We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 St. Helier B&Bs / inns

Bay View Guest House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   12 Havre des Pas, St Helier, JERSEY, St. Helier JE2 4UQ
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE NIGHT
Save Saved
You added Bay View Guest House to your Saves list
Bay View Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
80%
Ranked #3 of 22 St. Helier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Angela H Rotherham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
47
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Cannot believe I stayed in the same place as other reviewers of this guesthouse. Ceiling of breakfast room falling down (next to the breakfast buffet). The 'friendly?' staff member at breakfast the first morning asked what I would like, I asked for scrambled eggs on toast. The response, 'there's the toaster make your own'! Carpets throughout needed cleaning. The TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just come back from staying in the bay view for 9 nights .it was my third time staying there it's very home from home the owners are very friendly there is a wide selection of food for breakfast free wifi and computer usage I've always been happy with my stay so I certainly will be staying there again thank you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Bay view for my wife's birthday and had a lovely time. The Hosts were very friendly and helpful with places to visit and local buses. Breakfast nice and freshly cooked. Plenty of dvds in the lounge to borrow to watch in your room. Room nice and cosy and very comfortable. Over all a very a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lubail
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hosts very accommodating. Bed and shower very good, Bar good with a huge selection WHEN OPEN!! Booked the junior suite, very small, cluttered with poor decorating and everything very tired.. Out of date milk cartons for 2 days then no milk left final day. Biscuits left for 1 day out of 4. Toilet seat and towel rail on wall both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. You did regularly join us for a drink in the bar and wish you had raised some of these issues then as clearly we could have dealt easily with some of them. The junior suite has only recently been repainted so we struggle to understand... More

ufford, suffolk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent 4 very happy days here at the Bay View. Welcoming, good comfy room with huge bed, decent breakfast. Nice owners. Several excellent eating places within short walk. Could not be faulted, definitely would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, Carolyn and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bay View another time. More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed in the Bayview Guesthouse on a wet and windy weekend in March. The location on the main bus route between St. Helier and Gorey is perfect and the access to the beach excellent. Most of all though is the homeliness of the atmosphere and the attention to detail of the owners, Carolyn and Geoff. There is a comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Gerry, Was nice to see you back in Jersey again, sorry about the weather. Jameson's at the ready for next trip!! More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

From the time of booking the owners,Carolyn and Geoff, were attentive,friendly and keen to make our trip to the island and their guesthouse as enjoyable as possible. They arranged a very smooth transfer from and to the airport, and gave lots of useful advice on where to go, what to see and where to eat. The room was very comfortable,clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, Carolyn and I try our best to look after all our guests from the time they book with us until they leave our lovely Island, and mostly they do appreciate our hospitality. We do think location wise the Bay View has a lot to offer, but there are drawbacks to being within walking distance of... More

London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Enjoyed a warm welcome from the owner Geoff, as I usually do. My room was clean and comfortable with nice furnishings with a full range of cooking facilities including a fridge. Service was always very good with friendly staff and very importantly the bay view is in a quite location with great access to the town centre of St Helier.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Bill, Always a good sign when guests keep coming back because they feel comfortable and welcomed staying with us. Keep up the good work! More

Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed in the single room and this was perfectly adequate for me. I like the provision of a fridge and microwave meaning I didn't have to go out every night for a meal. The bathroom is quite small but again this was fine for me. There is plenty of storage space in the room. The addition of a fan... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

We are please to learn that your stay was enjoyable and the room had all the facilities you needed to make life comfortable whilst you were exploring our wonderful Island. Hope to see you back another time. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great welcome from Carolyn, the owner, on arrival, telling us all we needed to know about Jersey. Disappointed with the position of hotel, there is no, "bay view", this place is on a busy road, so if its tranquility you're after, look elsewhere. Room clean, slightly tired with very busy patterns!! Well equipped however, including a microwave! Breakfast was disappointing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

The Bay View is a homely establishment and we try not to provide a clinical hotel style environment, so our rooms are sometimes considered to be "tired" because they are personalised and full of additional facilities not usually available in most B & B's. We are somewhat disappointed with the comment about our breakfast because we offer a really wide... More

Been to Bay View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Guest House

Also Known As:
Bay View Guest House Hotel St. Helier
Bay View Guest House Hotel
Bay View Guest House Jersey/St. Helier
Address: 12 Havre des Pas, St Helier, JERSEY, St. Helier JE2 4UQ
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay View Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geoff and Carolyn Mayger have been in the hospitality industry for many years and are pleased to welcome you to the relaxed and homely atmosphere they have created at the Bay View. They pride themselves in providing guests with all the modern conveniences and comforts of a four star Guest House. Bay View is situated across the road from the beach at Havre des Pas with its Lido & beach café, and still only a ten minute walk into St Helier, the main business and commercial centre of Jersey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Bay View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.