We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 St. Martin hotels

Chateau la Chaire

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rozel Bay, St. Martin JE3 6AJ
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chateau la Chaire to your Saves list
Chateau la Chaire
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
89%
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in St. Martin
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
David-Scotland Paisley, Scotland
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    37
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
153
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights in the Daisy room. The room is nicely decorated, big comfy bed and decent bathroom (including fluffy robes). TV with the usual channels. The ceiling was a little tight but that's the nature of the building. The view wasn't great but that didn't bother us. The man who greeted us on arrival was very pleasant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauLaChaire, General Manager at Chateau la Chaire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall and had a chance to view the island in some great sunshine. Although we are on a regular bus route its always best to get a hire car to get the best out of your visit. Our afternoon tea... More

Devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We have just returned from a three night break at Chateau la Chaire and I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates good food and attentive service in a unique setting. As the manager has said in a previous response, the hotel does not have as many facilities as chain hotels, but the personal service and attention to detail make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While thinking that reviewer John N possibly went a little to far with a few of his comments in Buyer beware, I find I agree with most of his points.The Attic rooms were small and cramped with small windows overlooking a car park.(the cobwebs in which were only surpassed by the long web dangling from the high ceiling in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauLaChaire, General Manager at Chateau la Chaire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm obviously disappointed you didn't enjoy your room but please understand that as an old house and not a purpose built hotel all of the rooms are of different shapes and sizes and allocated according to the package booked. If there is a particular room you prefer simply look... More

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights for a long weekend - returning after 23 years to our honeymoon hotel. Still a very nice hotel - external paintwork a bit "flaky" - staff very good and helpful - English speaking was adequate but only just - good ratio of staff to guests - good occupancy rate so they must be doing it right -... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChateauLaChaire, General Manager at Chateau la Chaire, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay. It was nice to chat with you before you left the hotel and pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit overall. Unfortunately the annual exterior maintenance is difficult to complete during the cold & wet season but now we have some prolonged sunshine and warmth in Jersey... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

.......just about every hotel on the island of Jersey is within half an hour’s drive of the airport, so why choose Chateau le Chaire? I booked this hotel on a last minute whim as part of an eastJet package. The claims on the hotel website made it appear quite an attractive place (...but it would wouldn't it) and I was... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChateauLaChaire, General Manager at Chateau la Chaire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its a shame that I was unable to speak with you personally during your short visit last week but the staff did make me aware of you when I returned. I would always treat adverse comments or criticism as an opportunity to improve our business but having read them there really isn't a great deal... More

North Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first visit to Jersey and we stayed for four nights here. From the moment of our arrival in the late evening to our departure we experienced excellent service. Our room (Petunia no 6) was very spacious and very well furnished, as was the bathroom and indeed the balcony. The food at every meal was perfect and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have just returned (13th March) from a 3 night break at the beautiful Chateau la Chaire. It was our first ever visit to Jersey and we could not believe our luck on arriving at our chosen hotel. What a lovely Chateau in a very beautiful spot. Our room (no 11 ) although I think only a standard room was... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We went mainly to experience the tasting menu which was faultless. The care and attention given to every aspect of each plate was astounding. The bedrooms haven't changed much over the years but they are a good size, well equipped, clean and very, very comfortable. The staff are welcoming, knowledgeable and personable. This is a hotel which tries very hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We Pre ordered a cream tea last week, for today Saturday 1st March for 3.30pm, we were looking forward to it, as past comments on here had mentioned food was good.We have never been served such poor quality sandwiches, they had obviously been made some hours before,left out and had dried up ,to the extent that they had started to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChateauLaChaire, General Manager at Chateau la Chaire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It would appear from investigating that the sandwiches for tea on this occasion had been left open in the warm kitchen before your arrival which led to them drying although I don't recall them being curled. I know that we spoke with you at the time and immediately offered to... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We were spoiled rotten by charming staff, fabulous food in this beautifully decorated, stylish hide-away. From enquiries at the time of booking to our departure, empathic staff went out of their way to ensure that our visit would be stress free and all our needs anticipated and met without fuss. Our room was delightful, thoughtfully equipped and the dining experience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Chateau la Chaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau la Chaire

Also Known As:
Chateau La Chaire Hotel St. Martin
Chateau La Chaire St Helier
Chateau La Chaire Hotel
Chateau La Chaire St. Martin, Jersey
Address: Rozel Bay, St. Martin JE3 6AJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in St. Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau la Chaire 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 1800’s as a gracious private home, nestled against the cliffs of the wonderful wooded valley of Rozel, the Chateau La Chaire Hotel is now recognised by the major guides as one of the finest small luxury hotels in the British Isles.The hotel offers a range of stylish accommodation, including a spectacular split level suite and many rooms with feature beds such as four posters, private balconies and ensuite spa bathrooms. Luxury Elemis toiletries and soft towelling robes are provided in all rooms together with a host of other extras you would only find in a first class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Chateau la Chaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau la Chaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.