We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballyknocken House

4.0 of 5 Glenealy, Ashford | Co. Wicklow, Glenealy, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ballyknocken House
Professional photos View all
Ballyknocken House
Ballyknocken House
Ballyknocken House
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    6
    13
    10
See reviews for
17
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
newry n.ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fantastic weekend ,house charming and very welcoming . Dinner superb and breakfasts wonderful.went on the weekend chef cookery course, relaxed enjoyable and informative.highly recommended.luckily Catherine herself took the course,a real bonus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

After travelling an hr and a half across the city in rush hour traffic to a cookery demo i had won through a competition - i wasnt quite sure what to expect or indeed if i should have bothered making the journey in the first place but I am happy to say that it was most certainly worth it !!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much, I enjoyed the class myself, It was lots of fun. I Would love to welcome you here to Ballyknocken for another class. More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Spent the evening here with Trafalgar and the Be My Guest Dinner. Excellent pick. The grounds are beautiful and Chef Catherine and her family and staff make you feel very welcome and right at home. The food was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Manager at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. I remember your group and I can honestly say it was a delight to welcome you all here to Ballyknocken House. Hope to see you again soon! More

County Clare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived in Ballyknocken on Friday August 9. We received a lovely welcome and while we waited for our coffee and cake (yummy) Catherine Fulvio ambled out from the kitchen to greet us like old friends; a lovely surprise after a 3 hour drive! Our twin room was a delight, plenty of space a bathroom with a giant bath, kettle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. It is wonderful to hear. We hope to see you again in Ballyknocken house and Cookery School very soon! More

Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We spent the night here and it was delightful. The Cookery is on a working farm. There is a beautiful herb garden which provides food for the table. The rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated. There is a lovely sitting room on the ground floor. I was unable to take one of the cooking classes, but I was able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

We are so delighted you enjoyed your experience here at Ballyknocken House and Cookery School, It is wonderful for us all to hear such wonderful feedback, it makes all the hard work worth while. We hope that you will come again to see us very soon. More

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Was at Ballyknocken House last week for a night away. We were looking for somewhere close to Dublin, but still 'hidden away'. We were delighted with this guest house, set at the foot of Carrick Mountain just off the main roads, it really made us feel like we had driven hours for our getaway!! Food was delicious, dinner that night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

We are so delighted you enjoyed your experience here at Ballyknocken House and Cookery School, It is wonderful for us all to hear such wonderful feedback, it makes all the hard work worth while. We hope that you will come again to see us very soon. More

Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were greeted by lovely Lydia and invited to have coffee or tea in the sitting room. We had to fill out registration sheets...the only of our week in B&B's. Our rooms were charming. We were very disappointed we didn't get to meet our hostess. We were told she had been on holiday and was "catching up" in the office.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ballyknocken House and Cookery School in the future! More

heartland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The home was charming & comfortable. We were made very welcome. The breakfast was very good & in a lovely setting. We were able to see Shep working the sheep. The grounds were interesting with food growing for the B&B and the Cookery Class. The class was a blast. A great deal of good information with a combination of hands... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ballyknocken House and Cookery School in the future! More

Los Osos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ballyknocken in early May 2014. Since it was a Saturday night we were able to book a dinner reservation with our hostess, an Irish celebrity chef, who offers suppers on Friday and Saturday night. The B&B is in a country setting just outside the tiny hamlet of Glenealy. , and very near Glendalough. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Dear 1967RogerD Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and your meal. Warm Wishes Catherine More

Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having been at Ballyknocken House the same time as the previous reviewer, I'm amazed at their response. What were they expecting? It is a B&B - not a five-star resort! We found the staff delightful, very helpful and courteous. And the food - amazing. The evening meal was a real treat and excellent value. How often do you get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Dear John R Thank you so very much for your comments, we are thrilled with your review. I am glad you enjoyed our food and would recommend us to others. Best Wishes Catherine More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ballyknocken House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyknocken House

Address: Glenealy, Ashford | Co. Wicklow, Glenealy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glenealy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyknocken House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Ballyknocken House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyknocken House Hotel Glenealy
Ballyknocken House Ireland/Glenealy

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Ballyknocken House

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby