room outstanding, all we wanted, the restaurant was outstanding also, try the seafood platter for two, best I've ever had, and that includes the burg_all_jarab!! Real ale's... More 

Helpful?
Thank genehunt73
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Three Crowns Chagford, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and a lovely positive one too. We work so hard to make sure our customers receive an excellent overall experience a confirmation like this is absolutely perfect. Kind Regards and we wish you a very Merry Christmas Lisa and The Team More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

This was the first time I had visited The Three Crowns since it changed hands and I have mixed emotions about the changes made. The car park, never large enough and involving a very narrow exit onto the main street, has now all but disappeared and I parked my car a short distance away in a public car park. If... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jake1963_01
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Three Crowns Chagford, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed review. Although we don't have many spaces in our car park we are lucky to have some. As for the lack of shelving in the rooms it is something I had picked up on and we have been for the last 2 weeks been putting up extra shelving and towel rails. As for the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
1.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Ring O'Bells
Ring O'Bells
#8 of 14 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay