We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duke of Normandie Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Special Deal
FREE £25 meal voucher
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Review This Hotel

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    96
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
22
150
27
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (280)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is worth a visit. We will be booking there again as we found it lived up to all our expectations. Staff were so helpful and friendly and must mention Roy one of the waiters who was superb. Food in their restaurant was high standard and the early bird deal is very very good. Only a stones throw from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed here whilst in Guernsey before and were not disappointed. The rooms are lovely, nicely laid out with good bathrooms. It was quite cold last weekend and we were very pleased that both the radiators in the room and bathroom were able to be turned up or down very easily. Breakfast is good, staff are very friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a three night break between Christmas and New Year 2014 booked via Secret Escapes and sold by Channel Island Holidays. Advertised as a boutique hotel our expectations were raised. We booked a superior room, and having read the reviews on this website, again our hopes were high. Sadly we were disappointed. Our room was overlooking the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Guernsey in mid February for a 2 night break, going out from Weymouth on Saturday and returning on Monday. Unfortunately the weather worsened whilst we were there and our return sailing to Weymouth was cancelled. We found this out on the Sunday afternoon. Our options were to stay in Guernsey until Friday (!) or go back Sunday evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my 1st stay in this hotel and I was very pleasantly surprised to say the least. wasnt sure what to expect as not heard much about this hotel. I arrived much earlier than check in time and was hopeful to get into my room straight away but am normally disappointed with this to be honest most hotels just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

The Duke is just wonderful. It has an excellent team of very friendly but professional staff, the manager Alan runs a first class hotel. The rooms are of a very high standard very clean & comfortable. Location wise it is perfect for a stay in Guernsey, close to the shops bars & restaurants, but The Duke it's self has a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windermere, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

When I arrived at the hotel there was no parking available due to the amount builders vans in there. When I arrived at the hotel reception I found out that the hotel was going through a major refit and there was no hotel bar or dinning facilities. The receptionist did in his own right compensate me for this but that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DukeManager, General Manager at Duke of Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Riggy678 Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. As you mentioned we were carrying out major refurbishment to our ground floor areas at the time of your stay, which I admit did cause some disruption to the levels of service we could provide. We did have a notice on the home page... More 

New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Stayed here for a 3 night break at end of January. No bar / restaurant facilities as undergoing refurbishment. We knew that when we booked so not an issue. There are plenty of other great places to eat and drink in St Peter Port even in th middle of winter. The room was fine - clean and nicely furnished. Came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Good hotel, quiet location even it is very central. It is near the main shopping street and seafront. Staff was very kind and helpful. Excellent , comfortable beds- 5 star for those! Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for refurbishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

WIFI was terrible , completely flakey, made it impossible to get any work done which was a real issue ...... Never connected for longer than 2 minutes .... Apparently an ongoing problem .... But the rest of the hotel set up was fine for the price

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question