We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Glenealy B&Bs / inns

Ballyknocken House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Glenealy, Ashford | Co. Wicklow, Glenealy, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ballyknocken House to your Saves list
Ballyknocken House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
75%
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenealy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jacqueline F
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    6
    13
    10
See reviews for
17
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent the evening here with Trafalgar and the Be My Guest Dinner. Excellent pick. The grounds are beautiful and Chef Catherine and her family and staff make you feel very welcome and right at home. The food was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
County Clare, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived in Ballyknocken on Friday August 9. We received a lovely welcome and while we waited for our coffee and cake (yummy) Catherine Fulvio ambled out from the kitchen to greet us like old friends; a lovely surprise after a 3 hour drive! Our twin room was a delight, plenty of space a bathroom with a giant bath, kettle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We spent the night here and it was delightful. The Cookery is on a working farm. There is a beautiful herb garden which provides food for the table. The rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated. There is a lovely sitting room on the ground floor. I was unable to take one of the cooking classes, but I was able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Was at Ballyknocken House last week for a night away. We were looking for somewhere close to Dublin, but still 'hidden away'. We were delighted with this guest house, set at the foot of Carrick Mountain just off the main roads, it really made us feel like we had driven hours for our getaway!! Food was delicious, dinner that night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were greeted by lovely Lydia and invited to have coffee or tea in the sitting room. We had to fill out registration sheets...the only of our week in B&B's. Our rooms were charming. We were very disappointed we didn't get to meet our hostess. We were told she had been on holiday and was "catching up" in the office.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ballyknocken House and Cookery School in the future! More

heartland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The home was charming & comfortable. We were made very welcome. The breakfast was very good & in a lovely setting. We were able to see Shep working the sheep. The grounds were interesting with food growing for the B&B and the Cookery Class. The class was a blast. A great deal of good information with a combination of hands... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ballyknocken House and Cookery School in the future! More

Los Osos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ballyknocken in early May 2014. Since it was a Saturday night we were able to book a dinner reservation with our hostess, an Irish celebrity chef, who offers suppers on Friday and Saturday night. The B&B is in a country setting just outside the tiny hamlet of Glenealy. , and very near Glendalough. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Dear 1967RogerD Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and your meal. Warm Wishes Catherine More

Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having been at Ballyknocken House the same time as the previous reviewer, I'm amazed at their response. What were they expecting? It is a B&B - not a five-star resort! We found the staff delightful, very helpful and courteous. And the food - amazing. The evening meal was a real treat and excellent value. How often do you get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Dear John R Thank you so very much for your comments, we are thrilled with your review. I am glad you enjoyed our food and would recommend us to others. Best Wishes Catherine More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for Saturday night and I'd definitely recommend it to others wanting a quiet, peaceful and relaxing break away! We enjoyed a lovely picnic and had fabulous weather! It was lovely just to hear nature and nothing else! The food was AMAZING! Catherine came out during the dinner to greet the guests and she's a lovely bubbly person! I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Dear Shirley Anne A Thank you for taking time to post your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you back anytime. Kind Regards Catherine More

Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Arrived at Ballyknocken house for a night which included evening dinner and Bed and Breakfast. We were greeted by a young girl who was courteous and showed us to our room. We immediately felt a silence in the house, as if no one lived there. However, we were told the house was full for the night which made us feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ballyknocken House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ballyknocken House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyknocken House

Address: Glenealy, Ashford | Co. Wicklow, Glenealy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glenealy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyknocken House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ballyknocken House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyknocken House Hotel Glenealy
Ballyknocken House Ireland/Glenealy

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)