We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mill End Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill End Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mill End Hotel
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    54
    14
    10
    8
See reviews for
33
180
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (271)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a fantastic stay on Valentines night 2015 and not just because we got engaged at the Mill End!! The staff made our stay a wonderful experience, it felt like a real treat to be waited on hand and foot. They were all lovely and extremely attentive. The evening meal was fantastic as was breakfast the next morning. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MilEndHotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of all the staff at Mill End, thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We remember the evening well and your engagement, so romantic. The atmosphere in the restaurant was delightful and as you say complimented by good food. Wi look forward to seeing you again Best regards Sue and Peter Davies Mill End Hotel More 

London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night last weekend, to break our journey from Penzance back up to London. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautiful relaxing and peaceful setting. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Very comfortable immaculately clean room with door onto little patio. Only slight drawback for me was the lack of WIFI in the room as I need to be on call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MilEndHotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay and that enjoyed a peaceful evening. Sorry about the WiFi; as you know it is available in the public areas and some of the guests rooms, when you stay next time just check to see if there is a room available with WiFi. Meanwhile, the birds continue to chirp in this idyllic part of... More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in March 2015 as we were eating at Gidleigh Park and other excellent local eateries. The hotel was probably once quite nice but our experience was really rather poor and we would not recommend it to anyone. The hotel is quite tired with threadbare carpet in areas and some rather dated decor and bathroom, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MilEndHotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. Whilst there were aspects of your stay which you enjoyed, I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations. With regard to the heating system we did have a temporary glitch with the radiator in your room which unfortunately was not resolved by our plumbers who were not immediately... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have wanted to stay at the Mill End Hotel for so long and now I know why – it truly was a faultless experience which we cannot wait to repeat very soon. Such a beautiful building so tastefully decorated with furniture and pieces that fit the location so well. A spotlessly clean room and bathroom, which I think is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MilEndHotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

We were very glad that you did stay at Mill End and behalf of the whole team we thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our hotel. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you felt you were well looked after, it's so rewarding when our guests have the opportunity to relax and... More 

Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently spent three nights at this hotel which we have visited several times over the last 40 odd years. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming. The dinners were amazing - interesting food and beautifully presented. Breakfasts good - lots of choice. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MilEndHotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's always rewarding to meet up with previous customers and we have passed on your thoughts to all our staff. Also thank you for the encouraging words both about your dinner and the choice... More 

uk
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent one night here prior to renting s cottage in the area for a week. Room was good, comfortable bed, excellent powerful shower. A view to the ring of the hotel .dinner and breakfast both very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MilEndHotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

"On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you felt you had a comfortable evening. We were also very pleased that you enjoyed the dinner and our English breakfast. Always a great start to the day! Hopefully we will see... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Nice location and welcoming, we where offered tea or coffee and chose green tea and peppermint tea both these where ok (would have liked loose tea not tea bags) unfortunately the scones and fruit cake was just too dry (this is disappointing as should have been checked prior to coming out). This was a gift to us from good friends,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the trouble to provide your feedback following your visit for a cream tea. Whilst I am very pleased that you enjoyed our lovely location, and our warm welcome, I am naturally very concerned that you felt our cake and scones weren't up to scratch. Our scones are home-made, and are usually very well received, but we... More 

Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

A warm greeting, a clean, well appointed room, friendly and genuinely helpful service. Very nice breakfast - plenty of choice, all good quality and very nicely presented food. Great quiet setting, very dog friendly and plenty of good walks. Excellent!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you felt you were well looked after. We were also very pleased that you enjoyed our traditional Devon breakfast. Always a great start to the day! Hopefully we will see you again... More 

Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I booked with the Mill End for my partner and my son for a night as a stop off before taking him to Plymouth University for a look around. Like the 'writer' a few comments below he also has cancer and is still undergoing treatment. Unlike the 'writer' we did not labour the point of his illness but it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

How kind of you to provide such glowing feedback - thank you, on behalf of the whole team. We were delighted to welcome you and your son, and I am pleased that you found our service to be attentive yet discrete - precisely the kind of balance we aim to create at Mill End. Our chefs were particularly pleased to... More 

Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

After a very warm welcome, we quickly felt at home. The staff are very friendly and efficient creating a relaxing environment. Their Dart room is stunning, with a south facing balcony and extremely comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious. Their large boot room is very practical with lots of towels to clean our Springer after her walks. Simply a perfect place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, thank you for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to look after you, and I was delighted that your enjoyed your "beautiful and relaxing" weekend with us. As you say, our ground floor rooms with their private patios are particularly enjoyable (these rooms tend to book first, so always... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question