We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saunton Sands Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Saunton Sands Hotel
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    237
    115
    67
    38
See reviews for
299
324
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (926)
  • Mar-May only
    (220)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (288)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (236)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (182)
All months
uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate our wedding anniverary and my birthday. The hotel has impressive views of the beautiful Saunton Sands and a short walk down from the hotel gets you onto the beach. Our room was spotlessly clean with lovely furnishings, tea, coffee and hot chocolate and kettle, nice bathroom with toiletries and a great power shower... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beautiful features and incredible seaside (cliff) location with access to miles of beach. Glorious sunsets, solar eclipse and having it all paid for probably contributed, as did being out of season and so peace and quiet. Food was great given low customer level, staff genuinely helpful, room and bed spot on. Excellent suite given to have business meeting in. Can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your recent business trip at the hotel. How lucky that it coincided with the solar eclipse! I hope that you will return again soon for a leisure trip, I shall pass on your compliments to the team - Anthony Kingdon More 

Wallington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night which was a Saturday and felt that the cost of the room did not reflect the standard. Our room was small and the bed was uncomfortable. The wifi didn't work and there was no fan in the bathroom so everytime you had a shower the room steamed up. There was a wedding on the night... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a four star review. I apologise that your stay was interrupted by a wedding reception, I am pleased however that you were satisfied with the refund and I do hope that you may return again for another break - Anthony Kingdon More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well done Saunton Sands the experience as always exceeded our expectations, We enjoyed every minute. The last 30 years of visiting for at least once a year we hope we can continue for the next 30! Tim, Michelle, Gabrielle, Crystal & Oscar Old from Dorchester in Dorset.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

What a fabulous review of your most recent stay - thank you. Please keep coming back for another 30 years, we will be here to welcome you! - Anthony Kingdon More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Restaurant was chaotic to say the least. It was like a ship without a captain! Over-ambitious menu, so nothing was really done properly. Dining room could not cope and waiting times were horrendous! Chef should definitely be given his marching orders. Food came out either under-cooked or tough as old boots. Vegetables arrived long after main course reached our table.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience. I would be happy to discuss this with you personally as our new menu has been very well received and I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service you received. I hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable - Anthony Kingdon. More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

wifi did not work. rooms were not at the level of luxury that the rest of the hotel was. rest of the trip was nice but dinner service was very slow. also double bed was two singles. kettle was also very poor

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that some items affected your stay but happy that overall your trip was enjoyable. I shall discuss your comments with the team regarding wifi etc, thank you for bringing them to my attention - Anthony Kingdon More 

surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Saunton Sands Hotel sits on an unrivalled position overlooking the magnificent Saunton Sands Beach, situated in one of the best pieces of coastline in the country. It should be the envy of every hotel in the area, but sadly falls short. If I had the money I would be happy to buy this hotel and transform it into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am surprised about your comments regarding our service and would be happy for you to contact me personally to discuss them - Anthony Kingdon More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went hear for a wedding never again !!! Staff not interested at all just kids in baggy uniform that did not fit ! Or eastern Europeans !!!! Food not good ! Drinks very expensive . Rooms tired all in all not worth it at all

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. Every single member of the team is highly trained in customer service and we receive many compliments about them and the fabulous events we have at the hotel - Anthony Kingdon More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is the first time I've been to Saunton Sands although I have visited other Brend Hotels. The facilities and service are first class as one would expect with a four star hotel. But my room had a brick wall facing the window which had been painted white to make it look a bit better. Breakfasts were good with plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your five star review. I'm glad that overall you had a fabulous time and enjoyed our sumptuous breakfasts. I shall pass on your comments to the dining team. I hope that you will be able to make a return visit and perhaps stay in one of our sea-view rooms. I also thank you for commenting that our... More 

Croyde, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Popped in for a bite to eat and a glass of wine on a Sunny Sunday. Beautiful views and a nice glass of wine. £12.95 For a cheese poughmans which consisted of cheese, salad, pickle and an bit of bread. Very overpriced for what it was. Staff seemed over stretched. The sunshine and wine saved the day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BrendHotels, General Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of your lunch with us, I'm glad you enjoyed the wine and the sunshine and of course our views. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your ploughman's, I do hope that you will pop back another time and try something else on our mouthwatering menu - Anthony Kingdon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (180)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (50)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question