We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Smugglers Haunt Hotel

Church Hill, Brixham TQ5 8HH, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked at the last minute. Staff very helpful. Rooms clean with all the facilities. Good and plentiful breakfasts. Located right in the centre of brixham. There's no parking but car park very near. Very old building but quite an interesting history.

Helpful?
Thank tchez
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very comfortable hotel. Good sized rooms, plenty of drawer and hanging space, cleaned every day. Friendly unobtrusive owners. Very good cooked breakfast, well situated in centre of Brixham only problem is the parking.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at the smugglers over the new year period and cannot fault the hotel and it's lovely owners John and Jean the room we had was comfortable clean and spacious The breakfast was ample and served hot and with a smile The position of the hotel was perfect We are defiantly going to return

Helpful?
Thank june c
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

The room was clean and fresh and well presented. Although up narrow stairs, it all adds up to the unique quirkiness of the building. The breakfast was fulfilling and well worth it. (My husband having the full grill on both mornings). John and Jean were very friendly and informative of the area.

Helpful?
Thank David M
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this " hotel " for one night. It is extremely dated and massively in need of a complete refurb. Without a bar and a restaurant I'm not sure it can be called a hotel. Bed and breakfast would be more accurate. Parking is across the road at a public car park which was fine if a little pricey.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueRanson
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

The smugglers Haunt is an attractive old building with welcoming friendly owners. We were a little disappointed to find out that the bar had been closed down but this did not spoil our stay. Our room was a nice size with a good shower and clean. Unfortunately the wifi wouldnt reach the room but was okay in the bar area.... More 

Helpful?
Thank T E
llanelli
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

We spent 4 day in the smugglers haunt and enjoyed every second of it. We stayed in room 8 which was spotless. the bed was comfortable and there was a fridge in the room which was great for keeping my wifes medicine in because it has to be kept cool.The staff were so friendly and very quick serving the ample... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ken w
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

We loved staying at this very well located hotel in the heart of the harbour. With very reasonable rates and clean & comfortable rooms, its an ideal place for business as well as the leisure travellers.

Helpful?
Thank FiresAndKnives
jean R, Owner at The Smugglers Haunt Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to say what a pleasure it was having you stay here and thank you for your kind words. More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

We were part of a sailing group wishing to stay together and looking forward to meeting in the bar during the evenings. We booked months ago when the owners must have known their plans to close the bar which they failed to reveal. We booked by phone and on arrival we were informed that we were not expected for another... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare592015
jean R, Owner at The Smugglers Haunt Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you found your stay such a disappointment, we were extremely embarrassed by the fact that your extra day's booking was overlooked but we thought were able to turn the negative into a positive despite being as you say in the middle of August. We closed our bar in January due to several personal factors including a bereavement... More 

s wales
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

Just arrived home from a 2 night break in brixham .the hotel is very central for all the shops and harbour we loved the quirkiness of the hotel,but as other guests have pointed out it is very tired n a bit run down ,having said that it was spotless ! The shower was 1 of the best iv ever had... More 

Helpful?
Thank krissywales
jean R, Owner at The Smugglers Haunt Hotel, responded to this review

It is always good to hear favourable reviews about your business so we thank you for yours. Unfortunately I cannot respond to your other comments about other businesses or towns. It was very nice to meet you all. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.2 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#2 of 5 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#3 of 5 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#1 of 5 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Churston Ferrers
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 22 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sampford Guest House
Sampford Guest House
#2 of 22 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay