We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay View Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
12 Havre des Pas, St Helier, JERSEY, St. Helier JE2 4UQ
Special Rate
TRIPADVISOR HALL OF FAME
Bay View Guest House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 24 St. Helier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    49
    61
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
61
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was there 2 years ago. Still remember the breakfats they served with the Black Jersey Apple Butter....still love it after this guest house. Lovely place for a good price. The staff is friendly. the location is convinient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bay View is a Guest House and a four star one at that, I mention that as one or two reviewers seemed to expect a Boutique hotel. My room was comfortable and clean and has lots of mod cons, fridge, microwave, kettle, alarm clock, flat-screen TV with DVD plates, cutlery...., so getting a 'take in' from M and S... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMayger, Manager at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Tom, what can we say :-), thank you very much for your very kind words, we do appreciate you taking the time to post a review and will give our staff a well earned pat on the back. We are pleased you enjoyed your time both with us and on our beautiful island and look forward to maybe seeing you... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on a holiday with my family and it was lovely! The owner was really friendly and great at giving us information about the area, including recommending great places to eat. Would definitely stay here again, thanks for the great stay! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Jasmine for your review, it was lovely to meet you and the family, we would have you back in the heartbeat and look forward to seeing you all again on your next trip to Jersey, there is so much more for you to explore and enjoy :-) More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are a young couple and this was just a lovely B&B for us to stay in and enjoy Jersey. As there was only breakfast served, this suited us as we were able to visit a different restaurant each night. The breakfasts were lovely and the staff/management very friendly. The only knock we could have was that there was a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, save for the residual smell of smoke in your room. It is in fact not possible for guests to actually smoke in our rooms because the smoke detectors are extremely sensitive and will activate the alarm. Unfortunately smokers do carry the tobacco residue on their persons and on their property and unfortunately... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Generally quite good in most areas. The only observation I would make is with regard to the shower in my room which leaked more water than it supplied to the shower head. I would have liked the towels changed at least once during the six days I was there, this I found disappointing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

John, thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. It was a pity we weren't aware of the shower problem you were experiencing or we would have been able to attend to it earlier and make your stay more comfortable. Like you, we were very disappointed to learn of the towel situation, our normal policy is... More 

Swindon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently spent a lovely relaxing break at Bay View. Carolyn and Geoff were great hosts, very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was more than adequate and always served with a smile! Bay View is ideally situated for the local bus... although the town centre is only a 10 minute walk away. Would we return to Bay... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you folks for your very kind words :-) It is good to hear that the 'Bay View' experience helped you enjoy your break on our lovely island and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future :-) More 

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have just spent a week at this guest house which is credited with 4 stars. I booked it because I wanted 4 star luxury but in a smaller hotel rather than one of the big impersonal hotels. The pictures on the web site certainly looked favourable and I felt confident that it would be fine. How wrong can you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn that the guest house did not meet your expectations but our feeling is that you wanted a small boutique hotel, as against a small family operated guest house. Our grading is awarded by the AA and is renewed annually and we need to achieve the 4 star rating in all the main sectors inspected by... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I have just stayed at the Bay View. The only thing I would say is that the guest house needs some money spent on it. Very dated and tired looking. The professional photo is not what this house looks like at all , as I say very tired and grubby. As a four star accommodation I feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Our guest house grading is awarded by the AA, who carry out a rigorous annual inspection of the premises in addition to the other areas of operation, and all of these need to meet the required standard to achieve the award. The use of the word Grubby to describe our accommodation is therefore quite clearly inappropriate and furthermore highly discourteous... More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A great family hotel close to all amenities. Carolyn and Geoff were really helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was very clean well presented and spacious. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The hotel is situated close to the sea front by a bus stop that takes you to the city centre or you can walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review for us. It was lovely meeting you all and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Jersey :-) More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

A great find in Jersey near to some of the finest restaurants and near the beach. Added advantage the bus stops within yards and you can get anywhere in no time. The Patron is helpful and he has a great staff. You could pay 3 times the money and not have as good a time. WIFI is great and meals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

So pleased to see you again Paul, thank you for taking the time to post your review, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the island More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay