We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Somerville Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Mont du Boulevard, St. Aubin JE3 8AD
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Somerville Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    313
    108
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
51
290
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (458)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We came across this hotel 2 years ago after stumbeling across it while out for a walk, the concierge invited us in for a drink and showed us around the hotel . We were so impressed by the relaxed atmosphere and helpful staff that my husband booked a stay for my birthday. Although we hadn't booked a sea veiw room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, delighted that you had a wonderful birthday with us and that we will be seeing you again next year. Until then, kind regards and all the best. More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

if you like delicious food well presented by friendly staff do not miss this hotel. Whether you dine in the dining room or have a snack or afternoon tea on the terrace you will not be disappointed. The view over the bay is beautiful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to make your kind review. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has the great advantage of having superb harbour and sea views from the rooms specified as such (The rooms at without a sea view tend to overlook a wall and houses) and a car park, a must for those hiring a car on the island. Our room was a superior sea view room which had three large windows,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, we do see ourselves as a Country House Hotel and try and provide friendly but at the same time traditional, professional service and I'm delighted that that appears to have been the case. All your comments are appreciated. Many thanks. More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

staff at front of house very nice.room was good lovely views,just a little hot, great location for other places to eat,as felt hotel food was not up too much,far too much and over priced.amenities well if you wanted a sun lounger,you needed to be up at the crack of dawn,spent 10 days here and every day the same lounger was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, all reviews are welcome. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy our catering, it is very rare for us to receive such comments. May I apologise for the rather excited best man at a wedding who decided, much to the annoyance of the rest of the wedding party to take a dip... More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very attentive staff and a great location with views over the bay. Food also was excellent. Well worth a visit and very reasonable price wise. considering this hotel is linked to other Dolan hotels on the island, I would recommend eating at this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and recommendation which is greatly appreciated by all. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself is good with possibly the best views in Jersey. We had no problems with the room that was up to 4 star standard. The room did lack the little niceties one expects such as bar soap,shower cap etc We used the hotel restaurant on the first night we arrived and what disappointment !.In summary: slow service -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and apologies that you did not enjoy your meal with us. It is very rare for us to get poor comments regarding the dining experience here at the hotel and we take all reviews seriously and will be discussed with the team. Thank you for your time. Kind regards. More 

Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have not stayed at the hotel (so ignore the sleep rating but it was the only way to submit the review -although the rooms look fab!)but always visit for afternoon tea when we are on holiday In Jersey and it never fails to please. Delicious food, excellent attentive service and fabulous views across the bay. A fabulous way to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of our Afternoon Tea which is a very popular event here at the Somerville enjoyed overlooking the beautiful bay of St Aubin. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards. More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice Hotel, but disappointing room. No value for money of a 4 star hotel: room on the back looking to a wall, very small could not sleep due to permanent noise of hotel infrastructure. No alternative given by the staff, just confirmed the problem. Stayed first & last time in Somerville.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, so sorry that you were disappointed with your room and that we were unable to change this for you. Kind regards. More 

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned again to the Somerville at the beginning of July 15. We were once more delighted with the quality, comfort and atmosphere at the Somerville. At the Tides restaurant first class food and wine were served by friendly knowledgeable staff. In fact, all the staff at the hotel, from the housekeepers to the managers were very friendly and welcoming.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and delighted that we will be seeing you again. Kind regards Somerville team. More 

Kent, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a long weekend, fantastic location with lovely views. Inward facing room was a bit small and also overlooks roof - however room was clean and comfortable, although could do with more ventalation when hot. Breakfast was good, cooked to order and very helpful staff. Reception staff are particularly helpful. Would stay again as location is so good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin F, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards. More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Car park(4)
  • Sea view(4)
  • Sea View room(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

379 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Classic Inland Room (29)
Viewed
Classic Seaview Room (27)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (17)
Viewed
Superior Garden Suite (36)
Viewed
Superior Seaview Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Aubin
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#2 of 5 in St. Aubin
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 5 in St. Aubin
5.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 11 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#7 of 11 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
4.1 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 11 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay