We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Court House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
La Rue a Don, Gorey Village, Grouville JE3 9FS
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Old Court House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately this hotel has now closed permanently but I felt wanted to write and say how we have had several wonderful holidays here. The staff are so friendly and attentive, the food was one of the highlights of the holiday and we always looked forward to our next visit. Yes the rooms were possibly slightly dated but the were always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bunt180
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

We didn't stay here but just had dinner. A lovely place with a lovely atmosphere. However food a bit disappointing. I had soup but it had lots of globules of oil on top, which didn't appeal. Although once mixed in the soup did taste lovely. Then came Linguine. Much too greasy for me and the food was sitting in a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan K
Richard S, Owner at Old Court House Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to learn that you did not completely enjoy your meal with us. The soup you had does state on the menu that it is garnished with chilli oil and this is 'drizzled' on top when serving. With regards to lobster not being in your dish, we do not have any items on our menu that include lobster,... More 

Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

We know Jersey well and have stayed in Gorey many times. It was our first visit to this hotel which is in a prime position in the village. Plus points are the spacious car park, pretty garden and light and spacious public areas, plus free wifi in the room. The staff were very courteous and helpful, and the breakfasts were... More 

Helpful?
Thank 3Maggie3
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

Went to the Old Court House in August 2015. The food and service were excellent. The bathrooms and bedrooms are dated but the room was very clean and sheets changed regularly. Although the bathroom was old fashioned, the shower worked very well and the water was hot. The floors were very creaky upstairs in the bedrooms. The majority of Staff... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank NapoleonWales
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

This hotel has got to be one of the most perfect places to stay. Ideal spot on Jersey, just across the road to a glorious white sandy beach. Quiet and friendly hotel with a lovely little pool and generous sun bathing area. Fantastic food served by extremely attentive and professional staff. Wonderful menu, changing every evening, well cooked and expertly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
Richard S, Owner at Old Court House Hotel, responded to this review

We are all pleased to learn that you had a great holiday and enjoyed Gorey Village and harbour. Richard A D Smale More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

If you don't want to stay in the capital, this is the hotel for you. In a beautiful setting, a very short walk from the beach, the only thing that beats the wonderful food, is the staff there. So helpful and friendly, with nothing too much trouble. The next time I go to Jersey, this is the hotel for me.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nichola W
Richard S, Owner at Old Court House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had a most enjoyable holiday with us. Richard A D Smale More 

Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Been to Jersey many times but the first time to stay in this hotel. A lovely hotel in a quiet location with ample parking. We had a balcony room on the second floor which was very comfortable and spacious. The en-suite was a little on the small side but adequate. Lovely bright dining room. The staff in the dining room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Couple_9
Richard S, Owner at Old Court House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments and we are all pleased you had a thoroughly good time. Richard A D Smale More 

Holmes Chapel
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Third visit and that is why there are so many return visitors. The staff and the food are brilliant and the family and I would love to have stayed longer. I had an excellent room with a comfortable bed. Not the most inspiring view from the window but that did not matter. The hotel is a bit tired in parts... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ancienttrveller
Richard S, Owner at Old Court House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and great comments - this is appreciated by all of us here. We are aware of what needs doing and just wish we could get on with refurbishment much quicker! Kind regards Richard A D Smale More 

england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We had booked bed and breakfast as we don't like to get lumbered with a mediocre evening meal. But we needn't have worried. We had the table de hote evening meal the first night, found it delicious and ate in the hotel every night after. I can truthfully say there was not one duff course. Special thanks to Paul-first class... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank thegreensengland
Richard S, Owner at Old Court House Hotel, responded to this review

We are all pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and decided to eat here every night! That was much appreciated. Kind regards - Richard A D Smale More 

Montacute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

This is a lovely hotel with very good service and attentive staff. Food is excellent. Parking is free. Lovely swimming pool, restaurant and bar area. The beach is only 200 meters away. Also fantastic views of Gorey Castle

Helpful?
Thank David D
Richard S, Owner at Old Court House Hotel, responded to this review

Glad to hear you had a lovely holiday with us! Regards Richard A D Smale More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grouville
0.9 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#2 of 3 in Grouville
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 15 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
6.2 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
2.8 mi away
Westhill Country Hotel
Westhill Country Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
6.3 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay