We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballyknocken House

4.0 of 5 Glenealy, Ashford | Co. Wicklow, Glenealy, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ballyknocken House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ballyknocken House
Ballyknocken House
Ballyknocken House
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    31
    6
    13
    10
See reviews for
17
56
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
London, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a business we took the whole place for 4 days, part strategy meeting, part team building. The house is fairly small but we fit 13 people in on the busiest day and it was absolutely fine. It even has really strong free wifi and a beautiful front parlour with blazing fire for our break-out meetings. They arranged a cookery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Manager at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

It is absolutely wonderful to know that you enjoyed your time here with us at Ballyknocken House and Cookery School. There was a lot of work done, you were very productive. The kitchen was certainly busy on your stay here cooking all those lovely treats, we had to make there was no mad afternoon slum!! Your group was a joy... More 

newry n.ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic weekend ,house charming and very welcoming . Dinner superb and breakfasts wonderful.went on the weekend chef cookery course, relaxed enjoyable and informative.highly recommended.luckily Catherine herself took the course,a real bonus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine F, Manager at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome the group here to Ballyknocken House and cookery School, I remember you all very well, you were a pleasure. It would be lovely if you would come to visit us again! More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

After travelling an hr and a half across the city in rush hour traffic to a cookery demo i had won through a competition - i wasnt quite sure what to expect or indeed if i should have bothered making the journey in the first place but I am happy to say that it was most certainly worth it !!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much, I enjoyed the class myself, It was lots of fun. I Would love to welcome you here to Ballyknocken for another class. More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Spent the evening here with Trafalgar and the Be My Guest Dinner. Excellent pick. The grounds are beautiful and Chef Catherine and her family and staff make you feel very welcome and right at home. The food was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Manager at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. I remember your group and I can honestly say it was a delight to welcome you all here to Ballyknocken House. Hope to see you again soon! More 

County Clare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived in Ballyknocken on Friday August 9. We received a lovely welcome and while we waited for our coffee and cake (yummy) Catherine Fulvio ambled out from the kitchen to greet us like old friends; a lovely surprise after a 3 hour drive! Our twin room was a delight, plenty of space a bathroom with a giant bath, kettle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. It is wonderful to hear. We hope to see you again in Ballyknocken house and Cookery School very soon! More 

Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We spent the night here and it was delightful. The Cookery is on a working farm. There is a beautiful herb garden which provides food for the table. The rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated. There is a lovely sitting room on the ground floor. I was unable to take one of the cooking classes, but I was able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

We are so delighted you enjoyed your experience here at Ballyknocken House and Cookery School, It is wonderful for us all to hear such wonderful feedback, it makes all the hard work worth while. We hope that you will come again to see us very soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Was at Ballyknocken House last week for a night away. We were looking for somewhere close to Dublin, but still 'hidden away'. We were delighted with this guest house, set at the foot of Carrick Mountain just off the main roads, it really made us feel like we had driven hours for our getaway!! Food was delicious, dinner that night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

We are so delighted you enjoyed your experience here at Ballyknocken House and Cookery School, It is wonderful for us all to hear such wonderful feedback, it makes all the hard work worth while. We hope that you will come again to see us very soon. More 

Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were greeted by lovely Lydia and invited to have coffee or tea in the sitting room. We had to fill out registration sheets...the only of our week in B&B's. Our rooms were charming. We were very disappointed we didn't get to meet our hostess. We were told she had been on holiday and was "catching up" in the office.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ballyknocken House and Cookery School in the future! More 

heartland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The home was charming & comfortable. We were made very welcome. The breakfast was very good & in a lovely setting. We were able to see Shep working the sheep. The grounds were interesting with food growing for the B&B and the Cookery Class. The class was a blast. A great deal of good information with a combination of hands... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ballyknocken House and Cookery School in the future! More 

Los Osos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ballyknocken in early May 2014. Since it was a Saturday night we were able to book a dinner reservation with our hostess, an Irish celebrity chef, who offers suppers on Friday and Saturday night. The B&B is in a country setting just outside the tiny hamlet of Glenealy. , and very near Glendalough. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BallyknockenHCS, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Dear 1967RogerD Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and your meal. Warm Wishes Catherine More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ballyknocken House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyknocken House

Address: Glenealy, Ashford | Co. Wicklow, Glenealy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glenealy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyknocken House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ballyknocken House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyknocken House Hotel Glenealy
Ballyknocken House Ireland/Glenealy

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay